This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge

Reviews of Matemwe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Matemwe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
The P family
Herts

"White sands in paradise"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"A week on the beach at Matemwe"

7 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"Great staff, great food, comfortable accommodation all in a lovely spot." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Another unforgetable experience"

5 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2010
"The bungalow was excellent, comfortable and well fitted out. The bathroom was a palace. There was even coffe and tea making facilities in the bungalow which was a surprise. The two pools, bar and restaurant areas were in top class condition and the gardens were beautiful.

The place was a bit of a surprise being a bit off the beaten track yet all the facilities you could ask for. There was so much at Matemwe bungalows for so few guests that we felt very special.

The food was good however I think we had been spoilt having just come from Pole Pole where the food was out of this world. The bay has a lot of stones and sea urchins thus is not suitable for swimming except with shoes and then only in one or two sandy areas at high water.

With restricted sea access we were a bit concerned at the high price for a boat trip to the corral bank for snortelling and the trip for lunch on the sand bank was priced far too high in our opinion" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
E Susx

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

5 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2009
"This was a fantastic location for relaxing after our safari. The room (room 11) was nice and large, although didn't have the finish of a top-class resort (e.g. showers and bathroom), but we may have been spoiled after the &beyond lodges! They were a bit hot at times, even with the fan going. We particularly enjoyed the veranda area where we

We liked the snorkelling in easy reach on the Mnemba reef and felt as though the guides enjoyed it as much as we did. The snorkelling was made even better by a lucky encounter with a group of dolphins.

We would have liked more advance indication of the cost of activities - some of these seemed quite high, and it felt like we were a captive audience. We were also a little unfortunate in the timing of our visit, as due to the neap tides, some of the activities were unavailable for that week.

We thought the communal areas felt like they belong to a bigger resort, so it never felt crowded. The gardens were really beautiful and well maintained.

We would have liked a fridge in the room or the option to have drinks delivered as we found that the large bottles of water that were left for us did not stay cool for long, and it was a long walk to the bar.

The food always good, although there was an odd mix of buffet and waiter service. It wasn't always clear what the service would be each night. We really enjoyed the freshly made fruit juices from fruits we had never heard of before!

On our last night, the staff arranged a honeymoon dinner for the two of us, which was absolutely magical. This was a perfect end to our time at Matemwe." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M & Dr Y
Richmond

"Matemwe bungalows very relaxing"

5 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"We spent a very enjoyable 5 nights at Matemwe bungalows.

The room and its location were stunning and watching the sun rise each morning with the fishing boats going by was perfect. In hindsight 3-4 nights would have been ideal and as we were a little restless we opted to hire a car which the lodge helped us to do and at very reasonable cost. This was a great success and allowed us to see more of the island.

The lodge is very relaxed, the food was good and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed the reef walk and snorkelling over the Pemba reef. However, we felt other activities were relatively expensive hence the average rating. The beach by the lodge is lovely but the adjoining village beach has major sewage problems, which spoilt our walks along the beautiful coastline somewhat.

This is clearly not the fault of the lodge who are committed to helping the village and reminded us of the huge difference in living standards between the tourists and the locals." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Bristol

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

7 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"Matemwe was very comfortable, with excellent food and friendly staff. Its setting allows lovely views over the sea and reef , and I enjoyed watching the many fishing dhows going out early in the morning.

It is not possible to swim in the sea from the beach because of sea urchins and quite rough sea when the tide is up. When the tide was out , there are good walks along the beach and you can wade out to the reef ( carefully avoiding the sea urchins ).
To swim in the sea , we needed to go on a couple of excursions off the beach in the hotel's dhow. These were great fun ( although I thought they were quite expensive ). One was a snorkelling trip to Mnemba - excellent snorkelling with lots of fish. The other was a trip out to a white sandbank in the ocean, which was spectacularly beautiful , and where we also did some snorkelling and swam with dolphins.

We also went to Stone Town one day, which was very interesting ( in fact , I think if I had my time again , rather than 7 nights on the beach I would have a couple staying in Stone Town ).

One thing that did surprise me a bit was that Zanzibar was not as steamy hot as I had expected. This wasn't a problem ( it certainly wasn't cold ! ) , just a bit surprising. The Matemwe location is quite windy , especially in the second part of the afternoon ." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Ms D
NL

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Matemwe was very good all around. We wer particularly impressed that they organiozed a surprise romatic dinner for just us two in a candle lit grotto on the beach.

Our only downsdie was poor luck with weather - not much sun. One suggestion would to warn'advise your clients that there may be large numbers of sea urchins and that under no circumstance should enter the ocean barefoot. We didn't have any mishap but it could easily happen as they were very large in numbers.

Kitchen was very good" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2009
"thank you jessica for sorting the wine out! what happens when she leaves?

great days bad nights due to misplaced fan position" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms S
London

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2009
"Location and grounds very good for a relaxing break (albeit too far from, and therefore expensive to get to, Stone town if that was desirable). Quite "rustic" in feel which we found a positive advantage.

Staff and management very friendly and helpful (Sabine sat with her family at supper each evening and made an effort to get up and talk to everyone to make sure we were happy. She was also very open and honest about what she and her husband had taken on and were planning to improve). On one occasion other guests were playing music loudly and this was attended to quickly and diplomatically.

Beach and pool facilities were good. Village and reef visits were easily planned and well worth doing. We were welcome in the village with our guide. Had we had more time we would have taken the opportunity to do some other activities available from the "watersports" area inclduing dhow sailing and kayaking..

We were in one of the older style bungalows which was very spacious and was comfortable albeit the bathroom was adequate but uninviting. It could be better lit and the shower could be easily and cheaply improved with a better head. Maybe this is dealt with in the newer ones and will be done this Spring?

The bungalows being raised on a coral cliff away from the beach was good in terms of security.

Food of very good quality and a real effort made to make tasty menus. The dining room was attractive. We noticed when we got back, the website described coffee and cookies being delivered to your balcony daily but that wasn't done.

The only particular issue we had was that in the very strong wind the noise at night was disturbing and earplugs would have been welcome.

" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Eagle owls
Yorkshire

"Romance at Matewe"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"Our stay at this beautiful hotel was a wonderful restful contrast to the busy schedule of our safari.

The hotel had spacious and attractive rooms and the setting on the white beach with colourful gardens and a variety of exotic birds made it a romantic location.

The service was of the same standard that we had enjoyed at our previous stops, but the food was even better, with lots of fresh local fish." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 44
89%
44 reviews of Matemwe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
15
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel is comfortable, good-value, family-friendly beach lodge, with a lovely pool, secluded beach and good food.


95% (87 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat is one of the most exclusive lodges on Zanzibar, with four split-level villas each with their own veranda, sun terrace, plunge pool.


89% (9 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa