This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs AS from Colorado

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A Wonderful Holiday in Namibia

Namibia between 25 Oct 2010 and 13 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Had we to do this trip over, there is very little we would change. Our biggest miscalculation was the amount of time spent in Etosha. We thought that Etosha would be similar to the National Parks in the USA, that is bumper to bumper traffic, some folks racing through the park, and sometimes no place to park to see the sights. This, of course, is not true in Etosha and we would have spent much more time there.

We realize that everyone as different tastes and desires. Some prefer "resort" lodges, which are fine in many instances providing there are activities there to justify the cost. However, there are times that a nice B & B like Termite Hills or a hotel like the Makalani in Tusemb are quite satisfactory (if available of course).

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We would not hesitate to have Expert Africa help us plan and arrange our next Africa adventure."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Etango Ranch Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2010
"Etango Ranch is an excellant place to stay the first night when arriving in Namibia. We did not want to pick up the truck at 8 PM and then have to find our first lodging in the dark. We were picked up at the airport and transferred to Etango and dinner was waiting.

Unfortunately, South African Airlines provides more than enough food on every flight, so next time we'll save room for dinner at Etango.

The accommodations are very nice, and Robert and his wife are very knowledgeable about Namibia and offered some excellent suggestions to us about our itinerary. Breakfast was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"The Elegant Bed & Breakfast review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"We wanted to see a little of Windhoek and the Elegant B & B is is good place to spend the night and be relatively close to the downtown area and Joe's Beerhouse (which after seeing on a TV program, we had to see in person).

As we did not want to drive ourselves, we used taxis to go downtown and to Joe's. At N$50 for each taxi ride, Joe's trip is a little pricey, but since walking is not a choice, it was our only means to get there. I'm sure we could have found enough to do to spend another day in Windhoek, but we saw what we wanted to, so we were OK with just one day.

Joe's, however, was a bit of a disappointment, but it was our choice to go there so we can blame no one else.......

The Elegant was easy to find and convenient to what we wanted to do and see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge and Walvis Bay area activities"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"Some would try to discourage tourists from staying in Walvis Bay instead of Swakopmund as it is "only an old port town". However, it suited us just fine as did the Lagoon Lodge. The decor in the room we had was outstanding, with a giraffe motif
(which became our favorite animal in Namibia). The owners are quite knowledgeable and gave us some interesting insights about Namibia and Africa. It is across the street from the Lagoon, and flamingos are directly in front of the Lodge.

As a side note, we took a tour with Turnstone Tours to Sandwich Harbor, and this was the best value from both cost and information stand points. Our guide, Wayne, is a wealth of information on Sandwich Harbor and Namibia, and the trip lasted all day.

Back to the Lodge, the accommodations are excellent, and the location is within walking distance to the Raft restaurant and central to our other activities of a boat trip in the harbor and a drive to Kuiseb canyon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2010
"Cape Cross Lodge is probably "the" place to stay if you want to see the Seal Reserve. Everything is first class, but since we only needed a place to spend the night, we could have done with less "fancy" accommodations. On the other hand, you won't be disappointed staying here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2010
"If you want to drive the entire Skeleton Coast, Terrace Bay is the only place to stay aside from camping. The facilities are a bit dated, but adequate.

The receptionist was very pleasant and the service overall was fine."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2010
"Outstanding setting overlooking the Klip River Valley. The really outstanding part of our stay there were the activities and our guide: Elephant tracking, Klip River drive and the Himba trip. We were fortunate to have Desi as our guide on all three trips. Desi is a wealth of knowledge on the area, particularly the birds. He not only can tell you about nature, but also about the local people and their communities and their life in this somewhat harsh environment.

We felt the entire staff had the utmost concern about pleasing the guests, and they did."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"The accommodations were fine. There was a small kitchen area (sink and frig), and a braai is available just outside the door. Food enough including meat is available in the camp shop.

We, unfortunately, chose to eat in the restaurant. The food is good, with a choice of game or pork/chicken, etc. However, without a reservation, you must sit inside. The first night we had a reservation. The second night, noting that there were plenty of empty tables, we did not make a reservation. Hence, we were seated inside (on a very warm evening). One of the other inside patrons voiced a complaint to the manager and the several other couples without reservations were allowed to move outside. As long as we were there that evening, many "RESERVED" tables remained unoccupied.

The folks at reception and the stores are not the friendliest, but they are having to deal with many more people than a regular lodge, so perhaps that is understandable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2010
"The facilities and accommodations are fine. Our complaint would be with management. Although we were greeted by the manager when we arrived, he spent the remainder of his time running back and forth between two groups of guests and at dinner, visited all the tables except ours.

We only spent one night there, so perhaps there was not a big incentive for him. Had we to do it again, we would spend at least another night (or more) in Etosha, probably at Namutoni."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Makalani Hotel

"Makalani Hotel, Tsumeb review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2010
"We wanted to stay in a small town, and Tsumeb seemed like a good spot. The museum in town alone is worth the stay.

The hotel perhaps harks back to the time when the mine was operating, and the mine executives and geologists stayed there discussing the riches that awaited them deep underground. We may be wrong, but we thought of it as Africa was in the past.

Our room was in the hotel (as opposed to the accommodation block), with a small balcony. The room with TV and an en-suite with a pink corner soaking tub was quite nice. The courtyard with trees and plants is a great place to have lunch and dinner and the bar would be a good place to socialize.

Should there be a "next time", we would spend an extra day here and explore the other attractions in the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Termite Hills B&B

"Termite Hills B&B"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2010
"Termite Hills is the perfect place to spend an afternoon and night. The rooms are quite nice, and dinner was a real treat. Lotti and Werner were happy to answer some questions we had about Namibia and to tell us some of their experiences living on a Namibian farm.

We were able to take a short drive in the evening, and would look forward to a longer morning farm drive the next time we're there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"We found Erongo Wilderness Lodge the perfect spot to wind down and relax before leaving Namibia. The tented chalets are quite unique and very comfortable, set amidst the scenic valley. We'll never forget seeing a shooting star over the mountains while sitting on the deck one evening.

We really enjoyed one of the included walks, and found the the guide not only to be very knowledgeable about the plants, animals and geology, but by adding a bit of humor now and then, greatly added to our enjoyment of the walk"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Etango Ranch Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2010
"We stayed here our first night in Namibia since it is very close to the airport, and by staying here the last night, we were able to be at the airport exactly when we needed to be to return the truck and check in at the airport.

The rooms and service are great, and we would look forward to staying here again should we return to Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team