This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr J & Ms G from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Namibia July/August 2014

Namibia between 23 Jul 2014 and 8 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Other than the flights it was absolutely wonderful - a real joy. Sabina was friendly, knowledgeable, patient and helpful and the organisation was impressive.

A couple of general points:

You are right: one doesn’t need a 4WD. Nor a second spare tyre (though we did come across a 4WD with its third puncture of their trip). The only disadvantage of not having a 4WD is that we had to go VERY slowly over some of the gravel roads, whereas I suspect we could have gone faster (though no less uncomfortably) in a 4WD. For example, it might be worth noting that it took nearly an hour from the tarmac road to the Elegant Farmstead.

The (more tourist-orientated?) petrol stations at Okakeujo, Naumatoni, Solitaire and Sesriem did take credit cards (the guide book says that none does).

Accommodation was generally a delight - largely gorgeous, well-appointed and well looked-after places in perfect surroundings.

Warm clothing - I took a very light cardigan, a light jumper and a fleece. This was ample (the guidebook mentions people who wished they’d brought pashminas, blankets etc… not sure why!). Fleeces were worn only at night (game viewing) or in the early morning (at Dune 45), other than at Swakopmund where they were worn all the time!

Route was fine and just right for the duration, especially as some of the distances were long. Etosha, Damaraland, Sossusvlei were all must-see destinations. The only driving we didn’t like was the section between Khorixas and Doro Nawas where the gravel road was very uncomfortable. It was a pity we had to do Okakeujo before Halali but it wasn’t a big problem. The only possible change we might have made would have been to spend one day less in the Sossusvlei area – there isn’t really two days’ worth of activity here unless one is a hiker (which we weren’t) - and travelled back a day earlier."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"A wonderful introduction to Namibian accommodation - and we were sorry to have spent such a short time there.

Lovely gardens, a great restaurant, friendly and welcoming staff."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"We loved this place - the tented feeling and the care with which it was run.

The main communal area was a highlight, with welcoming fires and great food, and the tented rooms a delight. Lovely touches such as finding hot water bottles in our beds at night."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"This was at first a bit of a disappointment, though we got used to it. One couldn’t fault anything exactly, but it was impersonal and the whole place had the feel of being government-run. For example, there was a wonderful chef at Okakeujo who made the most delicious breakfast omelettes to order, but entirely unsmilingly (even after a friendly greeting – the complete opposite of staff in the previous places who appeared to love their jobs!).

The camp shops sold frozen meat and tinned vegetables and unappetizing chocolate, but little from which one could put together a picnic lunch.

It did occur to me at the time that it might be an idea to recommend people to stay at the lodges outside the park (such as Mushara Bush Camp) and enter the park daily, but then we discovered the floodlit water-holes which were fantastic (we saw several rhino and a leopard, but only at night) so I can now see why people might prefer to stay there. Nevertheless it’s worth a mention."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"Rather the same as for Okakeujo, except this one was a bit more depressing.

The chalets felt a little like a UK 1960s housing estate and the meals were not that great - though they were acceptable."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"We loved this place – the staff were wonderful and we felt really rested. Some daft English people on the next table at dinner were quietly moaning that it wasn’t luxurious enough... it was the loveliest place at which I have ever stayed. The location and views are stunning and the rooms amazing.

The staff were a little unclear when it came to settling the bill and we had to tell them what we had had – we realized after leaving that neither they nor we remembered the laundry bill. Not a big problem, I suppose, but we did feel a bit guilty."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Sam’s Giardino was a wonderful place. Sam’s interests in food, wine, music and conversation, combined with a very homely place, meant that after three nights it was like saying goodbye to an old friend.

The food and wines were exceptionally good and the garden a delight. And that lovely, lovely dog… we took him for a walk and brushed him and entirely fell for him (clever PR move!). It wasn’t until we were well on our way onwards that I realized we hadn’t put anything in the staff tips box, which I feel particularly bad about.

We can recommend the boat trips with Ocean Adventures: we saw dolphin, whale, tame seals and tame pelicans, and the trip was very well run (they collect you from and return you to your hotel). Even better it seemed that nobody else on the trip ate oysters, so after tentatively wondering if we could have more than one we realized that we could have as many as we liked (and did!)."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

"Namib Naukluft Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"A slightly funny place, with well-meaning but switched-off staff and adequate but not exceptional meals – again, there was something a bit impersonal about it. But we got used to it. There was a braai on the second night which was a lovely touch and the nearest we ever got to ‘real’ Namibian food. Peaceful surroundings with that lovely middle-of-nowhere feeling.

We took the excursion to Sossusvlei and were really glad that we did – at first it seemed expensive, at about £50 each, and we could have done it ourselves for the cost of the petrol, but we were glad of a day out of our own car and in the end it seemed great value. A nine-hour day out (5.30am-2.30pm), the camp provided an early breakfast and a picnic breakfast and it meant we did more, and probably saw more, than we otherwise would have done, and we didn’t have to drive at 5.30m when we were sleepy. The guide’s English was more halting than that of some others’, but he was very nice and attentive and was easy enough to understand."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"We loved this place and wished we had been here for the whole duration of our stay in the region (rather than at the N-N Lodge).

Very welcoming hosts, lovely meals shared around a communal table with the hosts, free-flowing good wine included, lovely accommodation, superb views. A refreshing place to spent our last proper day in Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"A great place – very elegant, welcoming and warm staff, lovely garden.

My husband had dinner at their restaurant which he pronounced one of the best of the holiday. It was in a lovely area too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team