This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge

Reviews of Cormoran Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cormoran Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Beautiful lakeside location, stunning views.."

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"We stayed two nights at Cormoran Lodge en-route to Kigali.

The cabins are located on a hillside and we were allocated one of the higher view ones. The setting is beautiful with peaceful views across the lake and a large balcony from which to enjoy them.

When we visited there seemed to be quite a lot of construction of new hotels and guest houses ongoing, one of which was almost opposite (around the lakeside) to Cormoran Lodge. This slightly spoilt our idyllic view and there was building noise, but this I suppose is the price of progress and increased visitors and demand.

Personally we found our cabin very comfortable and spacious. Granted there were a few things that might be helpful additions like bedside tables, but this is just an observation and far from a criticism.

Housekeeping I think was so-so, nothing fundamentally wrong, just things like no soap, toilet tissue & water not replaced but these simply required a mention at reception and they were quickly rectified.
The safe in our room did not work and when we brought this to the managers attention he can gave us a manual key to use.

Bed had a mosquito net, room had a kettle, tea & coffee, working fridge, television with a few channels (one I think in English), wi-fi was available and one of the better connections we experienced on our trip.

The gardens and bird life are stunning, but the property is very steep and care has to be taken especially either after rain or when the gardener has been watering as the pathway tiles can be slippery.
If mobility is a concern perhaps a request for one of the lower closer cabins to the main building can be suggested.
We actually went via the car park to the main building as this was easier walking.

I don't recall if there were touches available in the room or if the path was sufficiently lit as we had our own head torches.

The small lakeside beach area with a few loungers was a nice spot for relaxing and enjoying the birds and gardens. I am not sure if a beverage service is offered there but it might be nice for a waiter to wander occasionally if that is not the case.

It was our experience that the Manager that was on duty during our stay and the restaurant staff spoke primarily French and there was a need at times to speak very slowly and carefully to be understood correctly.
When we checked in the Manager seemed quite unclear as to what our package consisted of in terms of fully explaining the concept of full board and the extensive menu. Initially it was not immediately clear to us if we could choose from the entire menu or just partial.

We had to sign for drinks and food at the end of each evening and wise to double check the bill when checking out as they had got some things that were included in the bill to be charged for. I don't think intentional, but suggest people double check to avoid this.

Other reviews have mentioned not the best food and time it takes to be served. Our experience was the opposite in that we thought all the food served to us was excellent and some of the best we ate on our trip especially the fish soup.
Granted it did take a while to be served but we were not in any hurry.
They did ask at lunch for our dinner order but we declined that and simply ordered when we sat down in the evening.
The dining room was especially nice with the central fire lit in the cooler evening temperatures.
Breakfast was a small but adequate selection of cold cereal, cheese, bread and toast with the option of hot eggs and accompaniments.

We were asked by a waiter if we were interested in renting a boat which we politely declined and instead opted for a lovely walk along the lakeside from the lodge.

The night before we were checking out we were asked by the manager if we would like a packed lunch to take with us which we accepted, however apparently a waiter was then supposed to come and ask us what we would like which nobody ever did and so our packed lunch did not appear.
For us it did not really matter as we has not expected to be offered this, if however you have a long journey ahead and might appreciate a packed lunch then better to be specific. Likewise the restaurant staff may want to be reminded about this option for guests checking out.

There is apparently a new Environmental museum in Kibuye which had we had a little more time we understand is worth a visit.

Overall a two night stay was sufficient for us and our expectations were met and we enjoyed the peace and quiet (apart from a bit of construction noise..)

If you happened to live in Kigali Cormoran Lodge would certainly be a nice option for a long weekend." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Good to average"

1 night Arrived 7 Mar 2018
"Nice location on the lake.

Average room and food. Limited dinner menu.

Average service.

One night stay here was enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Cambourne

"Great location on the lake, but disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"Cormoran Lodge has a superb location on Lake Kivu and all lodges have great views. The gardens are full of birdlife and we spent any spare moments wandering around the gardens trying to capture the beautifully coloured birds as well as the Kingfisher's down on the water's edge.

The room itself was shabby and feels in need of a facelift. The mosquito nets were grubby. The linen was faded, again looking like it needed replacing. The overall feel of the room could have been better.

