This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs F. from Aylesbury

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

A brilliant introduction to Africa

Namibia between 23 Oct 2018 and 7 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was absolutely wonderful! We saw all the animals we'd hoped to, except for a cheetah. That gives us the excuse we need to return one day.

Our itinerary worked well - about the right number of nights in each place.

Generally, very good food and wonderful, enthusiastic service."

GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"A really good place to spend our first night in Namibia, having landed in Windhoek at lunchtime.

Nice room, pool with a wonderful view out over the surrounding bush and a surprising amount of game to see. We saw giraffe and zebra on the drive in alone. We enjoyed following the guided walk footprints, painted onto strategically placed rocks, but we were quite startled to come upon 2 rhino. We retreated as quickly and quietly as possible and all was fine!

Very good food, especially the Oryx steak for supper."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"A stunning camp in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"A spectacular place to arrive by Cessna - a short drive from the airstrip to the camp.

Beautiful room with rooftop bed, private plunge pool and sun beds.

More explanations of planned excursions on arrival would have been useful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"Stunning setting but lacking the joyful, Namibian welcome. Service was rather hit and miss and needed better management. Rooms ok but uninspiring.

Game drive found no animals, but a beautiful sunset and nice sundowner drinks. Various beautiful rock art paintings. Having paid for this excursion, we walked alone the next morning and found plenty more rock art close to the camp for free. No-one had told us about this.

The camp had a lot going for it but just lacked atmosphere."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"We have never had a sung welcome but absolutely loved it!

Wonderful hill-top building, trying to blend in with the surrounding rocks. Well spaced apart tents, beautifully decorated and equipped. Loved the outside shower. Good food and very friendly, well trained staff.

Very good guide Collen who helped us succeed in finding the desert elephants we had gone to see. Very knowledgeable and entertaining and sympathetic to what we wanted to do. Also a wonderful bush supper, again with singing to welcome us all and the menu translated into their 'click' language.

All great! Such amazing views and sunsets - never to be forgotten.

Would have preferred excursions to have been included."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Comfortable tents - very close to animals"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"Exciting to be in the bush, surrounded by wildlife. To hear the lions, we'd seen at the waterhole, roaring during the night as they wandered the camp was thrilling! We also saw a group of 9 white rhinos up very close several times as well as many lions.

A good guide, prepared to listen to what we wanted to see - he spent 3 hours trying to find us elephants but failed. Later that evening an enormous bull silently appeared at the waterhole while we were having supper. Just brilliant!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"A pleasant place to stay having driven across Etosha that day. Clean and comfortable. Nice pool. Good dinner outside one night.

Slightly disappointing that the only excursions were back into Etosha. We self-drove. We did have the thrill of seeing a leopard on the way to Mushara, sitting right on the side of the road.

All animals listed as seen below, where seen in Etosha not Mushara."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Really remote, Namibia in the raw"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"A wonderful, remote, no frills bush camp for the benefit of the wild animals almost more than the guests!

Comfortable tents, outside bathroom. Good hides to watch the waterhole. Because you are walking everywhere, there is less chance of seeing many animals as they are very nervous. We came very close to black rhino on several occasions, without actually seeing them. Their snorting and thundering feet were quite close enough.

A certain level of fitness is required for this camp as well as strong nerves. Bruno is enormously knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his reserve pointing out many tracks of animals, proving they were there, just not visible! Lion, leopard, hyena, black rhino all there, just not seen."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Good stop-off before Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"A slightly disjointed lay-out and poor wifi.

Service also slightly erratic but done with smiles.

Lacked staff training."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team