This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Incredibly satisfied with Expert Africa

Tanzania and 1 other country between 6 Jun 2016 and 22 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"My trip was incredible. If I had to do it all over again, I would not change a thing. If I ever get a chance to go to Africa again ( I really hope to!) I will absolutely use Expert Africa and Elizabeth Chapman to help me with my planning and booking again!

I am 110% satisfied and will recommend you in Canada!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Very short stay, but very nice hotel!"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"My stay at the Southern Sun Dar was very short - I arrived around midnight and left early the next morning. The transfer from the airport to the hotel was very efficient and my driver was waiting for me at the airport. He made me feel welcomed and he was extremely courteous.

It's a bit of a drive to the hotel but it was nice to take in some of the sights, sounds and smells of Dar. This was my first time travelling to Tanzania (Africa too) and the Southern Sun was a nice first stop. The staff was welcoming and the room was comfortable.

I did not get a chance to look at the grounds of the hotel but the hotel itself was nice and in a nice area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp - an awsome experience!"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"I arrived at Mwagusi Safari camp as a female solo traveller on June 8th, 2016 and what can I say, I fell in love! This was my first safari experience and I could not have chosen better. I arrived very early in the season and for a couple of days I had the good fortune of having the camp to myself, which was a lot of fun!

The camp itself is located on a beautiful riverbed and every tent overlooks the river. The tent itself is amazing, super comfortable and has an adjoining bathroom in the back of the tent. The décor is very nice, very traditional and all made from natural elements. The camp is located in Ruaha National Park, which is also incredibly beautiful, with many boabab trees dotting the landscape and many wild animals and beautiful species of birds roaming the park.

Asides from the beauty of the camp and park, the staff at Mwagusi was incredible. Erica made sure that I was well taken care of and made me feel like part of the family. Kanu, who came to wake me up in the morning for my early morning drives, brought me coffee and the most amazing biscuits I have ever had. He also made sure all my laundry was perfectly folded and my tent was in perfect order. My guide Jimmy and my driver Dula, who I spent almost five days with, made my stay at Mwagusi one of the most special times of my life. Jimmy was always kind and attentive and his knowledge of wildlife in Ruaha is amazing. He explained animal and bird behaviour to me in such great detail I would have to read many books to learn what I learnt from him.The rest of the staff at Mwagusi was also super nice and always had a smile for me. The food was great too.

I would highly recommend going early in the season like I did. I had been told you do not see as many animals as later in the season but I had some amazing sightings (including wildogs and a leopard). The weather is not as hot during the day (it is quite cool in the morning), there is less dust, and we rarely saw any other cars within the park.

Five star review - I would go back in a minute!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"You don't get better than the Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The Beho Beho is amazing in every way.

The guiding is top notch. The camp and the staff are top notch. The bandas are incredible and the view spectacular. Phil and Trish are the most gracious hosts and incredibly nice people who go out of their way to make sure their guests are happy. The food could not be better (I am still trying to lose the weight from all those amazing desserts).

The Selous is breathtaking with so much changing scenery within the park and lots of beautiful animals to photograph. During my five day stay, I had the opportunity to participate in all the activities offered including game drives (some with interesting history lessons), the walking safaris and the lake safari. The combination of activities is fantastic as you get to have very different experiences on all three.

As I mentioned above, the guiding is top notch and there is nothing on this planet that compares to the sensation you get from a walking safari - all your senses jump into overdrive. Knowing that you are in extremely capable hands makes it something really worth experiencing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel - Very nice!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2016
"I loved the Pongwe beach!

It is a nice simple resort on a beautiful, quiet beach. It also has a nice pool. The rooms were very clean, the staff very friendly and the food was very good.

It is a quiet place and there are not a lot of activities, but it is perfect if you are looking to relax.

I would absolutely recommend it if you are not looking for a party or too many activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2016
"I cannot comment as I was moved hotels at the last moment because apparently the Dhow Palace was under renovation (which they must have known way in advance).

The other hotel was nice but the view was all construction which was not very nice."
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team