This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay

Reviews of Terrace Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Terrace Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Terrace Bay.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"We knew this accommodation was going to be basic however the location on the Skeleton Coast made it all worthwhile. Our trip here fulfilled a long held childhood dream.

The drive from Damaraland to Terrace Bay was spectacular as was the subsequent drive to Swakopmund along the Skeleton Coast and we are so pleased we included it in our itinerary. Cape Cross to see the seals is a must." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr C B & family
UK

"Beauty and desolation at Terrace Bay"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2014
"Amazing, gorgeous. Stunning location, very wild.
Really lovely rooms, quite basic and scruffy ( as you would expect) but very nice indeed. Fab views.
The bar and restaurant were fantastic with very friendly staff. Great meal, the largest T bone steak I have ever seen. excellent breakfast. We saw seals and dolphins in the sea while breakfasting.
Didn't want to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Taylor family
UK

"Wild and Wonderful Terrace Bay!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2014
"You really do feel like you are at the end of the earth here.. it is so remote.

We drove for many hours to get here and saw virtually no-one. So it was with great delight that we arrived safely and were met by the very chirpy NWR staff at Terrace Bay. The chalet was basic but perfectly okay and right on the beach. We fell asleep to the sound of the Atlantic crashing in.

There is little to do here unless you like fishing but it was quirky and remote and wild..... and if you want to drive the length of the Skeleton Coast this is the start/finish point! The food, as to be expected had its limitations but was perfectly adequate. There was a fully stocked bar which was very cheap considering the distance from any major centre. There is also a little shop there in the reception so you can purchase a few essentials if required.

Don't come here if you want five star luxury. Do come here if you really do want to get away from it all!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr D & Mrs J
Dudley

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 2 Apr 2014
"Too far to drive to see nothing, very boring.

Would be better to go from Swakopmund to either Exteneka or Twyfelfontein." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Terrible
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Now for something completely different"

1 night Arrived 14 Jan 2014
"Terrace Bay half way up the Skeleton Coast is vastly different from the inland locations we had left only a few hours before. It is a cool, sometimes foggy location with Atlantic rollers breaking 100m from the bungalows which comprise the accommodation. The settlement is tiny and quite bleak but with a unique and memorable character, with high yellow sand dunes behind it.

The restaurant is on a hill above the chalet bungalows (which are kind of "UK seaside 1950s" for want of a better description - not specially tasteful or luxurious but certainly adequate). As the heading suggests this was certainly completely different but pleasingly interesting for that. Food was plainer than in some places, but with reasonable choice a la carte and very acceptable.

Visitors needs to know that in early 2014 if approaching the Skeleton Coast Park from the East on the C39 (as we did) you needed to reach the park gate by 17:00 (when it closes) but if approaching from the South on the C34 we believe the gate for northbound traffic closes at 15:00 - worth checking if likely to be arriving late afternoon!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Terrace Bay is different!"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"The isolation of Terrace Bay was a bit of a shock, luckily it was mild, and the sun shone. However, the wind blew too!

It was good to be so close to the sea.

Rooms are very basic, (It is really a place for fishermen to stay), but are comfortable, and surprisingly warm.

For the most part staff were friendly.

Food was average.

We were all glad we went, but would not feel we had to return. Some of the comments in the visitors book were unnecessarily rude." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Terrace Bay - not applicable"

1 night Arrived 15 Mar 2013
"We changed our itinerary and did not stay at Terrace Bay." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Completely Out of the Beaten Path"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2012
"The drive towards Terrace Bay feels like you are on the moon. It is a very unusual landscape with it's particular charms. Staff was friendly and the rooms have a lovely view of the ocean. Dinner was good although it was uncomfortable to have smokers in the same room.

Unfortunately, when we walked into the bathroom we noticed that the outside of the toilet was stained with stool. It was extremely unpleasant and disgusting! We informed the staff and they handled the matter efficiently switching to another room. They were very apologetic and seemed to have call many staff members who came to inspect the room." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Dr D
Suffolk

"Terrace Bay is a genuine outpost"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"Given that every serious visitor to Namibia should drive up the Skeleton Coast at least once, Terrace Bay is the only option for overnight stops. This is an interesting camp in an isolated, coastal location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Whilst the chalets and dining room are not luxurious they are perfectly adequate- and a definite improvement from when we visited in 2003. The food was fine.

A word of caution- the last 50kms of the road to Terrace Bay are not very good with several stretches of soft sand; definitely not suitable for ordinary cars. We managed, just, in our 2x4 Nissan X-Trail but a 4x4 vehicle should be considered. However a great experience and not to be missed. The drive along the deserted road north from Cape Cross with the sea on one side and the dunes on the other feels like a real adventure." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms S & family
Stroud

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2011
"After a long drive from Swakopmunc, staff did everything they could to make our one stay comfortable at this remote camp. Mended our first puncture and enjoyed watching the local women fishing" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Showing 11-20 of 35
78%
35 reviews of Terrace Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
17
6
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (57 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (34 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (5 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (5 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa