This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2018 trip

Namibia between 28 Oct 2018 and 7 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Namibia; thanks Expert Africa, and Josh in particular, for helping out.

There wasn't a great connection between the map provided and the written description of the routes. For example, there were a couple of options shown for going between Aus and Swakapmund, but no description of the two routes in written material. As noted in the Bagetelle review, would strongly recommend the northern route (C21) rather than continuing south on the B1 and backtracking north.

We did see wildlife (including two separate sightings of zebras and one herd of about 50 oryx), but not usually at the lodges/camps; rather when we were driving between stays.

Though not included in our tour, we stayed at Tilla's guesthouse. It was 'no frills' as described in the guide book, but also noisy due to a caged parrot, and frankly the worst breakfast we had in our time in Africa. Staff very pleasant though."

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Great view of the dunes and wildlife from the boma, and boma very comfortable. However not a feeling of 'immersed in nature' as guide book states: peacock very noisy; donkey in the bar; 4-wheeler and horse noises/smells make if feel more like a farm. Restaurant staff not well-trained nor particularly friendly. No automatic porter service; needed to be requested.

strongly recommend the northern route to lodge if coming from Windhoek: this is marked on the brown highway signs, it gives a great view of the dunes, and best examples of social weaver bird nests we saw in Namibia.

Oryx for supper was badly overcooked though asked for rare (also over spiced). No complimentary wine as listed in guide book."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Canyon Roadhouse Campsite

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2018
"Great camping facility: water, electricity, lots of showers & toilets. Nice to have access to the bar and restaurant.

Interpretive centre has definitely seen better days; mostly now consists of some promotional posters. No quiver tree nursery."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Image alt

Klein Aus Campsite

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"Lovely views from campsites, though sites are very close together.

Single ablution block for whole campground (only two toilets/two showers each side)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Service
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"Very friendly staff and lovely spot. Glad to have had the opportunity to sleep on the roof under the stars: wonderful!

The guided tour into the dunes was excellent, and as stated in guide book there is a separate private entrance to the park. We were self-driving; so this had the disadvantage of not being able to easily access the park after the tour (i.e., we would have to take a long drive to access the regular entrance)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"Enjoyed chatting with Sam, the library, the meals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Mowani Mountain Camp Campsite

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2018
"Lovely campsites, built right into the balancing rocks, with separate toilet and shower for each site.

You are definitely not welcome at the lodge; they make this clear!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"No porter service.

Staff not particularly well-trained, though generally friendly."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team