General feedback for the staff in the bar and dining areas is that we felt they were a bit too 'attentive' making us feel a little under pressure to decide quickly on choice of drinks, food etc." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs G
Fareham

"Hotel in a beautiful location"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2017
"Cormoran Lodge was a small hotel set on a very steep hill. Only about 6 lodges. our lodge (number 5) was the closest to the reception and dining room which made it a bit noisy at times, but it was very convenient! The lodge was great - very big with a separate seating area with a tv (which we never got to work), the view from the balcony was amazing and there were loungers there to enjoy the view. The bathroom was enormous, clean and there was always hot water.

The restaurant had plenty of choice and the food was clearly cooked to order so took a bit longer but the tranquillity and views could be enjoyed whilst waiting.

We went on a boat trip booked through the hotel and there was just the 2 of us on the boat. We didn't realise that there would be walking involved at the island destination so hadn't gone appropriately dressed. That might have been worth a mention as we weren't the only ones!" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr V
Texas

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2017
"We stayed here only one night, as we were transiting between Volcanoes National Park and Nyungwe National Park. The setting is lovely. We especially enjoyed the fresh fish caught in Lake Kivu as well as the very reasonably-priced French wines. Our cabin was set on a small promontory overlooking the lake and was very picturesque.

As nice as the lodge was, we are fairly active, and I think we would have gotten bored here if we had stayed longer than one night. For those looking to lounge in the sun by the lake and tuck into a book or snooze in the fresh air, a longer stay might be attractive, but we were ready to move on, despite the attractive setting.

For those who are mobility challenged, please be aware that the lodge is set on a hillside overlooking Lake Kivu. There are uneven stone paths and lots of steps, so take care if you are not even-footed." See all these reviews: 13n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Carter Caravan
USA

"cormoran lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"Beauriful location and private bungalows on a hillside overlooking Lake Kivuu. They have a boat trip to take you around the lake, etc, but it is expensive. You are better off having your guide arrange a boat trip from and independent company. Bring along your own beverages as the trip is about 2hours. Wear walking shoes as you will be taken to Napoleon Island to hike to the trees where the bats live. The boat drive throws rocks into the trees that makes the bats fly out of the trees. There are thousands of them and large ones. These are not small fruit bats. A sunset cruise is the best time to go. Leave about 4-4:30pm. As the way back you will get amazing sunset pictures and the local sardine fishermen are coming out at that time and love to have there pictures taken in there dugout outriggers." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rob
Watford

"Beautiful Lakeside location."

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"Idyllic location and the views from my cabin were outstanding.

The idea in some ways I guess was to have some R & R after the Verungas and it is certainly well placed to do that. However I got my guide Sam to arrange for a local fisherman to take me to an island on Lake Kivu to see a huge colony of fruit bats which included climbing to the top to see views all the way to the Congo !

Whilst the food was good and the staff friendly they were perhaps more "reserved" than those at all the other places I stayed at in Rwanda." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Good location on Lake Kivu"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Well designed cabins with great views of Lake Kivu. Very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms.

Breakfast was ok - more fruit and healthy cereal would have been nice. The cooked eggs were tasteless, not sure why. Pizzas at lunch were great!

A boat trip on the lake around the islands is worthwhile.

The new Environmental Museum in Kibuye was very informative, and had an interesting herb garden on the roof, with details on how the herbs were used for medicinal purposes." See all these reviews: 15n in Rwanda; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Comfortable Lodge in a beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2016
"Set on a steep hillside on the shore of Lake Kivu, the chalets are mostly built on stilts as is the main building and restaurant, overlooking an attractive very hilly garden and wonderful views of the lake.

There is a lot of choice on the menu and excellent food. The room we had was large and well appointed.

Wi Fi is available close to the main building." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Oxon

"Cormoran Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Wonderful location and very comfortable rooms, but the food choice was very limited and not particularly interesting. Everywhere else we stayed there was buffet-style food although I appreciated that this is a much smaller establishment which might make a buffet impractical. Nonetheless, we would recommend changes to the existing menu." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 28
85%
28 reviews of Cormoran Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Kivu

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill is a rather dated budget hotel, outside the town of Kibuye on the shores of Lake Kivu.


71% (9 reviews)
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is a larger, international-style resort hotel on the lakeside, well placed for a relaxing stay.


70% (8 reviews)
Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge, sister lodge of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, is located on a remote peninsula on the shores of Lake Kivu.


80% (2 reviews)
Paradise Malahide

Paradise Malahide

A small and simple guesthouse on the shores of Lake Kivu, Paradise Malahide has rustic charm, a friendly atmosphere and some great views.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa