This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge

Reviews of Cormoran Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cormoran Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Cambourne

"Great location on the lake, but disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"Cormoran Lodge has a superb location on Lake Kivu and all lodges have great views. The gardens are full of birdlife and we spent any spare moments wandering around the gardens trying to capture the beautifully coloured birds as well as the Kingfisher's down on the water's edge.

The room itself was shabby and feels in need of a facelift. The mosquito nets were grubby. The linen was faded, again looking like it needed replacing. The overall feel of the room could have been better.

General feedback for the staff in the bar and dining areas is that we felt they were a bit too 'attentive' making us feel a little under pressure to decide quickly on choice of drinks, food etc." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs G
Fareham

"Hotel in a beautiful location"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2017
"Cormoran Lodge was a small hotel set on a very steep hill. Only about 6 lodges. our lodge (number 5) was the closest to the reception and dining room which made it a bit noisy at times, but it was very convenient! The lodge was great - very big with a separate seating area with a tv (which we never got to work), the view from the balcony was amazing and there were loungers there to enjoy the view. The bathroom was enormous, clean and there was always hot water.

The restaurant had plenty of choice and the food was clearly cooked to order so took a bit longer but the tranquillity and views could be enjoyed whilst waiting.

We went on a boat trip booked through the hotel and there was just the 2 of us on the boat. We didn't realise that there would be walking involved at the island destination so hadn't gone appropriately dressed. That might have been worth a mention as we weren't the only ones!" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr V
Texas

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2017
"We stayed here only one night, as we were transiting between Volcanoes National Park and Nyungwe National Park. The setting is lovely. We especially enjoyed the fresh fish caught in Lake Kivu as well as the very reasonably-priced French wines. Our cabin was set on a small promontory overlooking the lake and was very picturesque.

As nice as the lodge was, we are fairly active, and I think we would have gotten bored here if we had stayed longer than one night. For those looking to lounge in the sun by the lake and tuck into a book or snooze in the fresh air, a longer stay might be attractive, but we were ready to move on, despite the attractive setting.

For those who are mobility challenged, please be aware that the lodge is set on a hillside overlooking Lake Kivu. There are uneven stone paths and lots of steps, so take care if you are not even-footed." See all these reviews: 13n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Carter Caravan
USA

"cormoran lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"Beauriful location and private bungalows on a hillside overlooking Lake Kivuu. They have a boat trip to take you around the lake, etc, but it is expensive. You are better off having your guide arrange a boat trip from and independent company. Bring along your own beverages as the trip is about 2hours. Wear walking shoes as you will be taken to Napoleon Island to hike to the trees where the bats live. The boat drive throws rocks into the trees that makes the bats fly out of the trees. There are thousands of them and large ones. These are not small fruit bats. A sunset cruise is the best time to go. Leave about 4-4:30pm. As the way back you will get amazing sunset pictures and the local sardine fishermen are coming out at that time and love to have there pictures taken in there dugout outriggers." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rob
Watford

"Beautiful Lakeside location."

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"Idyllic location and the views from my cabin were outstanding.

The idea in some ways I guess was to have some R & R after the Verungas and it is certainly well placed to do that. However I got my guide Sam to arrange for a local fisherman to take me to an island on Lake Kivu to see a huge colony of fruit bats which included climbing to the top to see views all the way to the Congo !

Whilst the food was good and the staff friendly they were perhaps more "reserved" than those at all the other places I stayed at in Rwanda." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Good location on Lake Kivu"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Well designed cabins with great views of Lake Kivu. Very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms.

Breakfast was ok - more fruit and healthy cereal would have been nice. The cooked eggs were tasteless, not sure why. Pizzas at lunch were great!

A boat trip on the lake around the islands is worthwhile.

The new Environmental Museum in Kibuye was very informative, and had an interesting herb garden on the roof, with details on how the herbs were used for medicinal purposes." See all these reviews: 15n in Rwanda; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Comfortable Lodge in a beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2016
"Set on a steep hillside on the shore of Lake Kivu, the chalets are mostly built on stilts as is the main building and restaurant, overlooking an attractive very hilly garden and wonderful views of the lake.

There is a lot of choice on the menu and excellent food. The room we had was large and well appointed.

Wi Fi is available close to the main building." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Oxon

"Cormoran Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Wonderful location and very comfortable rooms, but the food choice was very limited and not particularly interesting. Everywhere else we stayed there was buffet-style food although I appreciated that this is a much smaller establishment which might make a buffet impractical. Nonetheless, we would recommend changes to the existing menu." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Cormoran Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"Painfully slow service - it took us over an hour to get appertizers. The cabins were spacesious but a bit outdated and you could hear what your upstairs neighbour was talking about." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms Y
Edinburgh

"Peaceful retreat by the lake"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2014
"This is a great place to stay if you intend to unwind: the rooms are all separate chalets perched on the hill with terrific views out over Lake Kivu. The rooms are very well appointed and tastefully decorated - there is even wifi across the whole lodge.

The lodge restaurant served tasty food and there were plenty of activities in and around the lake. A few minor problems let the side down - for instance, having to pay extra for eggs/omelette in the morning on a full-board package (a bizarre thing to do given the luxury aspirations) and a faulty shower pump which made some showers very frustrating!

Overall, though, this is a very good option in the area and ideal for a rest and relaxation stop." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 26
87%
26 reviews of Cormoran Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
11
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Kivu

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill is a rather dated budget hotel, outside the town of Kibuye on the shores of Lake Kivu.


74% (10 reviews)
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is a larger, international-style resort hotel on the lakeside, well placed for a relaxing stay.


74% (7 reviews)
Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge, sister lodge of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, is located on a remote peninsula on the shores of Lake Kivu.


80% (2 reviews)
Paradise Malahide

Paradise Malahide

A small and simple guesthouse on the shores of Lake Kivu, Paradise Malahide has rustic charm, a friendly atmosphere and some great views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa