This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S & Ms M from Dorking

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Magic...!

Namibia between 16 Mar 2011 and 31 Mar 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"I am so pleased to have chanced upon Expert Africa in organising this trip.

Namibia proved to be an absolute delight with its ever changing landscape and genuinely friendly people. We were not too much affected by the incredibly wet weather Namibia has experienced, although we soon came to realise that whereas our particular landscape might have been basking in glorious sunshine a sudden river crossing would present turbulent waters from heavy rains which might have fallen many miles away. This added to the sense of excitement experienced along the way & made us realise how wise we had been to hire a 4WD with a trusty diff. lock!!

Thank you Expert Africa until the next time to Fish River Canyon, Kolmanscop & Luderitz et al !!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just carry on the great work!"

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"A great starter!"

1 night Arrived 17 Mar 2011
"A delightful place from which to start our travels. The garden was like was like a peaceful oasis."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"A good activities base."

2 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2011
"Johanna & Ernst were great hosts who did much to make the communal mealtimes an enjoyably inclusive experience.

Their laidback approach ensured a relaxed atmosphere with bouts of lively humour!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2011
"The staff were all incredibly attentive to detail in making our stay as enjoyable & comfortable as possible. An unfortunate breakdown in the water supply led to our being transferred on the second night to the Little Kulala Lodge. This proved even more luxurious...if such could be possible!! It was almost like being in heaven! We didn't want tp leave!!

Given the completely unbiased advice of staff we made our own trip to Sossusvlei which was within easy travelling distance. However we took advantage of a fantastic dunebuggy trip which included watching the sunset from a hilltop on the estate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"A good base for Swakopmund."

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2011
"Peter was a great host whose sense of humour did much to make our stay an enjoyable experience. The layout of the rooms around the garden with its emphasis in lavender plants was a delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2011
"Although the staff were friendly & concerned at making one as comfortable as possible, the amenities were- I am sorry to say- very close to appalling. The rooms reminded me of an old Second World War Army Camp I spent ten days at in the Combined Cadet Force when at school. Indeed, if anythig, the Army Camp was more comfortable in that during the one night (thank God!) of our stay at Terrace Bay there developed a leak from the ceiling in the bathroom causing it to become awash & dangerously slippery.

This situation somewhat exascerbated a bout of D&V which Carol suffered during the night there when she seems to have had food poisoning although my having eaten the same food caused me no apparent harm!

Unless one is keen on fishing (which judging by reports declined) I can see no particular advantage in venturing this far up the Skeleton Coast."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"A great base for an Elephant Safari!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2011
"This was a fantastic base from which to embark upon an Elephant Safari which proved a wonderfully memorable experience. All staff were incredibly friendly & attentive to detail to make our stay comfortable & enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Good base for Western Etosha."

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2011
"Although we had come across some expressed concerns about the standard of Govt. run facilities we were very pleasantly surprised at the overall high quality we encountered at Okaukuejo Camp. We would have no hesitation in making a repeat visit! The staff proved friendly & helpful.

We saw no particular advantage at embarking on any organised safari & were able instead to drive ourselves around Etosha with ease."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2011
"Despite there having been some recent interruption in electricity & water supplies to this camp our one night there proved an enjoyable & comfortable experience.

The staff again proved friendly & helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2011
"This proved to be a great location on which to end our trip to Namibia. All staff did their utmost in making our brief stay there an enjoyable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team