This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M & G from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2013 trip

Namibia between 29 Jun 2013 and 14 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Angela made our trip very special. I had researched our itinerary in great detail, but she added the cherries on the top of the cake. MEGA THANKS ANGELA!

Our tour was first rate. Namibia sets very high standards for itself and mostly achieves them. As our group travelled in June and July we knew the nights would be cold, but this wasn't a problem except we didn't linger in the outdoor showers!!!

We were glad to have the extra spare-wheel and also pleased to have paid a little more to upgrade to a Nissan Xtrail. We saw people in ordinary saloon cars having some problems here & there. The Bradt Guide and marked map were in constant use. Thanks for providing these.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Only one small initial blip, on arrival at Daan Viljeon we had to pay 170 N$ for entry even though we had rooms booked there.
I knew it was included because Angela had written it in our very first quote, but the lady on the barrier would not let us in without first paying. We were tired after our flight and not knowing what to do. It would have helped if we had had a voucher to give her to satisfy her needs! Maybe you could include one next time in your very snazzy Expert Africa wallet?

All 4 of us voted this our best African holiday experience...so THANK YOU EXPERT AFRICA TEAM!"

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Daan Viljoen Resort review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2013
"We wish we had stayed two nights to take in all the beautiful wildlife. A giraffe looking over the bushes was our first mammal. A great start to our holiday. A Crimson-breasted Shrike at the poolside bushes and a Lilac-breasted Roller flying about in front of our outdoor breakfast table was a colourful start.

The Bush Chalet rooms were beautifully decorated and well appointed even with a hairdrier and tea-making tray. Their situation overlooking the dam was just excellent for bird-watchers. It had been a dry spring so the dam did not hold much water even in June (mid-winter) leaving plenty of exposed mud for the water-birds. Baboons can be a tad inquisitive so don't leave anything out on your patio that you value, or it will become a toy or an ape fashion statement!

Because it was dry we could take a short cut across the river bed to breakfast, although it was quite a hike over to the main restaurant (and swimming pool) by road. As it was dark by 7pm, lovely for star-gazing, you would need to take a torch to find your path after your evening meal. There are Owls too!

We arrived on Sunday afternoon just missing the Buffet Lunch, but the staff kindly made up a plate of left-overs. Namibian people are so friendly and helpful, just remember you can leave your watch off and not demand fast food service. Its a holiday so just go with the flow! Some words of thanks and appreciation will go a long way and be rewarded with a huge smile."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2013
"Wow, this was absolutely the tops. Being welcomed by the owner with drinks at the door was a very nice touch. The remote setting is beautiful, the 12 Bush Chalets are well spaced overlooking a river-bed full of trees and wildlife. In the Lodge and individual rondavels there is attention to detail in every way ( Its no wonder, when you discover that mine host is an interior-designer) There are two bathrooms in each chalet, one inside, one outside (but still nicely private!). Its fun to take a shower under the stars.

Do spoil yourselves and take the luxury Sossusvlei excursion with classy picnic lunch including wine in an ice bucket!

We were totally amazed as the linen tablecloth, china plates and plates of home-cooked food appeared. Even a camp basin with soap and hot-water. Karen Blixen would have been proud of this wonderful set-up.

Angura was a very special and knowledgeable guide and driver. There is an opportunity to climb Big Daddy sand-dune if you wish, but its fun to watch the Tok-tok beetles and White-lady Dancing Spider too. Not to mention the rare Dune Lark, Shovel-snouted Lizard and many other creatures. The Sesriem Canyon can be visited on the way out of the park, the gates close at sunset.

This is such a special place I would particularly recommend it for a Honeymoon or special celebration, maybe not appropriate to bring exuberant young children, although there is a small pool and a drinks patio to oversee it and the sunset!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"Everything was perfection. Rooms were spotless and well-appointed with interesting individual decor (we were lucky in being allocated the Bird Room). Secure parking organised by the owner. The French owners spoke perfect English and could not have been more helpful. I will definitely bring my friends here. Walvis Bay has a lot to offer, be sure to stay at least 2 nights. Try the Sable D'Or for your evening meal overlooking the bay (run by the owners' son) or the rather noisy but fun Raft Restaurant at the end of the jetty.

Best breakfast ever...home-made yoghurt was delicious with the fresh fruit, even bacon & eggs for the hungry Brits! Of course the Coffee and croissants were there too.

Mine host will arrange a booking on a 8.30am Boat-trip for you (choose the stable catamarans). We saw Whales, Dolphins, rare sea-birds plus close encounters with the Seals and Pelicans as they jump on board to be fed. The Oysters and Wine were a nice finale too. The cost was about £35 per head, very good value 4 hour trip, cosy blankets & complimentary hot drinks provided on deck, loo and inside bar available!

