This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Pririt Batis from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

The trip as a whole

Namibia between 27 Aug 2008 and 12 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was excellent. We had a fantastic time. The driving was easier than we had expected. The standard of accommodation and hospitality was better than we had expected. And management (except at Waterberg) and staff (even at Waterberg) were friendly and helpful throughout. Food was generally good, and better than we had feared. And the landscape and animals were just as splendid as we had hoped they would be.

There were of course small snags, but no major problems. Among the snags:
- Waterberg seemed simply to ignore our presence; combined with the very Germanic tone of the place (and most of not all the other guests were German speaking), this made it the least friendly of the places we visited, and the only one we would not be willing to visit again.
- a pity we could not have the car we had booked (Nissan X-Trail) but th eventual substitute (Hyundai Tucson) was a goo, albeit slightly smaller, car.
- a pity that Europcar had n cool box for us - but we bought one without any difficulty
- we felt we could have been given more, and clearer, detail about exactly what was on offer at, particularly, Doro Nawas and Okonjima; the cost of staying at each of these is considerable, and that makes it more, not less, important to know what exactly are your options, and what you are (or are not) getting."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"Welcoming, friendly and efficient. A very good place for a first-night stop in Windhoek.

We had a standard room, which means a room opening onto the terrace used for all meals. This relative lack of privacy did not matter much during the daytime, but the noise from the remaining (jolly!) diners was irritating when trying to get to sleep. Next time we will want a room away from the dining patio.

The room was clean, well-equipped and comfortable - do not be put off by the grey concrete bath, the grey concrete walls and floor - it is much more tasteful than it sounds!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"This was the least satisfactory place we stayed.

The Plateau Lodge is in a glorious situation, but you are very much on your own. There are limited facilities on the Plateau, and no staff or managers around to answer questions or solve problems. Our sense of being ignored was accentuated by being told that all we needed to know was set out in the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge booklet, which was available only in German and which even the helpful receptionist could not read. Our Game Drive was also in German.

We were irritated to find that the cost of the afternoon game drive had gone up by 40% from the price quoted on their website for late 2008. [In contrast, we did not find any other lodge charging different prices for extra meals or extra activities from those shown on its website.]

We were reasonably happy there because it gave us our first encounter with the landscape and with wildlife - but I would not stay there again, and would not recommend a friend to do so."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"We were made to feel very welcome here - not just by receptionists and management, but by all staff we met. The whole experience was sharp contrast with Waterberg Plateau Lodge.

We chose Mushara as a base for visiting Eastern Etosha, and for this it was excellently placed.

Rooms were well-equipped and very spacious - not luxurious but clean, comfortable and equipped with everything you could reasonably ask for - backed by the very positive attitude of staff, and good communal facilities (pool, sitting areas).

We would unhesitatingly stay there again, and would recommend it to even fussy friends."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2008
"We stayed in a Bush Chalet and were very pleasantly surprised. Reception staff were warm and helpful, our chalet was very clean, well-equipped and spacious. The camp was all far better equipped, cleaner, friendlier and bettter organised than we had expected. Food (dinner and breakfast) was more ordinary (had the feel of mass catering, with food prepared some time in advance of it being put out), but perfectly acceptable, expecially for somewhere in that location.

Wonderful to be staying so close to the waterhole, and to the rest of Etosha.

Unlike some earlier guests, we found no problem with noise and numbers of other people - in fact the presence of other visitors who were as interested as were were in the game tended to add to game watching at the waterhole occasion rather than to spoil it.

We would firmly recommend Okaukuejo."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"An excellent value stay. A warm welcome from our hosts, and friendly service and help throughout or stay both from our hosts and from staff.

A delightful site, with gardens, plenty of places to sit, including an upstairs louge with a view - and animals (elephants while we were there) wandering through the compound as you sleep.

The refurbished chalets are very comfortable - well-equipped & tastefully decorated. The one shortcoming is the limitation on electricity, with no supply to the chalets after 10pm. This has limited impact (we were asleep by 10pm anyway), but it does mean that air conditioning and fridges are not possible - but even these shortcomings do not matter too much when there is a good breeze in the evening.

Excellent game drive, with plenty to see, and enjoyable time in the two waterhole hides.

Super food. and a warm welcome (throughout our stay) from hosts and staff alike. Strongly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"Friendly welcome, and friendly service throughout our stay.

Our chalet was very spacious and enjoyable, though the bucket in the shower puzzled us for some time until we realised that it was to collect the drips! We especially enjoyed the alignment of the chalets which meant that no chalet was overlooked by another. For such a well-equipped chalet, it was strange to find we had no shelves or drawers in which to store our belongings. The canvas walls made the chalet colder at night than we had expected.

One unexpected feature was the climb up to the main building - every journey to any other part of the site meant climbing the hill, which could be a trial when the heat is on (40 degrees centigrade on the day we arrived) or if you had contracted a cough (as we both did) on arriving in Namibia.

Our game drive to see the desert elephants was a delight - excellent guide, excellent elephants, stunning landscape.

We greatly enjoyed our stay here, and would unhesitatingly recommend it to others - but we would have liked more clarity as to what is and what is not included in the prices - for instance our room booklet implied that house wine was included in the price - but we found it was not; lunch was included in the game drive price, but we did not know this and had not therefore planned to take lunch; after arrival, we found that the elephant game drive was available in the afternoon as well as in the morning, something not apparent from the website and therefore ignored in our planning. None of these was crucial for us, but we were left with a lingering uncertainty about what else we had missed. We feel that better and clearer information is needed - in advance of booking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2008
"Again, very friendly and helpful staff, both on arrival and throughout our visit.

We stayed in a stone-built building, not one of the chalets shown on the website. Our "chalet" had excellent facilities, but it heated up quickly in the sun and housekeeping staff seemed to feel a need to close all the windows, so each time we returned to the "chalet" we weere met with oven-like heat.

The food was more than acceptable, but dinner menus were a little pretentious and both dinners we had were unsatisfying (for instance, small portions of vegetables that were little more than decorative; too-fancy deserts (such as mille feuille that had gone soggy); we preferred the more straightforward food offered at our earlier stops.

We enjoyed all three game drives - one to look for cheetah, one for hyena, one for leopard, and our guide was excellent. Neither the website nor any other information available to us had really told us what these activities were. It would have been helpful to have had more information before booking - we knew that we would be offerd something to do with cheetahs, and a chance to look for leopard, but we had no indication that each of these would be in the context of a (very helpful and interesting) wider look at game in the area; and we did not know that the cheetah event would in fact be a visit to several different compounds giving us an enjoyable chance to see a number of animals in different situations.

We certainly enjoyed our visit to Okonjima, but it was much the most expensive of our visits."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team