This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nyungwe House
Nyungwe House
Nyungwe House

Reviews of Nyungwe House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nyungwe House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nyungwe House.
Chimpanzee

100% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"Excellent place, I just wished that the wine quality was inline with the price - 70$ for a wine where not even the grapes are defined and 165$ for an ordinary Sancerre is way too much" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Rickmansworth

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2013
"Nyungwe Forest Lodge is lovely, beautifully located on the edge of the rainforest. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Chimp trekking takes up a large part of the day, so allow extra time to simply appreciate the surroundings and go on some excellent-sounding walks directly from the lodge.

Without appearing to be trivial, there are a couple of points to mention. The rooms are clustered together in threes and our neighbour's bathroom extractor fan discharged directly - and noisily - onto our balcony, drowning out the beautiful natural sounds of the rainforest. It stayed on as long as they had their light on. The main reception and restaurant building has awful, unnecessary piped music.

On two consecutive days, we were the only people at Nyungwe getting up at 4am to go and trek to the chimps, yet on both days we returned at lunchtime to find our rooms were being cleaned, so we were unable to enter, use the loo, get out of muddy clothes etc. This could be better organised.

For a 5* hotel, there is a very limited menu and there is a strange set-up where you have to order all courses at the same time, whether you know you want dessert or not." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2012
"Very modern hotel, slight out of place in the tea planation.

No bar - probably due to low season which was disappointing as a good place to share experiences with other travellers." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Herts

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"Initially had planned to use the time we had here to relax after Gorilla treks, but having seen this beautiful location decided to explore more of it, ended up going out every day (went home very tired!), had a fantastic time here. Would recommend." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Cambridge

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Fabulous location and staff. Most meals were really good, except one where the meat was very chewy and the cheesecake desert extremely heavy (not 5*). Staff very attentive.

Cleaning of boots after treks would be welcomed." See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M & Miss H
Bucks

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2012
"Beautiful resort and fabulous rooms.

Service was first class but food, although beautifully, presented was very average" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Avon

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"The colobus monkey trip was slightly disappointing, as you can see them from the hotel grounds as the viewing area was within the tea plantation.

The chimpanzee and the canopy walk was very enjoyable.

More information about other trips whilst planning our trip would have been helpful, ( hiking trips)" See all these reviews: 13n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The F family
London

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Nyungwe Lodge is wonderful once you get there"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"The journey to lodge consisted of 6 hours driving the last three on a very bad bumpy road. Once there we realised we were at a special lodge. The service was very good and attentive and the staff from manager down were incredibly helpful and friendly.

The hikes to colobus monkeys, chimps and waterfall were fantastic. Watching monkeys in forest from our room every afternoon was magical.
Food was good and well served.

The only negative was the heated pool was not heated. A shame as the pool was fantastic.

We did not do the Canopy sky walk as it involved a 45 minute drive each way on bad roads and was not operational if raining." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda; 5n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms G
Kent

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2011
"A beautiful lodge in a stunning location. Great food and lovely staff.

Fantastic view from the infinity pool. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 20
98%
20 reviews of Nyungwe House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyungwe Forest National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

Nyungwe Top View Hill

This quirky hotel is a convenient base for exploring Nyungwe Forest and while it isn't luxurious, it has good views.


77% (15 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa