This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S from france

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2019 trip

Tanzania between 17 Sep 2019 and 28 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Lyndsey did a fabulous job....again!

Super efficient and helpful, very knowledgeable, she organised an amazing trip for us...it was perfect, thank you!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


The Slipway

The Slipway

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"For the purpose of the stay (a stopover en route to safari), it was perfectly acceptable, the rooms a bit basic, only one towel and one bottle of water provided for two people, and quite a strong drain odour in the en suite bathroom. But the staff were friendly, and both the seafront and terrace restaurants were pleasant."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Delightful Siwandu"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"An oasis of calm, Siwandu has impeccable standards, and our second visit lived up to all our expectations. The staff are friendly but discreet, and very efficient. The tents and facilities within are of a very high quality, spotless and comfortable with amazing views down to the lake. The food is fabulous, every meal a joy, portion sizes perfect. And lovely to have a lunch out on the lake again. It’s great that Siwandu is now all inclusive, but I was slightly disappointed that there was no longer a little shot of liqueur offered on return from the evening game drive!

Activities were excellent, with a combination of drives, boat on the lake and walks. Would like to see different levels of walking tour offered though, as we all found the walk too sedate, despite being incredibly interesting. But we had excellent sitings every day.

The only slight negative, which is totally beyond the reach of Siwandu to fix, is waking up to the sound of trucks rumbling down the newly widened road on their way to the dam construction site. We hope this doesn’t have a negative impact on Siwandu and the reserve as a whole in the coming years."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ikuka

Ikuka

"Amazing Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"Fabulous location on top of an escarpment with stunning, far-reaching views from both communal and private spaces. Great, open design means the regular breeze keeps spaces cool. Accommodation was very spacious and comfortable and of a high standard. I would have liked part of the bathroom (sinks and toilet) to be included in the tented area to avoid the constant zipping and unzipping at night when getting ready for bed, but that’s splitting hairs!

Service was great, the staff are very friendly and open, and encouraged to chat and banter with guests which we found charming. As well as the manager Jake, and the owner Mark when he’s on site, The guides took turns to join the communal dinner which was a nice touch, and made for entertaining evenings.

The food was wonderful, fresh and innovative at every meal. Lunch comprised of a chilled soup, a buffet style main with lots of salads, and a light dessert, whilst dinner was a starter, main (which I found a little on the large side) and dessert. Everything was beautifully presented and very tasty. Ikuka also offered us a glass of juice retuning from our morning drive, and an Amarula returning from the afternoon drive...a lovely touch!

Activities were excellent, our guide Festo was brilliant, very friendly, open and extremely knowledgeable. Ruaha has such a variety of landscapes and terrains that there’s always something new to see, and we had excellent game sightings. We also did a walking safari with Mustapha, covering about 7km so we felt we’d had some exercise as well as learning a lot about the flora and fauna (and poop!) of our surroundings. And a fab bush breakfast to finish."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2017 trip

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 6 Sep 2017 and 18 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"both James Denny (who was my initial contact and helped me to choose safari location and camps) and Lyndsey Marris (who organised our two stays in Zanzibar, and made all our reservations) were very helpful, and extremely knowledgeable. Overall the trip was amazing on every level,and incredibly well organised, thank you!

The only slight negative is that we were a little disappointed with Mwagusi Camp in terms of service and food, especially after staying at Siwandu which surpassed our expectations and was just excellent on every level. Maybe if we'd stayed at Mwagusi before Siwandu, we wouldn't have noticed so much!

We are definitely keen to explore more of Africa as a result of this trip, and will definitely return to Expert Africa to do so!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"Atmospheric stay at Emerson Spice"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"Felt like we were experiencing the real Zanzibar, hotel was very atmospheric having maintained it's original character and architecture.

The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was fabulous!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Stone Town Discovery Tour

Stone Town Discovery Tour

"Anjam"

7 Sep 2017 • Morning excursion

Spent a fascinating morning in the company of Anjam, who was very friendly and open, and extremely knowledgable on all aspects of Zanzibari life past and present. The time flew by as we were led around the labyrinth of streets that is Stone Town.

Despite two bouts of torrential rain which turned the roads into rivers, we enjoyed every minute as Anjam, a third generation Stone Town resident, had so much to tell us, and there was so much to see and experience! A meal prepared by his wife and shared in their home was a fabulous end to the morning!

The spice tour was very interesting, our guide led us around the plantation on foot, pointing out to us the many different varieties of spices and fruits on the way. The tour finished with a tasting session of the local fruits and drinks made from the spices - very enjoyable!
Excellent
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Amazing stay at Siwandu"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Incredibly friendly, efficient, professional team at Siwandu made our stay an absolute delight!

Location fabulous, food was really, really good, accommodation excellent, guide and activities brilliant, attention to detail spot on!

Would love to go and stay there again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Stunning location, comfortable and well appointed accommodation, but tent and bathroom looking a little tired, could do with an update.

Staff very friendly. For two out of our four nights, we were the only guests in the camp, and as mealtimes were communal, this meant it was just us and the manager Alex eating together, which was ok as she was nice, but it felt a bit strange and we really welcomed some new arrivals on our last night!! Food was a bit eclectic, both lunch and dinner were buffet style, with too many competing flavours between the dishes.

The staff were helpful, but we felt they were lacking some training.

The guide and driver were great!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Qambani

Qambani

"Idyllic stay at Qambani"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Stunning location, although not easy to find, without even a nameplate on the gate!

Beautifully designed interiors, and exteriors, luxurious and comfortable, an oasis of calm!

Staff very friendly and attentive, but also discreet, food was fabulous.

Although we were very undemanding guests, we felt that nothing would have been too much trouble!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team