This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Mrs S from NOT.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

heaven on earth WE

Namibia between 30 Aug 2016 and 18 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"WE both had a wonderful time
This trip we spent most of our time in etosha
we were in the park from 7am till 5 pm we had a picnic in one of the camps under a tree everyday
with coffee and sandwiches from our lodges and all of them gave them with no charge what about that
we saw some fantastic wildlife again and some fantastic birding we even saw a batalaur eagle doing his
tightrope walk near a waterhole
On this trip we were looked after like royals at every place we stayed at
it truly was a wonderfull trip and we both enjoyed every second"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Some lovely ladies at olive grove"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"We were looked after very well here by a group of smashing ladies and the food they cooked for us was beautiful
a real pleasure"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"We like the place !!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2016
"OK i know this place gets some bad reviews
I know the food is not as refined as some of the private places but we had a great time here
We found the food plain but wholesome sevice good with plenty of good humour
And rooms very good and clean"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"A room with a view"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"Our first time here and could not find fault with the place at all
As with all the places we stayed we spent very little time in them
we were in the park all day but the food, rooms and service were all spot on would go back at drop of a hat"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"The big man is still there and cooking"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"Not a posh place this !!
But the rooms are large and very clean the staff can't help you enough and all done with a smile
and the chef boy can he cook it is worth going just for his harty beast pie
our second visit here and we like this place a lot"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

"Home from home."

6 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"What can we say about this place ?
I have heard it said it is just a hotel in the bush and yes it can get some groups staying
But for us it is just perfect the food is wonderfull, the staff just can't do enough for you and the rooms are first class
We have been lucky and stayed in some very good hotels and lodges in Namiba over a number of years
But it has to be said this place takes some beating
A credit to all concerned"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Smile once in a while it could catch on"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"only stayed one night good breakfast poor dinner
All the staff seemed to be under strict orders to be as grumpy as they could be if that was the case you can let them know they all passed with flying colours"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"KNOCK OUT !!!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"Well what can i say they made this visit a dream we were allowed to go to the clinic to watch an operation on a sick cheetah.
we saw wild dog puppies we went to see the two male lions with champers sundowners
us not the lions

we went tracking cheetahs and leopards and saw a beautifull male leopard with no collar
we were allowed to watch them exercising a cheetah with a lure at speed and we even saw evidence of animals on the reserve we are not allowed to mention !!
And on our last night we had out table for dinner in a private boma with a fire, candles all over the place and our own waitress
The people here really did go out of there way to give us a good time and we thank them from the bottom of our hearts"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Tip top

Namibia and 1 other country between 10 Sep 2014 and 9 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Again we had a wonderful time we met some extraordinary people and explored a really beautiful country at our own pace we could not ask for more Even our episode at weavers rock has given us some moments of laughter So again you will here no complaints from here"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"This charming man"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"We both liked this place very much !!! The rooms , location ,and facilities of villa violet are very good but you can get these things at a few places in Windhoek what you do not get at the other places are the two owners of villa violet
These people went out of there way to make sure we were O K We didn't fancy going out for a meal after such a long flight so they organised a fantastic dinner to be delivered while we relaxed in the garden with a beer excellent !!!!

P S the male half of this duo is French and my better half Susan says he is possibly the most charming man in Namibia ha ha"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

"Best lamb chops ever !!!"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Although this hotel is rather basic it is very clean and we were made very welcome by the manager and all her staff

they made our overnight stay here a delight and the food was excellent see above"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"More elephants than you can shake a stick at"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"What can I say about this place , It was our third visit and the more we stay the more we like !!!

Can not fault the place at all

We did the elephant tracking trip and saw a group of twenty they were very relaxed with us and came very close to our vehicle A few years back we did the same trip and the elephants were very wary of us would not allow any vehicle to get near them they must be getting used to tourists"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

"Just ask Waylon !!!!!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"We read some reports about this place that were not very flattering ,But we had a great time and it was all because of Waylon

WE had a full day rhino tracking in the palmwag concession with Waylon Alas we saw not one rhino but we did see leopard two groups of lions and loads of other wildlife and we did some walking in some of the most beautiful places imaginable A real Gem of a place !!

But the star of the show was the boy Waylon his knowledge and enthusiasm were boundless"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Anouther old favourite"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2014
"We could not wait to get to this place as it was our best chance to see rhino on foot

The whole team here made our stay memorable The Food ,The Staff ,The location All first class

The tracking team led by liberty got us very close to a female rhino and here calf"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"This boy can cook"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"Our first choice at this location was Taleni and we were a little disappointed when we arrived here, The rooms are a little tired and we had a bit of a flood in the bathroom but it was dealt with swiftly

After our first night here our opinion of the place had to change The food was fantastic the atmosphere and staff made sure everyone had a good time . A very different lodge to most places near Etosha but one that's worth trying if its just to meet the chef"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

"Your own personel giraffe"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"We have always had good time here the food is good the staff are great the manager upgrades us into a suite and you get a visit from the house giraffes in the evening what more can you want"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"More tall stories at roys"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"We have stayed here many times and there is always a very good mix of interesting people staying and working here all with a good story to tell as always the food was great and we were made really welcome by Peter and all the staff"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Big Tigers at Nunda"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Again this was not our first choice at this location first choice would be Ndovu

Having said that this lodge is very good Its got great rooms , good food ,good tiger fishing

But I just got the sneaky feeling the owners ( there are three of them there ) would really rather not have you around if it was not for your cash . A shame really all they need is a good front of house man and the place would improve no end and they could get back to what ever they like doing !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Tian the croc catcher"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2014
"This place was The highlight of our trip !!!!

If there is a more perfect place for the pair of us to go fishing pleas let us know

Please pass on our gratitude to Adam , Tiny ,Nine ,Big Mamma ,and especially Tian who can catch crocs with his bear hands !!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kaisosi River Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A big suprise"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"This place was a nice surprise very good rooms smashing food and good fishing trips would stay there again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Weavers Rock

"Do Not Go !!!!!!"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"Our daughter has got three stables at her home and I can say with great certainty any one of them would be a better option than the accommodation we were given at Weavers Rock

They have got some bungalows on site that to be fair look very nice but we stayed in a bush chalet and holy moly

I have never seen anything like it there was nothing in the chalet but two beds nothing !! the beds did have sheets but you really do not want to know about those If I myself had taken money from people for this standard of accommodation I would hang my head in shame but somehow I don't think that will apply here

We were booked in Weavers Rock for three nights but left after just one But be warned think long and hard before staying here

A very very unpleasant place with owners to match"
Terrible
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Activities
Good
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Terrible
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"What a change"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"There has been a lot of changes here the new rooms are very good the food still good but some of the old visitors will be a bit shocked at what has happened different to any other lodge in Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Great walking"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"WE enjoyed it here very much some good walking and birding food very good made to feel very welcome"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team