This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms L & Mr DB from Oxshott

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Rwanda and Tanzania

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 1 Sep 2011 and 20 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Good
"Generally happy with the whole trip, except for Swahili House

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I do not have any suggestions at present"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"there was a lot of noise from the open bar below our room at night as there were gaps in the patio doors.

Breakfasts were a disappointment."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"the staff were always ready to build fires in the room. Quality and variety of food could definitely be a lot better. Bar area is dark and uninviting.

Birding excellent around the lodge.

They supply a small kettle in the room but as there's no electricity from 1.30pm to 5pm, we're not able to enjoy any hot drinks!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun (formerly the Holiday Inn) review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"As we only spent a few hours sleeping at the hotel, I'm not able to give a more thorough review"
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Generally satisfied with this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"though we spent only a short time at the fly camp, we were happy with the service and the game drives"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"please refer to the previous review on this camp [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Matemwe Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Extremely satisfied with this lodge.

However, the charges for excursions to other parts of the island were very high."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Swahili House

Swahili House

"Swahili House review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Generally disappointed with this hotel. The room they gave us had no chairs in it as only the Sultan suites have chairs, tables, terrace and a view! Also the toilet did not work properly.

In a coffee producing country, nescafe was served at breakfast.

If I had been made aware I would have booked Emerson Spice, a lovely new hotel."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team