This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

A once in a lifetime family experience

Namibia between 15 Oct 2013 and 4 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"A big thank you to all at Expert Africa especially Sabina , we had such a wonderful time from the beginning to the end , every aspect was memorable to us all . We packed so much in , met so many lovely Namibians loved the utterly stunning dramatic scenery we drove through and were at times overwhelmed by the solitude that we experienced together as a family . We feel very fortunate to have been able see some of this very special unspoilt country it's people and it's beautiful wildlife .

I could go on ... we took over 5000 photographs !! I hope for my children the experience has been a wonderful introduction to Africa .
Best Wishes
Fiona Howard"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Pleasant B&B"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"A pleasant start to our holiday though we were only there one night , lovely rooms and great breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Fantastic lodge great start to holiday"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2013
"Wonderful time spent here , great for kids especially Toffee the Meerkat. Loved our own evening stroll to watch sundown . Rooms were lovely and nice touch with the complimentary drinks .

Sundowner guide very friendly and very informative , great introduction for the kids . Food was super and again good introduction for the children into varied game cuisine ."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"Beautiful scenery , we loved the complete isolation and solitude . Stars were amazing at night. Probably one of our favourite locations we stayed at .

We thought it could easily have more activities for families ie horse riding and bike paths . Food was superb . We would go back here easily if there was more to offer in this area and stay longer next time ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Great location fantastic views"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"We loved our stay here , great walks , canyon walk and loved barbecuing for ourselves .

Jakobus on reception when we arrived was so helpful and informative ... Got us organised for the next day and his recommendations were the best for us as a family . We probably got the most out of our stay in this area due to his recommendations ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Great food"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"Perhaps a little commercial for us ,too busy and touristy although the food was amazing in the restaurant and they had already provided our produce for our BBQ the night before which had been lovely .

However the highlight was the breakfast hamper they provided for us after we had spent 3 hours in the early hours of the morning walking up and down dunes ,was so welcoming and very well prepared ... We still talk about it now .

A big thank you to the head chef at this location , he deserves 5 stars for the food."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Very hospitable"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"We arrived in Swakopmund on a cold foggy day , unfortunately our rooms at Sam's were very chilly and perhaps less appealing than our previous accommodations however Sam's hospitality and Cuisine made up for the lack of comfort ion our rooms .

We had a very informative and great guide Sean in our desert trip which was great fun and a highlight of our trip here, the museum in town was first class and the whole family enjoyed it .Our boat trip was very cold , we saw many seals but sadly very few dolphins from a distance a little disappointing .We would if we had our time again probably only spend 2 nights here ."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Stunning lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2013
"We were very impressed by the lodge and it's accommodation but felt again perhaps too touristy for us as there were several coach companies . Although we would not like to have missed the rock drawings which were incredible and although the lodge staff were very pleasant we felt they didn't help with enough information as to the whereabouts to find them .

Our guide to see some elephants / sundowner was very friendly and informative . Listening to the choir in the evening was lovely .Again on reflection we would have only chosen to spend one night here."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Great Safari Camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"A big thank you to Sabina as she persuaded us to choose this camp and yes would not have missed it . Basic accommodation compared to other places we had stayed at and food in restaurant not as varied choice but the evening watering holes made up for this greatly . We saw some wonderful sights at the watering hole , especially young elephants and a young rhinoceros . Martin and I felt very comfortable allowing the children to set their alarms for 2 am and go down to the watering hole .

We came away from Etosha feeling we would have spent a couple more nights here in this are not necessarily at this park but perhaps to the east as we didn't really cover that area .


Driving ourselves was a great family experience and in our 3 weeks we never felt in danger or out of our comfort zone although I do admit prior to arriving in Namibia I did have some concerns ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Beautiful accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2013
"My daughter and mines favourite accommodation , beautiful and tranquil interiors although we sneakily looked at their other lodge down the road and would probably like to try there next time !

Evening meals were lovely and set in beautiful style and atmosphere , very small numbers compared to the larger places we had stayed .
Kids loved swimming here , and great access to the park . Staff very helpful and professional although perhaps a little reserved , we would have easily stayed here an extra night ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Wonderful family experience"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"Great location accommodation and staff . We felt one night here was not enough and felt we had to rush some of the activities or miss some although the lady who met us on arrival did her best to ensure we got the optimum out of our time here . Seeing the leopards and cheetahs in this location was a memorable experience that we as a family will never forget. Previous our guide was brilliant he was so informative and although at times we didn't think we would get to see a young leopard ,he got us deep into the undergrowth where we closely experienced the interaction between mother and cub ...truly wonderful to see .

On leaving the camp we made a detour to the REST sanctuary , that we again thoroughly enjoyed and found fascinating especially holding the Pangolin . We definitely would recommend a longer stay here ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Friendly"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"A little disappointing for our last night in Namibia . Accommodation not as good standard felt our rooms and general decor throughout needed updating . However staff were pleasant friendly and helpful it made up for the accommodation , food was also of good standard and getting to the airport the following morning was easy .

Small gestures from the staff , such as childrens stories were appreciated ."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team