This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs J & daughters from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Trip of a life time

Namibia between 14 Sep 2010 and 30 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We all had a wonderful holiday and one which we will never forget. I for one am already planning a return trip!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

A little more information on the weather. Did not expect it to be so consistently cold every evening except for our first evening in Windhoek or to be so windy."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"Great place to start or end your visit to Namibia.

Found the jacuzzi most relaxing after a long flight - especially with the complimentary glass of champagne! Unfortunately no time to sample the spa. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Free internet access was also a bonus."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Black rhino"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Very impressed with the tyre maintenance side. We had a flat on the way which turned out to be due to a faulty tyre (it had devulcanised) which we had to replace at Solitaire but the men at Bullsport were very helpful in showing exactly where the tyre had deteriorated on the inside so I could explan to the hire company.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The only activities we undertook were two unguided walks one in the afternoon and one the following morning. It is the morning walk about which I have some reservations. While we were staying there, there was great exceitement because a black rhino had escaped from the conservation area and was roaming the farm - mainly keeping to the river bed. We knew it was likely to be in the area we were walking and asked it there were any precautions we should take, to be told that we were unlikely to see it. So when we did see it sizing us up we were a bit unsettled. Admittedly it was on the other side of a wire fence but close to our path - after due consideration we decided to go back another way as we felt that if the rhino took a dislike to us the fence would not necessarily deter it. I don't think we were in any actual danger, but I do feel that the attitude to the guests safety was a little casual."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Balloons and Dunes with the best guide"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"This was a lovely camp extremely friendly and well run.

The guide who was assigned to us for our introductory sundowner tour and early morning visit to the dunes was Moses who was excellent, friendly and informative and obviously cared passionately about his country and its wildlife. The dunes were majestic and stunning in appearance. I didn't climb "Big Daddy" but the daughters went part way.

Sesreim gauge was awe inspiring and golden in the evening light - more sundowners, I could get used to this way of life!

On our last morning the balloon ride was magical - what more can be said. An experience I would not have missed for anything and would love to repeat some day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Great dinner at Le Tug"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"Sam was helpfulness itself and his cooking is excellent. I think the star of the house is Beethoven his young Pyrennean Mountain dog.

We arrived in a most impressive sandstorm but the next day was beautiful, and I very much enjoyed my last minute tour to Sandwich Bay although the time in the actual bay was very limited as the tide was against us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Amazing"

20 Sep 2010 • Morning excursion

Neither daughters with me at the moment but they both said it was amazing and far exceeded their expectations. Also they were full of praise for their instructress. So I think it was very successful
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Fishers heaven"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"Terrace Bay is basic and has a time warp quality but that said the rooms were extremely comfortable and we had everything we needed.

Once again we were at the mercy of the wind and sand storms, made me so happy I had never got wrecked on the Skeleton Coast. But I would not have missed going to Terrace Bay, I think everyone should go there once at least."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Desert Elephants"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2010
"It was wonderful to see the desert elephants and our guided walk was also enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and gave us a wonderful concert on our final night.

However the management was the least helpful, friendly or efficient of any we encountered. When we arrived they thought the booking was for two people rather than three and had difficulty in remembering which cabins we were booked into. They seemed to have no idea how long anyone was staying - at dinner on our first evening the gentleman arranging activities announced that as we were leaving the next day we would not be interested. We had to disillusion him and explain we were staying for two nights."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Tremendous animal viewing"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"This was a wonderful camp.

The management was very hands on, came and talked to everyone each evening and advised on the best waterholes etc. It had a really friendly atmosphere and for my birthday I had a cake, personal sing song from the staff and a present from our waitress.

We saw all the animals we could have wished for in Etosha and then at night we had the rhino. What else could you ask for?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Four hungry cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This was a wonderful experience.

Our guide Paul was both knowledgeable and funny. The first night we found the leopard and on the next morning 4 hungry cheetahs feeding on an eland. It was a lovely touch having the birdseed to throw outside the cabin and the other stars were the warthogs - who needs a lawnmower?

My only criticism is that I would like to have learnt more about the work of Africat and seen more of their facilities. Several other people we talked with felt the same way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team