For bird-watchers, Madame can put you in touch with Karel Naibab who runs 'Bird Paradise' an Oasis reserve in the sand-dunes, open 08.00-16.00hrs, take binoculars if you have them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2013
"Paradise! Spectacular setting, caring friendly staff, welcoming drinks, gratis afternoon teas +cake. Excellent food served by a very dear Waiter called Timo. This was our favourite Lodge on tour.

At Breakfast the birds are fed outside the open windows which is an excellent photo opportunity! In the evening a Porcupine and a Genet came for kitchen scraps. Very exciting!

So glad we stayed for 2 nights. Next time we will stay for more! We did some of our own bird-walks, but Johnny (ranger employed by the Lodge) was keen to show us other places in the early morning walks and afternoon if he is free. We felt tips were the norm after these walks, however no problem as we felt like giving them anyway!

There is always one catch in every paradise, here some of the rooms are quite a walk away (along an undulating boardwalk) from the dining room, which itself is up many steps. So remember everything you want first time.

The tented chalets are first rate (just renewed this year) very tastefully & fully equipped with fans but often the breeze is sufficient. There is a tea & coffee tray, fridges in rooms too with minibar. There are daybeds out of doors in each tented chalet and great views. The Rock Hyrax (dassies) make blood-curdling noises first and last thing...the shower room is built into the rocks, so you can see them from the shower."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2013
"Immediately you are aware this is not a private enterprise! The service is a little patchy lets say.

The waterhole is the best one in Etosha with a continuous stream of animals and birds coming to drink, day and night...take a cool drink yourself (in a glass, not with the animals!) and watch the sunset. We stayed 2 days and any less would be a pity, 3 would be best, particularly if you are a photographer.

If you have to choose which of the 3 Etosha government restcamps to stay at, then this was our best experience of the 3."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"Again this is a restcamp not a private Lodge so the staff attitude is different, efficient but not the charming smiles we had found elsewhere!

We had to ask for 2 replacement bulbs as our bathroom was in darkness. As it was late in the day we had to climb on the toilet and change them ourselves.

The bed was jammed into an alcove which caused you to hit your head as you got up in the night.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and again tea & coffee making facilities, plus a fridge.

We stayed in a bungalow but the individual rooms looked OK too, despite the toilet being in the way of the washbasin. Forget it and have a shower instead!
This Waterhole was a little walk-away down ill-lit paths, so take a torch. The seating area is a tad rocky, so can be dangerous if you are not fleet of foot."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"Very friendly welcome. Superb food, really 5* for content and presentation. Waitresses were elegant and charming and loved to laugh. Outside fire-pit with circle of chairs, great for sundowners.

The chalets are quite a walk down flat gravel paths, so let the trolley porter take your heavy bags & be ready with a tip!

Well appointed tented chalets, spotlessly clean as ever."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2013
"We got a bit lost finding the correct Lodge, no maps seem to be standardised. Although called Plateau, it isn't on the top as we had imagined, but rather a terrace half way up. Spectacular scenery of red cliffs though. Once we negotiated the very steep drive up we were in a cul de sac. No trails were available to walk.

The view was amazing from our chalets, right across the Kalahari. The plunge pool was a nice idea and ideal in hot summer but in mid-winter it was rather a hazard in the dark! Huge bathroom and pretty circular bedroom, a hot drinks tray with a flask but no kettle! Amazingly the staff kept the washing water hot by stoking individual log burners behind our rooms. Thanks very much for that! At night the dining-room staff gave us a hot-water bottle to take to bed. These would not pass health & safety in UK as they were just made of small plastic drinking water bottles in a velvet cover! Needs must!

The room inventory we were given to sign on arrival was a bit unwelcoming. We weren't told of any activities other than the one we had just missed by 5 minutes on arriving. As they knew 4 of us were coming and there were only 6 chalets of people staying it seemed rather churlish.

The staff were struggling to be friendly here, no-one seemed to be in charge. Maybe the owners were away? The dining room had limited rations at breakfast. We had to ask for fruit juice and the bread tasted of paraffin and was a bit stale. No toaster to help freshen it up. However it was out of season, we have to remember where we are and be grateful for food and hot water!

When I bring more friends we will stay in the lower, bigger, Waterberg Wilderness Lodge. From there you can walk the nature trails and birdwatch to your hearts content! The ambience was a little disappointing for our final night, although the views were stunning."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team