This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

HIggins/Copestake Rwandan Adventure!

Rwanda between 5 Sep 2014 and 20 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip and were hugely impressed by Rwanda, which is a fascinating, beautiful, very safe country with lots to offer.

Our driver, Johnson, was superb: he was a very competent driver, invariably friendly and helpful, very knowledgeable and informative about the country and its history and also a keen and informed ornithologist. Our vehicle was extremely comfortable and we much enjoyed seeing so much of the country. The standard of accommodation and food was much higher than expected.

The whole trip was a revelation and we would certainly recommend Rwanda as a holiday destination."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Good location and best breakfast ever!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Le Bambou Lodge

"Le Bambou Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"Although not the most upmarket hotel we stayed at in Rwanda, the staff here were definitely the most friendly, kind and helpful of all the places we stayed. They went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms were a bit damp though there were fires in the bedrooms and hot water bottles were provided. The climate generally in Virunga was a bit cooler than we had expected.

Our only reservation on the activities front was the size of the group when we visited the golden monkeys; the guidebook says the visits are for a maximum of 6 people, but we had 20+ in our group, which is far too many especially when one is paying US$100 for the trip. Nonetheless it was great to see the golden monkeys - it would just have been more of an experience in a smaller group."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Very pleased that we had booked 2 trips to the gorillas as the first day, having ascended the mountain, we discovered that the group we were tracking had taken off at speed to the DRC! We then had to descend and go to another group, which, by the time we reached them (around 12 noon) were having their siesta!

The second day we visited the Hirwa group, which was the most amazing experience with all ages of gorillas including a 6 week old baby. What a wonderful treat!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

"Cormoran Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Wonderful location and very comfortable rooms, but the food choice was very limited and not particularly interesting. Everywhere else we stayed there was buffet-style food although I appreciated that this is a much smaller establishment which might make a buffet impractical. Nonetheless, we would recommend changes to the existing menu."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Beautiful public spaces at this hotel and very friendly, attentive staff.

The bedrooms are very comfortable if a bit dark as they are positioned so close to the forest. Chimp tracking was very exciting!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ruzizi Tented Lodge

Ruzizi Tented Lodge

"Ruzizi Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"Only wish we had had longer here! A long day's drive from Nyungwe Forest Lodge, but that was our choice.

Location of the tented camp was wonderful - breakfast at 5.30am with the sun rising and the weaver birds and kingfishers over the lake, truly magical!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team