This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr +Mrs K from South Brent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Excellent September 18 trip to Zambia

Zambia between 3 Sep 2018 and 16 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was very well-planned to suit our interests and our needs. Freddie was very responsive to us and understood what we were looking for and what we were capable of.

This was our second trip organised by Expert Africa and we remain very satisfied. All the camps and airlines were made well aware of mobility issues and everyone responded appropriately and sympathetically.

All 3 camps were comfortable and had excellent food and guiding. Every effort was made to co-ordinate the holiday to minimise waiting time on journeys and maximise time in camps.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable safari.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Difficult to see how the service could be improved"

Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Comfortable room in quiet location"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Ideal stopping off place between long journey out via Dubai. Room was very comfortable and location was close enough to the airport and very quiet.

Evening meal was good and plentiful, though quite expensive.

Outside area was shaded round the swimming pool and very pleasant"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Well located bush camp and plenty of wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"This camp is very small and ideally located in a big loop in the Kafue river. The rooms are well positioned, with views over the Dambo, providing wildlife sightings at all times.

Full consideration was given to the extra needs of one of us, and very good service was provided thoughtfully and cheerfully throughout our stay.

Food was varied and beautifully cooked, served in locations to maximise the views over the dambo and of the wildlife.

The camp is a true "bush camp", being fully open to animals, so not for the faint-hearted. For 36 hours, a lion pride of lion, lioness and 3 cubs was roaming to and fro very close to the camp, providing excellent sightings and photo-opportunities. Elephants were also frequent visitors through the camp, requiring care at all times and sometimes escorting from tent to Sitenje.

The tree house hide provides excellent views all round and is a perfect place for afternoon siesta. However, it was only possible to use it on one afternoon of our 3 days there as on the first day, lions were resting beneath it and on the third, elephants were eating the tree!

Neither Phil nor Tyrone were in camp during our stay, though this was not a problem as James was an excellent guide and Colo managed the camp superbly.

The area around the camp had suffered a fire shortly before our visit, so zebras and some other herbivores were totally absent. Elephants, lions, hippos, crocodiles and birds were all plentiful. Of the latter, birds of prey, many species of kingfisher, African finfoot and African skimmers were particular highlights.

The new rooms are not all sited under tress so became very hot in the afternoon, with the verandas unusable. Otherwise, the rooms were comfortable and provided all we wanted. Bucket showers are provided when needed and water was plentiful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"High class and run by very experienced people"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Tafika is run by very experienced people who have been there a long time.

One of us was ill on arrival and the attention and support provided, particularly by Jen Coppinger, was exemplary. We were located, as requested, close to the Sitenje, making movement to and fro much easier. However, this did mean our veranda was very public, so we made little use of it in the afternoons. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable and luxurious.

The camp is well located with views over the Luangwa river, so there were plenty of sightings from camp of elephants, antelopes, hippos, crocodiles and birds. A Pels owl called behind our chalet, though we never saw it.

Our guide, Brian, had more than 20 years experience at Tafika and was very knowledgeable. We saw plenty of wildlife over our 3 days. Tafika has a strong focus on walking safaris. With no water based options, our activities were confined to game drives. As Tafika is outside the park, these became rather repetitive, with the same drive out along the river every time. Brian was reluctant to take the only other route, to the salt pan, in the day time, despite us requesting this, so we missed sightings of African wild dogs which we had particularly wanted to see. The lack of use of radios meant guides did not hear of unusual sightings elsewhere. We did have excellent lion, leopard, Thornycroft giraffe, zebra and elephant sightings, as well as a very shy Eland.

Food was generally good, though meat was often tough, even Zambian beef, which was beautifully tender in our other camps. The vegetables were a highlight and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the wonderful vegetable garden at the back, which Nelson proudly showed us. For our taste, meals are somewhat formally hosted, so despite the excellent service and care, we never totally relaxed.

The exemplary service was finally illustrated by the couriering of a phone to our next camp which we had accidentally left charging in the camp."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Outstanding service, location and wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"On arrival, we found out that we should have been informed that our 4 days would be 2 days each in 2 different chalets. We had not been informed, so told Michele this was not acceptable to us. The matter was rapidly resolved and we were allocated an excellent chalet for all 4 days. This beginning was a perfect illustration of the fantastic service and care for residents at this camp. Any suggestions or requests were immediately attended to with consideration, sensitivity and a smile. There is a great sense of teamwork here, with no evidence of the hierarchy of staff present in some camps.

