This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

144 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

10% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

85% success

Black Rhino

73% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 144
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E & family
UK

"Front row seats for Rhino!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"We were slack jawed when we walked into the restaurant and reception at Ongava. It is absolutely stunning. A briefing from one of the guides, Brandon, about not going out of your chalet alone after dark added a frisson of excitement - after all, this is an unfenced camp. All the chalets overlook the waterhole and as I sat quietly on my veranda various animals wandered past me such as rock Hyrax, Waterbuck, various other antelope...You are at the same level as the water hole so you really do feel like you are amongst the animals.

We went on a late afternoon game drive with our guide who managed to find a very wide range of animals for us including 4 white rhino, two adults and two calves. The land is so very dry (more so than usual at this time of year due to the drought) that Ongava are, quite rightly, feeding the rhino. This has the benefit of attracting all sorts of other animals too who come along for a meal including common zebra and the rare mountain zebra, giraffe, Oryx and many others. They also feed the porcupine in the evening and a dream came true for me when I witnessed two huge spiny fellows marching up the stairs to the restaurant kitchen for their evening meal. We turned and saw two rare black rhino plodding towards the illuminated waterhole.

What a wonderful place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J x 4
USA

"The Hide"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"The best part about Ongava Lodge is the hide. We got close to black rhinos and giraffes. Great photography opportunity.

Unexceptional staff from the top down." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Great lodge, lots of animals to see"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Great lodge, friendly staff, lots of animals near the lodge watering hole (including a black rhino) and in the game reserve itself, could get very close to the watering hole at the hide but also great views from the lodge and chalets, spotted our first rhinos, lions and giraffes.

Food was great and lovely to eat outside at night." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

7 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2019
"Overall 8-9/10. Lovely setting and great view from the main area. Good room, well laid out, well appointed, but no view of the savannah. Service was very good across the piece and we had an enjoyable ‘sun-downer’ safari, but quite pricey at 830R per person. Had a great ‘hide’ down by the water hole from which to view the animals. Food was good and definitely good enough, but not excellent. Wine was included with meals which was a nice surprise! WiFi worked well in the room but had broken down in the main area, but was fixed the day we left. Good staff." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs B
Swindon

"Over rated"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2019
"We were looking forward to this lodge as we had heard it was meant to be very good. Of all the places we stayed this was the only one we had issues with. The location is fabulous and we saw plenty of game but the staff in the restaurant had “attitudes” and very lax. Food was not very good, fairly unimaginative and breakfast cereals completely covered in flies. Poor hygiene, chipped crockery. Not what you expect considering the high rate they are charging. They are living on past goodwill and the fact that they have a great location.

Trip into Etosha was a waste of time, did not see anything much and can only describe it as ‘godforsaken’ land. Probably because of the time of year so not their fault. Ongava reserve provided plenty of game.

Several guests were annoyed that they allowed people prebooking the prime positioned tables for dinner overlooking the water hole by placing their jumpers or books on the chairs well before dinner. Needless to say they were mostly German and the three nights we stayed we never got a decent table at the front.

We had wonderful lion sightings and maybe we should have stayed at the Ongava tented camp which is more intimate." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J.
Warwick

"Ongava Lodge "

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2019
"Another fabulous lodge. The dining room overlooking the floodlit waterhole gave us some great sightings of black and white rhino and lions all sharing the waterhole while we drank our glass of wine! The game drives in the reserve were excellent where we saw rhino's lions and elephants. The hide next to the waterhole was amazing and meant we managed to capture many close up shots of the animals. We drove ourselves into Etosha which was very easy but a little disappointing, due to our own impatience! We visited recommended waterholes and if there was nothing there we moved on to the next one. We should have lingered at each one. As a consequence we travelled many miles and only saw grazing animals. Our own fault - we'll know better next time!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Four poms
Somerset

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2019
"Generally the best overall experience of the trip. Lodge overlooking a waterhole and the hide next to the waterhole were highlights.

Superior service, very comfortable high quality rooms. Excellent guides. Lots of game. A wealth of Rhinos. Animals/birds not on the list: Hartebeest, Waterbuck, Impala, springbok, Hornbillls - grey, yellow, Kori Bustard, Koorhan, sand grouse, Goshawk, Steppe buzzard" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2019
"This is a stunning lodge in every aspect. From the moment you arrive at the gate you are looked after by a dedicated team. We took a number of drives in the reserve and a trip to Etosha with Leon and his knowledge really helped us get the most out of each trip.

Rooms and communal areas are well appointed and food always to a high standard. Dining whilst overlooking the waterhole is quite an experience.

Do try to take some time to sit in the hide at the waterhole." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

White Rhino

8 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R & Mrs S
Southsea

"Beautiful Location, Excellent Service"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"From being greeted by Andriano, to leaving, a great Lodge in every regard.

Our room was charming and well appointed. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The restaurant and food a delight. As it was dark by the end of our evening meal, and there was the possibility of wild animals in the vicinity of our room, we were personally escorted back to our lodge room by an ‘armed employee’ which was reassuring.

My wife did a game drive which she loved....well organised and informative. Overall a great lodge which we would recommend." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2018
"but it was Christmas.

We found the infrastructure, maintenance and management on our trip into Etosha had deteriorated badly since our last visit, and were most grateful you had insisted on booking us into Ongava for Christmas." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 144
92%
144 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa