This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family H from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Namibia, Botswana and briefly Zambia

Namibia and 2 other countries between 4 Jul 2008 and 26 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday which in the vast majority of instances exceeded our expectations.

Suggestions for improvement:

It would be useful to know the starting time for afternoon excursions at lodges/camps prior to arrival."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"The manager, Thomas, was exuberant and made an enormous effort to make all his guests very welcome.

Excursion to Sossusvlei with Kulala Wilderness Camp:
Whilst getting up at 5am on the second day rather than the first might be a better option the excursion was nevertheless a fabulous introduction to the area and an unforgetable experience. The guide (David) was very knowledgable and great company.

The sundowner trip was also of the highest calibre."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"Sea Breeze Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2008
"Staff very welcoming but location uninspiring.

It is fair to say that Swakopmund was something of a disappointment, the town's archictecture was not as expected.

We did though thorougly enjoy the activities ( boat trip at Walvis Bay, Sandboarding and Quadbiking) and found the town's tourist information highly efficent."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"Stunning location and great welcome.

Damaraland excursion from Doro Nawas:

Although the excursion was thoroughly enjoyable the fact the trip to see the local rock art also involved seeing the elephant there was a high degree of duplication."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"The management team were probably the best we experienced in our holiday and the camp was superbly run.

The activity into Etosha NP involved a long drive into the park in an open vehicle with very little to see.

For visitors planning to visit Etosha independently we would recommend that any guests restrict their activities to Ongava reserve - the waterhole is something else!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"The accommodation exceeded our expectations and our game viewing was first class.

The shop at the camp was inadequately stocked for anybody wanting to enjoy a picnic lunch.

The evening meal buffet would have been repetitive for anything beyond a 2 night stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"Very remote location particuarly for anybody arriving in darkness as we did!

Dinner excellent but breakfast only average with the staff being somewhat brusque."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2008
"We only had a brief overnight stay and left early for the airport so cannot comment on the quality of the food.

The manageress went to great lengthes to make us welcome."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Following an unpleasant flight we had a fabulous first afternoon gamedrive with a guide (Bee) of the highest calibre whose intimate knowledge and experience enhanced our stay.

The food was probably the best on our trip, with great variety and lots of fresh fruit and vegetables."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"A really well run camp with excellent staff members all of whom had a great sense of humour!

At the time of our visit the riverboat was out of action which was very dissappointing.

If it had not been for the quality of the guide (George) and tracker (Barouti) it is arguable that the gamedrives may have become slightly repetitive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"The proximity of the falls (5 mins walk) was a major bonus for a one night stay. Hotel staff very efficent, dining facilities acceptable but for anybody wanting to enjoy better quality food we would reccommend an advanced booking is made at the Royal Livingstone restaurant.

The riverboat cruise on the African Queen exceeded our expectations. We also really enjoyed the experience of the border crossing from Botswana into Zambia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team