Particular mention goes to our game drive guide, Sebastian, river cruise guide, Trafford, trainee guide Samora, waiters Joel and Prosper, chefs Robert and Chris, who all helped to make this a very special stay. Managers, Michele and Reon, went way beyond any call of duty in chasing the camera phone lost in the bowels of Profilght. Even with their efforts, the phone did not arrive until just before we left, so they lent us a quality camera so we could take photos.

Our room was looking over the Zambezi with a lovely shaded veranda frequented by elephants all day. The Sitenje has views over the river and over the bush, so wherever you sit there is wildlife to see. The game drives and river cruises are varied so we were able to see plenty of different land and water based wildlife at all times. We came across 3 male lions with a buffalo kill, then the following day with a Kudu kill. They then joined with 3 females, one pregnant. We saw plenty of leopards including 2 young ones racing up and down a tree in play.

Robert and Chris provide outstanding food from their kitchen and were happy to show us their facilities. The food was varied, meat deliciously tender and cakes and desserts so delightful we ate far too much.

Overall, this was the best camp we have stayed in - a big thank you to the great team who work there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Jul 2017 trip

Tanzania between 6 Jul 2017 and 16 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are very happy with the holiday and all the arrangements made for us by Expert Africa.

We were able to provide this feedback directly to Fred from your office who was visiting Mwagusi at the same time as us!

Thanks to James for listening to what we wanted and making sure that this special 70th birthday holiday matched our expectations"

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2017
"This was a wonderful camp, perhaps the best we have stayed in. Crystal is a superb manger making everyone feel welcome and special.

The location on the banks of the Rufiji is brilliant and both dining and our tent took full advantage. all the Staff were friendly, helpful and provided outstanding service.

The food quality puts most city restaurants to shame. It was varied, beautifully cooked and presented with panache.

Guiding was high quality, with considerable knowledge of birds as well as mammals.

The special attention given to my 70th birthday was delightful - we even had a full moon over the table!

Thanks to everyone at the camp

Our minor criticism is nothing to do with Selous Impala. The range and number of mammals was lower than we were expecting. This was partly compensated by the brilliant boat safaris and the expensive bird life.

Personally, we would have preferred the chance to sit with other people for evening meals, although we are aware this is personal taste.

Overall, this is the best camp we have stayed at."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2017
"Mwagusi camp is a magnificent example of the best a safari camp can offer. Situated in the Wonderful Ruaha, it makes maximum use of its situation on the banks of the Mwagusi river. The banda are like suites, with the outside area under thatch superb for afternoon siesta and animal or bird watching. The tent behind can be zipped up to protect from animals and insects while the bathroom area is also under thatch but open to the outside.

As an owner run camp, it has unique features which makes it special. The river bed is used to maximum effect, for example the dining locations. Where else would you be called from your dinner table to see a leopard? The quality of guiding is outstanding. For example, we saw lions from different prides on 7 of our 8 game drives. The wildness of Ruaha and its unique scenery would make game drives a pleasure even without the game, but we saw plenty of everything, including some of the rare antelopes such as Oribi and many, many birds. A big thank you to Isaac and Isaiah.

Tent service is exemplary and for all the staff, nothing was too much trouble. For example, one of us struggled to get down the slope to dinner. When this was raised, the next 3 nights there were 2 members of staff to help.

Quality of food was mixed. The buffet salads for lunch were excellent and varied. Bush breakfasts were perfectly adequate. Food for the evening meals was quite variable with much of the meat tough and many vegetables over cooked but not warm enough. While the location of the dining tables down on the river bed under the stars is very attractive, it does make it more difficult to serve high quality food. I would like to rate food average plus or good minus for these reasons.

We think it is worth mentioning in your literature that guests are expected to descend steep sandy banks to the river in the dark, as this is a problem for older, less mobile guests. We also found at times that we were over regimented and walking in crocodiles behind one torch. Finally, a swimming pool would be a great addition.

These are minor criticisms and overall, this is a wonderful place to stay and experience the delights of Ruaha. Thank you to Chris Fox and all the staff for the magical place they have created."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team