This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mrs J from Scotland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Our first trip to Namibia - superb

Namibia between 28 May 2016 and 10 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is a great country to visit. We enjoyed it all, and always felt welcomed.

Early June seemed to be a good time to go, with plenty of wildlife to be seen and the weather cooling down.

We would love to go back."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"A good place to stay in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2016
"Very warm welcome and comfortable accommodation. We didn't go out, so not able to comment on the location.

They were happy to open up the kitchen and make a meal for us even though we were the only diners."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2016
"It's a pity that guests in the Plains Camp can't watch at the waterhole where the nocturnal porcupines and honey badgers come. We didn't know that when we booked. However the 'View Room' was lovely, very spacious and comfortable with a superb view.

We took the 'Tracking cheetahs on foot' option. It's only the last few hundred metres that are on foot, most of the tracking is in a vehicle. The staff member who explained the activity options to us didn't make clear that we had a choice between tracking cheetahs or wild dogs and hyenas. We thought it was a single activity, tracking whichever of the three could be found. Having said that, it was very enjoyable and we had a good guide and saw cheetahs and a leopard so it was a great experience.

We did two of the self-guided walks which were beautiful. On one, the Chacu, for part of the route the arrows on the ground pointed in a different direction from the arrows on the map. We found this quite confusing (and we are experienced hikers). The maps should be corrected."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Very convenient location"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"Very nice stay. Lovely to wake up to the sound of so many birds.

All the buildings were attractive and the room was comfortable.

It was a convenient base for exploring the east end of the park as it's so near the entrance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Good to be in the park, otherwise average"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"The 'standard room' was adequate, but very basic (no chair, not even a bedside light).

We were right by the campsite and the campers made a lot of noise packing up very early in the morning. The accommodation was the least attractive of our holiday, and the staff not always as smiling and friendly as elsewhere.

However we did see plenty of action at the waterhole, which was why we chose to stay here."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Lovely staff, lovely location"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"There was a happy atmosphere and staff took very good care of the guests. The situation is beautiful, and the Boma dinner and the singing and dancing were nice surprises. The location is fantastic.

It's a pity there aren't any waymarked self-guided trails or maps: in fact we were discouraged by one guide from going walking by ourselves, even though we are experienced walkers and walked from most of the other places we stayed, and there didn't seem to be any specific danger.

The trip to track the desert elephants was excellent. It would be helpful to have more information about the activities on offer ....maybe a daily blackboard with options and prices."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"We loved Erongo!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"Our favourite place. It was very well designed, with a relaxed friendly atmosphere and a stunning view from our very comfortable 'tent'.

The lovely walking trails are well marked with no possibility of getting lost. We preferred to go self-guided and there was no pressure to take a guide (though there seemed to be some surprise that we had gone on the longest trail, said to be 9 k. but we thought it was probably nearer 12k).

Very good food and friendly, unobtrusive service. Worth staying more than 1 night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Relaxing, great place near Windhoek"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"A great place to stay an easy drive from Windhoek. Lovely gardens and lots of places to sit and relax. Friendly service. From our point of view, a much better place than the city to finish our trip. Lots of nice treats such as home-made cake with afternoon tea, hot water bottles, and a chocolate on the pillow. A larger swimming pool than most places.

There are some good well-marked self-guided walking trails, though there seemed to be an expectation that guests would only follow the shortest trail. A better map or leaflet showing the trails and indicating the length of the different routes would be very helpful. We saw quite a lot of wildlife along the trails - kudu, ostrich, warthogs, blesbok, baboons etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team