This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

11% success

White Rhino

98% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

91% success

Zebra

91% success

Elephant

88% success

Black Rhino

81% success

Wildebeest

80% success

Eland

39% success

Roan antelope

28% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

12% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Fantastic location for access into Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Another terrific place to stay, the existence of the watering hole alone means this has an Excellent rating! Watching a rhino having a bath was one of the highlights of our trip.

We loved the views from the main lounge/dining area and also from the swimming pool, which we enjoyed lots as it was one of the more generous sized pools we encountered.

The setting of the room was fantastic and we had a close encounter with a giraffe who came right up to our balcony late one night, which was brilliant. They were great at providing cold drinking water, but it would be even better if they could provide a fridge in the room.

We didn't do any of the activities here but used it as a base to drive ourselves into Etosha (concentrating on the quieter western section which was fantastic), which worked really well due to the easy access into the Park.

This felt a bit more traditional than Onguma and service was a little more reserved, although still incredibly polite and helpful.

Onguma was the setting of our only (very small) health hiccup during the holiday, when I was stung by an unknown insect on the foot whilst watching animals down at the hide at dinner time, when it was dark. This was my fault as I was wearing flip flops and not closed shoes as recommended, and in the end it was not serious at all, but the fact we didn't know what had stung me was a bit of a cause for concern. Bradley from Onguma was absolutely brilliant, took charge straight away and administered some first aid to sort me out. I was much more careful to wear closed shoes in the evenings for the rest of the trip!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr P.
Austin

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Excellent vehicle and guide, great waterhole and game hide with bench and stabilizer for camera.

Pascal is best guide by far of our 3 different safari locations during our trip!" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Just amazing"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"This lodge was just wonderful: the site, the pool, the main lodge, the rooms, the staff... We would have been very happy here even without Etosha at the door.

The water hole brought lots of night-time rhino sightings and we loved the hide besides the water hole. We enjoyed the game drive/sundowner with the guide going all out to find us lions.

The staff did everything to make us happy." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"We loved Ongava lodge for the setting, the exceptional service, the great food and the animal activity at the waterhole below the open air dining room.

We liked seeing the lion pride with cubs eating a giraffe the the interplay. And the chance, albeit briefly, to see “wild” cheetah.

Guide was a bit disappointing however. Also our guide was not entirely credible, especially when he tried to tell us the stone tower at Okaukuejo was an ancient San prison!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Pangolin

2 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Ongava Lodge was expensive but lovely"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2019
"Before entering Etosha through the Andersson Gate, we stayed at Ongava Lodge in Ongava Game Reserve. It is a lovely luxury lodge, located on a small cliff top overlooking the bush. The thatched cottages have unobstructed views of the game reserve and a local water hole. From our cabin we could see the animals coming and going from the watering hole. Just when we arrived there was a large giraffe, shortly after an elephant.

It is crazy to be able to watch the animals directly from our own private terrace - or the outdoor shower. There is no fence around the lodge and at night an armed guard follows one back to the cabin from to the living area / restaurant.

Ongava Lodge was an expensive and lovely place, though not a very personal lodge. The food and service did not quite live up to the high price. But with a location just outside Etosha's gate, that's probably the price you have to pay. We had a good time at this lodge" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C.
Crewkerne

"Our favourite place in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"This was our favourite camp in Namibia.
Beautiful, hugely spacious reception/eating area with several separate sitting areas with stunning views over the plains and watering hole.
Bedrooms were luxuriously enormous with an outdoor shower on the veranda - and fabulous indoor bathroom.
The food and service absolutely excellent and swimming pool was great - but the best bit was the hide overlooking the watering hole where you could go at dusk (with your glass of wine!) and quietly watch the animals come to drink.
We saw a rhino with her baby and giraffe with her baby - plus lots of plains game.
We had a brilliant game drive and saw an elephant, 2 lionesses with a kill, lots of rhino and plenty of plains game.
Wish we could have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs E & family
UK

"Front row seats for Rhino!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"We were slack jawed when we walked into the restaurant and reception at Ongava. It is absolutely stunning. A briefing from one of the guides, Brandon, about not going out of your chalet alone after dark added a frisson of excitement - after all, this is an unfenced camp. All the chalets overlook the waterhole and as I sat quietly on my veranda various animals wandered past me such as rock Hyrax, Waterbuck, various other antelope...You are at the same level as the water hole so you really do feel like you are amongst the animals.

We went on a late afternoon game drive with our guide who managed to find a very wide range of animals for us including 4 white rhino, two adults and two calves. The land is so very dry (more so than usual at this time of year due to the drought) that Ongava are, quite rightly, feeding the rhino. This has the benefit of attracting all sorts of other animals too who come along for a meal including common zebra and the rare mountain zebra, giraffe, Oryx and many others. They also feed the porcupine in the evening and a dream came true for me when I witnessed two huge spiny fellows marching up the stairs to the restaurant kitchen for their evening meal. We turned and saw two rare black rhino plodding towards the illuminated waterhole.

What a wonderful place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J x 4
USA

"The Hide"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"The best part about Ongava Lodge is the hide. We got close to black rhinos and giraffes. Great photography opportunity.

Unexceptional staff from the top down." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Great lodge, lots of animals to see"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Great lodge, friendly staff, lots of animals near the lodge watering hole (including a black rhino) and in the game reserve itself, could get very close to the watering hole at the hide but also great views from the lodge and chalets, spotted our first rhinos, lions and giraffes.

Food was great and lovely to eat outside at night." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

7 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2019
"Overall 8-9/10. Lovely setting and great view from the main area. Good room, well laid out, well appointed, but no view of the savannah. Service was very good across the piece and we had an enjoyable ‘sun-downer’ safari, but quite pricey at 830R per person. Had a great ‘hide’ down by the water hole from which to view the animals. Food was good and definitely good enough, but not excellent. Wine was included with meals which was a nice surprise! WiFi worked well in the room but had broken down in the main area, but was fixed the day we left. Good staff." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 21-30 of 160
92%
160 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
112
37
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (705 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (331 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (264 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (99 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (19 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa