This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S & Mr E from NSW

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

10 out of 10

Namibia between 26 Jul 2017 and 22 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you , Maruska, and Expert Africa. We have just returned from one of our best holidays ever!

All of Maruska's suggestions were brilliant.

Thanks, Maruska, for making our special requests regarding location of rooms close to reception a success. We got all the best rooms."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari was excellent"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2017
"Maruska, our Expert Africa agent, suggested this accommodation to us and it was fabulous. It was the perfect place to start our Namibia holiday. The Dune Chalet was wonderful and the view across the Kalahari was amazing. It was definitely worth the extra cost to be in a Dune Chalet rather than on the valley floor.

The food at the lodge was very good.

The staff were attentive and helpful. We had a great Nature Drive and saw our first Oryx and Giraffes. Loved it.

Being able to see so many Meercats around the property was also a special bonus.

All in all, a great stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat... a great farm stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2017
"The Barchan Dune Retreat web site is quite modest. Don't let that put you off. We had a delightful stay. It was our only farm stay with a private family and a nice change from bigger lodges.

We really enjoyed meeting Willem and Hannetjie and sharing their hospitality over a sundowner drink and our evening meal.

The rooms are architecturally interesting, being individual cabins built into the sand dunes. Very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"The perfect place to stay at Sesriem!"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2017
"Sossus Dune Lodge is the only accommodation within the Namib-Naukluft Park and as such is perfect for visiting Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei at sunrise.

The chalets are architecturally attractive, well maintained, comfortable and large. The thatch roofing is excellent insulation.

Although this lodge is government-owned and managed, the staff are friendly and helpful and efficient. The meals are more modest than we received elsewhere, but still plentiful and tasty.

We would highly recommend staying here if it is available. It books up many months in advance. It was perfect for our photography adventures."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wow! What a setting."

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2017
"This was another of Maruska's recommendations and we spent a long time hesitating at the expense. But we are so glad we took her guidance. It was an absolute highlight of our holiday.

The chalets are no more luxurious than other lodges, but the communal areas - dining room, lounge room, bar and pool are all stunningly located, designed, built and furnished. The meals were excellent, the staff friendly and attentive.

Our two game drives with our guide,Sam, were fantastic. The landscape is superb and the sundowners each day were in magical settings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"It is all about the seals!"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"We were very surprised at how nice Cape Cross Lodge really is. The website doesn't do it justice.

Our room was spacious with a very high ceiling and a great ocean view. The meals were excellent and the service good too.

The attraction was the seals! Everyone says that they stink. If you are a country girl, you'll have no problems.

There were thousands of seals at your feet. Brilliiant"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Wow! What a view!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2017
"We loved Grootberg Lodge. Our chalet had a stunning vista.

The room itself was comfortable, clean and well maintained.

Our meals were great and our Desert Elephant Drive was a great success."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Weird architecture great location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"We were not sure whether staying at two different lodges within Damaraland was a good idea or not. It turned out to be perfect. The difference between Grootberg Lodge and Doro Nawas allowed us to see very diverse aspects of this important region of Namibia.

The main building is unusual architecture and looks more like a fort than a lodge, but is very comfortable and had great outdoor seating to enjoy the stunning views. The staff singing your welcome and your departure was a particularly nice touch, as were the hot and cold towels at the beginning and end of each safari.

The chalet at Doro Nawas was excellent ( as the one at Grootberg had been too). The meals were good too.

Our Desert Elephant Drive was a big success and our visit to the Twyfelfontein Petroglyphs was well worth while.

We had a great two night stay!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great photographer's hide at the waterhole"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2017
"The tented rooms at Andersson's Camp are deliberately rustic.... in fact they are very simple and modest.

The reason to be here is the great photographer's hide to watch animals drink at the waterhole right in front of the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Fantastic waterhole!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"We stayed in a Premier Waterhole Chalet. It was expensive and worth every penny, because we had not only a ringside view of the waterhole which is floodlit at night, but an elevated view too from our second floor balcony! It was a highlight of our holiday in Namibia. Staying in the Premier Waterhole Chalet ( there are only five) made our stay at Okaukuejo amazing. Thank you Maruska for organising it.

The camp is government owned and managed and, unlike at Sossus Dune Lodge, it suffers from this. Basic maintenance was lacking ( when we asked for five of our seven light globes to be replaced, the receptionist said no, they were waiting for the man to come from South Africa! When my husband had a closer look at the problem, he realised that the whole 12V lighting system was clearly waiting to be replaced).

Meals were buffet and average. Service was friendly and willing but inefficient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge - back to luxury"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2017
"Mushara Lodge has a stunning main lodge building, with reception, lounge, library, dining and curio shop in beautifully decorated surrounds. The meals were some of the best we had on our holiday in Namibia.

Our chalet was beautifully furnished and decorated. It was clean and well maintained.

Note - the chalets face fairly thick scrub land and not the pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

"Another fantastic location!"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"Being up on the plateau with views over the vast plains below was stunning. Within the choices to stay at Waterberg, the campsite or the valley lodge, the plateau lodge costs more but offers a big treat. The view is stunning, the little individual plunge pool is a delight and the rock hyrax families that inhabit the boulders are cute, photogenic and posers.

Our rhino drive was fantastic... we never suspected that we could be safely on foot so close to wild rhinos.

We joined the morning hike to the top of the plateau and learned lots about the Herero people from our guide, Wesley. Thank you Wesley."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team