This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge

Reviews of Matemwe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Matemwe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Marlow

"Matemwe Lodge review"

6 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"After 5 days' safari, standards of accommodation were not as high on Zanzibar. We found the room to be dark and slightly jaded, the quality of decorations basic, not the same level of attention to detail as in Selous e.g. quality of bed linen low, lights not working, fan only half working, body lotion in the hair conditioner bottle(!). However, the common areas were excellent - the pool, restaurant, bar area were extremely welcoming. Throughout the hotel, the service was excellent and you had the impression that the young staff were trying very hard to please.

We visited the local village and were shocked by the level of living conditions of the inhabitants. We were quite taken back by this and feel that it would be better to warn people in advance. I heard other guests saying they found it 'shocking' - I wouldn't go that far but I feel it would have been good to know what we could expect. It would not have put us off going but would have just made us aware. In addition, I think more should be made of the local community work carried out by the Matemwe Lodge which is excellent, despite the challenging conditions. We deliberately asked to visit the school and it was a memorable experience but we had wished we had taken something that we could have given them, like footballs or books.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs TD
SW London

"Matemwe Lodge: perfect to kick back and relax"

7 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"Matemwe Lodge is picture postcard. Set on the black coral coastline but with white sand beaches that feel like flour under your feet for miles in both directons, this is the architypal island hideaway. The sea views of azure blue waters are nothing short of spectacular.

And the team at Matemwe work very hard to make the most of their prized location. With good rooms (not that you spend much time in them other than sleeping) and nicely presented communal areas underpinning the place, the real success story are the ataff. Unendingly friendly and determined to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible they work tirelessly to help you make the most of your expereince. Whether that's the deliciouness of the food, the Swahili night to introduce you to a bit of the local culture, or the arranged activities, the effort is plain to see." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Richmond

"Matemwe Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"The brochure and website pictures do not match up with the reality! The place really needs an refurb. Our shower was worn out and sprayed water everywhere. Holes in mosquito nets. Mosquito coils not lit at night and no useable matches left to do it yourself. All looked a bit tired.

We took the guided walk of the town. This was poor. The guide hardly spoke any English and just took us to see the school and that was it.

Tried to arrange a boat trip to Mnemba - just told that we could have a boat to go to one of the resorts back down the coast - not very helpful. Not enough options.

Toilet in reception needed checking more regularly - ran out of paper / towels, etc. and not replaced even when I told them! Flowers were nice in the facility but should have been removed when dead.

Food very good and service very friendly." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Ms L & Mr DB
Oxshott

"Matemwe Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Extremely satisfied with this lodge.

However, the charges for excursions to other parts of the island were very high." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Rwanda; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Ashbourne

"Matemwe Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"Lighting in room could have been a lot better.

Food was very good quality, but sometimes a menu option had run out. On one occasion we did both have mild stomach upset (after BBQ).
Our purpose was to chill out so we did few activities (only reef walk). It was good because it was really quiet. Views of boats and fishing in the lagoon were great.

Staff were very helpful and informative." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2011
"Beautiful location, you could spend the whole day watching the scene from your bungalow as view changes with the tide, the dhows come and go and the villagers forage on the reef.

We were slightly disappointed that the beach is not really ideal for swimming or snorkelling. Even at high tide the sea was a seaweed soup and you have to watch out for a sharp reef and spiny sea urchins. Good activities, snorkelling near a local island, reef walking and sailing in a dhow.

Enjoyed being closer to the local population than while on safari." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Miss P
Avon

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

6 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2011
"This was a perfect place for us to visit after 4 days on safari.

The place is idyllic with white beaches and blue sea plus an amazing tide that goes right out during the day meaning you can actually walk out to the reef and enjoy seeing starfish, eels, crabs, etc. These walks are provided free by Matemwe's experienced guides who are very helpful and great fun too.

Everything is taken care of at Matemwe - all you have to do is relax and enjoy the sunshine - either by one of the two swimming pools or on one of the beaches. All food is provided and of great quality - with some of the best seafood we've ever had. Even though it is a buffet style there is such a great variety - prepared by a talented chef - that there is always something for everyone.

The staff are extremely helpful too. They can never do too much for you - even getting recipes from the chef for us - and are keen to make your experience as relaxing as possible. We even had Swahili lessons from a few of the team.

The Bungalows are on a working beach and Matemwe is a working fishing village so as you drive to the Bungalows you do pass through the local village - and the conditions that the local people conduct their lives in. Initially we felt a little guilty about going to enjoy ourselves when some locals are clearly struggling but this feeling dissipates when you find out the integration that Matemwe Bungalows has with the local village and investment they make in the area.

Some of the locals are employed as staff, there has been investment in local projects and you can also go on a village walk to meet some of the locals and interact with them. By showing respect and inetgrating with the local community there is a real sense that the money invested in the resort does actually help improve the local village too.

To summarise, we had an amazing honeymoon at a beautiful resort with helpful staff and fantastic food. Couldn't have asked for more.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs B
UK

"Relaxing wind down"

4 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2011
"Good reception from Jolene especially after the the uncomfortable last couple of miles over truly appalling roads.

Accommodation was wonderful with a perfect setting. Service was excellent.

Breakfast and lunch were always good but dinner was patchy and the barbecue food was poor. Internet service worked well. Good relaxing bar and ambience overall excellent.

Unfortunately the snorkelling trip was cancelled which we understand happens quite often." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
York

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2010
"luxurious place, were able to relax there, enjoyed the snorkelling trip.

The deep sea fishing seemed incredibly expensive so did not do, however I have not tried this before so have nothing to compare with" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms F
HollandPark

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 44
89%
44 reviews of Matemwe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
15
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel is comfortable, good-value, family-friendly beach lodge, with a lovely pool, secluded beach and good food.


95% (87 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat is one of the most exclusive lodges on Zanzibar, with four split-level villas each with their own veranda, sun terrace, plunge pool.


89% (9 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa