This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Mrs C from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2018 trip

South Africa between 13 Mar 2018 and 22 Mar 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another fantastic trip with Expert Africa. Claire provides knowledge and reassurance during the planning. The logistics were incredibly smooth whilst in South Africa. Can’t wait for our next trip!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Four Rosmead review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2018
"Great location near to the restaurants and bars of Kloof Street and the base of Table Mountain. Four Rosmead team always happy to go the extra mile whether it was an early breakfast or rearranging Robben Island tickets. Would definitely stay again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Mar 2018
"Fabulous historic property - an ideal stopping off point between the Cape and Garden Route. Spacious rooms set in beautiful gardens. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

"Hunters Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2018
"Fabulous, sizeable thatched cottages set in their own gardens. A great place to relax and explore the surrounding area. Three restaurants on site providing a great choice of food. Will definitely return."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
River Bend Lodge

River Bend Lodge

"River Bend Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2018
"This was our third safari and we didn’t have any expectation beyond seeing Elephants. However, our fantastic guide, led us to Male Lion and Black Rhino on the first drive. The restaurant overlooks a watering hole and is a great place to have breakfast. However, the management team seem entirely disinterested in their guests, for example, leaving us sitting in the restaurant for 90 minutes until eventually one of the waitresses showed us to our room! Fortunately the location and rest of the team make up for this ‘shortcoming’"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Jun 2013 trip

Tanzania between 13 Jun 2013 and 23 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our only issue was on arrival at Dar airport where we had to let Coastal aviation know that we had arrived. Other companies had arranged name boards and took their guests through to the domestic terminal."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous impala Camp"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2013
"Fabulous location, knowledgeable and friendly staff, fantastic game viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani Review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2013
"Relaxing stay"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

My Apr 2012 trip

Namibia between 22 Apr 2012 and 6 May 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is a fantastic country, and a self-drive trip is the best way of seeing everything it has to offer.

Although Etosha was the high point, Sossusvlei, the Namib-Naukluft mountains and Erongo were not far behind. The smaller lodges were uniformally welcoming and the rooms & food exceeded our expectations.

Expert Africa provided lots of input which allowed us to choose our itinerary and ensured that everything ran smoothly once we'd arrived. We can't wait to return!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2012
"A nice enough guesthouse, conveniently located near to Joe's Beerhouse.

If we were to have our time again, however, we would bypass Windhoek altogether and head straight out to stay in a lodge in the surrounding countryside"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2012
"Stayed one night in a standard room, and one night in one of the more modern, luxury rooms. The latter are definitely worth the extra money.

The walks around the Farmstead are fantastic, with the Quiver Tree Gorge a particular highlight. The Saubers are terrific hosts and whilst the communal meals may not be for everyone, you do have some fascinating conversations with both them and fellow travellers."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2012
"Fabulous location, beautiful rooms, extremely helpful staff. The Hoodia was a definite high point of our trip.

We travelled with Angula from the Lodge into Sossusvlei and had a memorable day amongst the dunes, finished with a fabulous picnic lunch under the trees. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2012
"The rooms are large, but have little in the way of storage. One small radiator was not enough to take the chill off a particularly cold evening!

On the more positive side, the location overlooking the Atlantic, but only minutes walk from the restaurants & bars is great. At check-in the staff were keen to discuss the numerous activities available in and around Swakopmund, & more than happy to give recommendations & make reservations"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2012
"The location is fantastic and the lodge very laid back.

A great place to relax for a couple of days, with great food, walks and staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2012
"A real difference to the small lodges that we'd stayed in earlier. The check in process was impersonal and the scale of the place was much bigger than we'd previously experienced. When we arrived in our room the toilet was broken. When we returned to reception they already seemed aware of the problem. A member of staff was able to fix it after a couple of hours, but it was hardly the introduction to Etosha we were looking for. The buffet meals were also a disappointment.

However, this was largely made up for by the fabulous watering hole, where many hours were spent watching the elephants, rhinos, zebra etc"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2012
"The rooms are light and spacious, with their own terrace and whilst it doesnt have the same variety of game as at Okakuejo, the lodge's location in an old German fort makes up for it."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2012
"Arrived late from Etosha and left early for the airport, so we only spent a limited amount of time at the Farmstead.

The staff, grounds and food were great, but the rooms are a little outdated and the road to the Farmstead is a little rugged ... We passed 3 cars with flats, which is a bit of a worry on the way to airport! Would definitely recommend it for an overnight stay on the way to Etosha"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team