This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay

Reviews of Terrace Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Terrace Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Terrace Bay.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms M
Dorking

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2011
"Although the staff were friendly & concerned at making one as comfortable as possible, the amenities were- I am sorry to say- very close to appalling. The rooms reminded me of an old Second World War Army Camp I spent ten days at in the Combined Cadet Force when at school. Indeed, if anythig, the Army Camp was more comfortable in that during the one night (thank God!) of our stay at Terrace Bay there developed a leak from the ceiling in the bathroom causing it to become awash & dangerously slippery.

This situation somewhat exascerbated a bout of D&V which Carol suffered during the night there when she seems to have had food poisoning although my having eaten the same food caused me no apparent harm!

Unless one is keen on fishing (which judging by reports declined) I can see no particular advantage in venturing this far up the Skeleton Coast." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs AS
Colorado

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2010
"If you want to drive the entire Skeleton Coast, Terrace Bay is the only place to stay aside from camping. The facilities are a bit dated, but adequate.

The receptionist was very pleasant and the service overall was fine." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss T & Mr B
London

"lovely place, terrible journey"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Under no circumstances should this trip (after the park entrance) be attempted in a car as even 4WD vehicles get in to difficulties frequently.

Make sure any future gusts are aware the the Ugab river checkpoint closes at 15.00. After that you will simply be turned away and we just made it in with minutes to spare as we were expecting the gate to be open until 17.00. This info is in the guidebook but as it is such an early closure it should be on the client information sent out by EA.

The lodge itself was great, very friendly and no need to worry about inventories or key deposits." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs J & daughters
UK

"Fishers heaven"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"Terrace Bay is basic and has a time warp quality but that said the rooms were extremely comfortable and we had everything we needed.

Once again we were at the mercy of the wind and sand storms, made me so happy I had never got wrecked on the Skeleton Coast. But I would not have missed going to Terrace Bay, I think everyone should go there once at least." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"A classic road trip"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2010
"We were so glad to have done this drive, from the sights (and smells) of Cape Cross seal colony and the coastal wrecks to the subtly beautiful gravel plains of ever-changing colours further north.

Of course, the Terrace Bay chalets are dated and basic but everything worked and the duvets were lovely - we had the best night's sleep of the whole trip here. It was a shame there were so few other guests - only three other couples - so the restaurant lacked a bit of atmosphere. Food good though and a breakfast selection that would have fed ten times the number.

The following morning we did the short waterfall walk recommended by one of the staff - just park by the old generator shed as you cross the Uniab river and walk seawards for about 1 km . Very easy and we got a good sighting of a brown hyena at quite close quarters." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"Loved it for what it is and where it is. You feel like you're at the end of the world and then you come across this old mining camp converted into a holiday 'resort'. We had refurbished rooms which had very comfortable beds - we especially liked the bathroom door - a stripy bit of material pegged onto a fishing line!! Fridge and coffee / tea in the rooms were very welcome.

The staff were great - happy, smiling and pleased to spend some time chatting to us about their lifestyles which involve weeks living at Terrace Bay away from families unless they bring them with them (there is a small school etc for children). Helensmith deserves a special thanks for her smiles. The manager was also very friendly and proud of what they have achieved in upgrading some of the rooms.

Don't expect any luxury but enjoy the whole experience - great fun! Annoyed at ourselves for forgetting to write on the dining room wall to leave our message amid the many that are there - lots to read over breakfast!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Comfortable down to earth place"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2010
"We arrived at Terrace Bay after driving through a sandstorm so it was a very welcome sight. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice to stay somewhere less touristy all other guests, were locals visiting for the fishing.

Rooms basic but comfortable, very good shower with plenty of hot water.

Had a good night there. Well worth the drive up the Coast." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
4 travellers
UK & Zam

"Terrace Bay better than expected"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2010
"The 4 of us were given the VIP house, with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, etc, DSTV with all channels.

Food was really nice and staff very helpful and friendly. Write-ups run the place down as a bit rough but actually it's fine, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The only place to stay if you want to see this area of the Skeleton Coast anyway." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2010
"Terrace Bay is a government run camp in the middle of nowhere. If you aren't a fisherman then there is little reason to visit here at present.

The manager informed us that they are hoping to renovate the camp next year and add in activities for the new influx of non fishing tourists which will make a big difference.

The staff were excellent and despite the raucous nature our fellow diners, who were all hardcore fisherman, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. I was the only woman there apart from the staff which was a little intimidating.

It was an experience I won't forget and isn't for the faint hearted!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr G & Mrs S
Somerset

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2009
"We were pleased we made the effort to get there so that we could see more of the Skeleton Coast.. Our expectations of the accommodation & food weren't high. Sure the cabins were not the same quality as other camps but the location at the end of the road made it worthwhile. The staff had made a good effort with the limited resources.

Perhaps NWR should consider refurbishing and providing two grades of cabin - one for the fishermen and an upgraded one for tourists.

Friendly atmosphere, loved the quotes on the dining room wall." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 35
78%
35 reviews of Terrace Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
17
6
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (57 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (34 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (5 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (5 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa