This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Carter Caravan from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Africa August 2016

Rwanda and 3 other countries between 4 Aug 2016 and 26 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Tanzania safari company is excellent and will use them again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
You were kind enough to send us the Bradt guide on Northern Tanzania book to read. This was very much appreciated and not expected. But since we booked a safari for 12 days in Rwanda, it would have been nice for you to include the Bradt guide to Rwanda also. We purchased it on our own."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"fine for being at the airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"Unique history that thank goodness most hotels would not have. Had security check oint for entering hotel. A coupleof blocks down the street from the presidential palace in a more residential area. Close to banksand shopping. The prices are a little high for the food and beverage considerig this is Africa. There is a good restaurant a few blocks away called Heaven(same prices) but an alternative for dinner if you are staying 2 or more nights. Heaven is also a boutique hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

"Nyungwe Top View Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"Very nice staff. The rooms are very private with a sitting area and fireplace. They are very willing to start a fire in the fireplace. The bathrooms need remodeling. They are old, black mold in some areas and the towels are shredding. There is a large outdoor balcony and the views from the room and property in general are gorgeous. The food is very average. The main lodge needs a thorough cleaning as there are spider webs, etc. Some of the furniture is falling apart. We were shocked at the price they command considering the condition of the property. We would not stay here again and would have spent more money to stay at the more expensive exclusive lodge in the area. We stayed here trying to cut the budget and were disappointed in the poor quality and food."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

"cormoran lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"Beauriful location and private bungalows on a hillside overlooking Lake Kivuu. They have a boat trip to take you around the lake, etc, but it is expensive. You are better off having your guide arrange a boat trip from and independent company. Bring along your own beverages as the trip is about 2hours. Wear walking shoes as you will be taken to Napoleon Island to hike to the trees where the bats live. The boat drive throws rocks into the trees that makes the bats fly out of the trees. There are thousands of them and large ones. These are not small fruit bats. A sunset cruise is the best time to go. Leave about 4-4:30pm. As the way back you will get amazing sunset pictures and the local sardine fishermen are coming out at that time and love to have there pictures taken in there dugout outriggers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Moutain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"The views are amazing and the rooms are individual bungalows which have a nice fireplace and they will make a fire in it any time of the day. There is entertainment with local dancers&music outside at 5pm. The meals are buffet and plenty of choices to find something you will like. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. There are two fireplaces in the lodge and internet is only in the lodge, so the area is usually crowded late afternoon and early evening. The furniture is in need of replacement and is not cohesive, it looks like it came from various garge sales. A small gift shop is available. There are no safes in the room so you need to use there safe. This would be a recommendation for them to change in the future and put in-room safes in each building. Their bathrooms also need remodeling. If they would remodel they could command a much higher price. There are now new hotels going up in the same area and we would check into these in the future. They appear to be boutique in nature from what we could see."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka hotel"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"Close to airport and off the highway. Easy access to head out to the Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Sanctuary, Karen Blixen Museum and stop at Talisman restaurant for a late lunch/early dinner. No reservations needed. The hotel will charge $150 round trip for a taxi driver for the day. You can get a private driver on your own for $90US dollars to do the same thing. Nairobi is not easy to navigate and is not walkable, you would need a driver/gruide to do this. The hotel is mainly business travelers. The rooms are quiet, secure and a nice outdoor pool and sitting area to relax. Dinner is buffet and expect hotel prices. FYI-There is nothing close for other food choices, so you are locked into the hotel. If you need to shop for something at a shopping mall, do not go to the closest mall, it is not a complete mall and ask to be taken to WEstgate. The hotel has a shuttle service band charges a fee. It is resonable and safe."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

"Bougainvillea Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"This is a great value for the money. It is close proximity between the crater and Lake Manyara. It is boutique in nature with a lovely pool. The staff is excellent. Food good. Lobby has internet and a fireplace. The rooms are individual bungalows with a fireplace, The bathrooms are clean, no mold...In-room safe not available. So make sure you have a lock for your luggage for important items. There is as small refrigerator for drinks. Good value for money. They will do your laundry for a very nominal fee."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Moivaro Lake Natron Tented Camp

Moivaro Lake Natron Tented Camp

"MOivaro Lake Natron Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"We were told this was the better of the two tented camps in the area. It was fine, but there are new accomodations now and we would investigate this for a return trip. The food was average. The pool is nice to have, but it was dirty and needed a cleaning. The African bullfrogs were living in it....The staff is friendly and Maasai are your hosts It is a somewhat "authentic" experience more than some of the other tented camps. Goats and donkeys are on the property, no issues. The bathrooms need some attention. Chipping paint, etc. The outdoor showers are a nice compement."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

"Lobo Wildlife Lodge"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2016
"The facility is marvelous with its stunning views and ability to watch wildlife from the pool top deck area. The food is the problem. It is difficult to find acceptable meats to eat and in talking with other guests they were also disappointed. This is a government owned lodge with a private company managing the property. It is an Indian company and the furniture is heavily influenced to look Indian oriented with a little African thrown in for good measure. We did not feel this was a true African decorating scheme. It surprised us. The internet is charged at a rate of $5per hour and it did not work.....It is only avaiable in the reception/restaurant and bar areas, if it is working. The staff was friendly but not like being in a tented camp set-up. Due to the food issues we would not recommend this location. If food is not a factor then the location is beautiful. This was high season and not many people were staying here.They also will not allow your private guide to eat with you unless you pay extra for their food..."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Good
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Ubuntu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2016
"This is an amazing camp with amazing staff. This is what we came to Africa for. The location in the northern SErengeti is lovely with zebras, wildebeast wondering through the camp at night and the zebras at camp for breakfast. The black rhino family is in the area on the horizon. The staff goes above and beyond to make your staff the best possible. We visited the sister camp Sayari (which is a permanent camp) to compare and would not pay for the extra charges. We think the ubuntu camp has everything you need with a little more "bush" atmosphere. They are two very different experiences. Our food was exceptional and they provided verything we needed for breakfast or lunches and beverages out in the bush when we did not want to eat back at the camp. They even surprised us with a sundowner cocktail party with the other guests out in the bush to watch the sunset! A going away cake with the staff singing good bye was a treat also. Laundry is done for you at no cost. They even have hot water in a thermos for night time and am face washing and shaving. If you need more hot water for showeres you just need to let them know and they will boil more and refill your shower bucket. We did not need to do this, as they had plenty of hot shower water for us. This is a company that we would use again and our guide was the best we have had in Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team