This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Safari addict from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Second trip to Tanzania did not disappoint

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 8 Feb 2019 and 15 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"All aspects of our trip to Tanzania ran smoothly as per the arrangements made by Expert Africa. My wife has mobility and dietary requirements which were managed satisfactorily.

The roads in Dar are not adequate to manage the volume of traffic so journeys take much longer than might be indicated by the distance. The airport is poor but a new one has been built and will hopefully be opening soon.

We have done a lot of safaris and prefer places that are more remote and uncrowded but with good facilities. Selous was a good choice in this regard. We did get to see wildlife but obviously not the volumes of the Serengeti etc."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Ideal location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Quite a long trip through the traffic to get to the lodge's remote location but definately worth it. The sea was literally lapping at the front of the room. The property is very well managed and the staff were excellent - could not have been more helpful.

When we booked Expert Africa did alert the hotel to my wife's mobility issues and we were told there would just be a few steps up to the room, however, as one of the staff commented, there are "quite a lot of steps on the property". The staff were really helpful so my wife did just about manage."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Wonderful Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2019
"Second visit to Beho Beho did not disappoint. Yes it is expensive but you do get what you pay for.

You will not see the volumes of animals that you would in the Serengeti but when something is spotted you will nearly always get the viewing to yourselves. The location, ambience, staff, food cannot be bettered.

What particularly makes this place is the family atmosphere and the enthusiasm of the people - particularly the guides."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Tanzania green season trip

Tanzania between 1 Feb 2018 and 9 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The advice I received from Expert Africa was extremely useful in enabling me to choose two contrasting park/game reserves and the right accommodation for my needs. It was particularly helpful to have advice on the best places for a solo traveller. I was also grateful to have been advised to get a visa beforehand as I noticed other travellers were forming a lengthy queue while I breezed through immigration. All the transfers went smoothly and the staff from Coastal Aviation were friendly and helpful.

During the low season in which I travelled the Selous was abundant in plains game, particularly new born animals. Predators were not so easily found but the guides were skilled enough to track them down. Ruahah had so many elephants with herds up to perhaps 100. There were plenty of elephants a few weeks old. Good sightings of cheetah and lions.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Of the eight nights of my trip I spent seven of these as the sole guest. Obviously this had advantages but as a solo traveller I would have liked to have been able to meet other safari guests. The staff at the camps went out of their way to make me welcome so there was no chance of feeling isolated. Not really something you could resolve !

At both camps it was commented that Expert Africa was one of the best Africa tour operators."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"One of the best"

4 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2018
"I have stayed in a number of camps in Africa and Beho Beho is definately in the top league from every point of view.

The accommodation is excellent with your own personal view of the Selous. The guiding is of the highest quality. The food would past muster against the best city restaurants. The particular highlight of Beho Beho is the hospitality and general ambience, you almost feel like part of the camp 'family'. Yes, it is more expensive than the alternatives, but if ever there was a case of you get what you pay for, it is here.

I did travel off season and found it rather hot, and the insects when on game drives were a nuisance, however, this meant that there was no other traffic and there were plenty of young animals. As Beho Beho is on a hill there were cooling breezes and, with the in-room fans, it was no problem sleeping at night (after getting used to the animal sounds, particularly the hippos).

Hopefully I will have the chance to visit again during the dry season."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"The real bush, but with flush toilets"

4 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2018
"I chose Mwagusi as I wanted a more back to basics experience but without sacrificing too many creature comforts, and it met my expectations. The setting of the property is superb and you can sit on your own personal verandah watching whatever wildlife passes by (or in the case of baboons, through, your banda). There are no fences so I was not too suprised to hear an elephant outside my bedroom, and to be woken by the roar of a lion. Food is good, particularly given it is cooked over wood, and plentiful. The staff work as a team and have a great sense of humour. The attention of the management and their hospitality (particularly for me as a solo traveller) was excellent.

The highlight of my stay was seeing so many elephants, including a number of newborns. Given that elephants can be rather touchy when protecting their young, my guide was very skilled in judging how to manage our encounters so that we could get close to these animals in safety.

Personally I have to confess I found the situation a little too basic for me, which is not a criticism of Mwagusi as that is what they are offering. I chose to go in the hot season and I found the lack of a fan in the room made it a bit difficult to sleep - as largely only solar energy is used appliances beyond a electric light are not possible. I imagine this would not be a problem in other seasons . Given the quantity of biting insects at this time of year I was glad that the mesh sides of the tent kept them at bay.

Perhaps not my business but I was concerned about a couple of staff issues. Unlike any other camp I have stayed, the staff are required to be away from their families for extended periods. Tips are entirely communal and disbursed once a year - I prefer to reward my guide/driver personally and make a communal tip to the other staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team