This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M from CambridgeHeath

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

1

Fantastic experience.

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 24 Jan 2018 and 17 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved every minute of our trip. A new day a new adventure. Superb accommodation, safaris, food and wines.
Loved Africa."

Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Large room, superb pool"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2018
"Very nice Hotel excellent room and restaurant. pool was large. Could have done with a full day to enjoy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Great location and room"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"The rooms were huge and had a fire , which we had lit before dinner. Able to dry clothes beside it and enjoy the warmth.
Hotel also cleaned and dried our shoes after trekking, this was very appreciated as we were very muddy.
The foot massage offered at end of hike was also excellent.
Good food and excellent service.
Lovely gardens as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Excellent Hotel"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2018
"Same as before. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Best Camp, best food"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2018
"This camp was exceptional. Superb, room, pool, and the most delicious food, with excellent salads and vegetables which are often missed when travelling.
Safaris were great, huge variation each day, our guide was superb. We loved our breakfasts in the wilderness.
Saw lots of game, Cheetahs, Lions, elephants etc.
Finished with a romantic dinner on our deck."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Great safaris"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2018
"A mobile camp with a very impressive tent. All one could want, hot showers, lounge, comfortable bed.
Also surprise cooked breakfast in the savannah. Surprise sundowner around a fire by a lake.
First lunch served under a tree with view of lake.
Asilia camps are so well run, thoughtful, excellent staff and food.
All day safari, with visit to Hidden valley a truly magical place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Peaceful, beautiful gardens"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2018
"We were very fortunate to be given the Zanzibar suite. Huge room.
Nice pool and gardens, it was good for a change of pace and to relax a little.
Food good. Room had a kettle so we could make our own tea."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Highlands

The Highlands

"Magic in the mountains"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2018
"Another excellent Asilia Camp. Cooler and high altitude. Tents were truly special, superb bathroom, beds, and view.
Good deck to enjoy afternoon sun.
Again excellent food and wine.
We enjoyed the visit to the Maasai village plus the two walks, first to Empakaai Crater Hike, (large lake), then to Olmatic Crater, where we walked to a waterfall.
It was so good to walk after all the safaris. Still the bumpy roads to get there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"On the edge of the sea"

5 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2018
"This had a very different feel to other Asilia camps.
The staff certainly weren't as friendly, but still very nice.
Rooms were again excellent, with a very enjoyable double hammock to relax on , looking over the sea.
Food not good at the weekend but improved dramatically from the Monday. A special Valentines dinner was set up on the beach, with seafood.
They had bikes but charged $20 to rent which we thought was wrong.
We did enjoy the kayaking. Snorkelling can only be done with a boat ride which they charged US$35 each. Not as impressive as I had thought it'd be.
Overall a very relaxing 5 days in very comfortable accommodation."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"Historic Hotel Emerson Spice"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"Old Merchant house, interesting but didn't feel clean.
We had a superb room (Kate), top floor (no lift), but two balconies, with great views.
Restaurant at the top had superb views of the town plus we had the 5 course dinner which was excellent.
Very noisy mosques at 5am."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Jan 2018 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 5 Jan 2018 and 23 Jan 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was an amazing experience.

We loved Namibia for its variation in Landscape and friendly people.

Etosha has as much game life as Botswana.

We'd rate Wilderness Safaris as a much better, organisation than Kwando, in terms of better accommodation, better staffing, better food and wine. The airstrips always had toilets and drinks waiting. Kwando nothing.

Namibia is a must."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galton House

Galton House

"comfortable overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 5 Jan 2018
"Perfectly comfortable for an over night stay in Windhoek. Good bathroom, clean, comfortable beds.

We went out to eat at Joes Cafe and Jacks. Both good."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2018
"In the middle of the Sossusvlei Desert, magnificent sand dunes everywhere.

The room was great with deck out the front to look over the plains. You could sleep on the roof outside, which one of us did, for a lovely experience of seeing the stars.

Very good service and friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2018
"There were 3 of us and we were given a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment, everything was retro and a lot of the old furniture from the fifties. In keeping with the style of the building and era. Good breakfast, kettle in room. Walking distance to town and restaurants.

We did an enjoyable drive along the beaches and sand dunes.

We enjoyed Swakopmund, it was peaceful, full of old German architecture, nice beach, good feeling."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Fun, exhilarating."

9 Jan 2018 • All-day excursion

Burger was a local from German decent, as a lot of the people are in Swakopmund.

He was interesting and certainly got our adrenaline going in some of the descents in the sand dunes.

Good lunch provided.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Beautiful people"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2018
"This camp had the most welcoming staff. The Damara people the locals from this area we found very hospitable.

Room was superb and we were able to roll our bed outside so we could sleep under the stars.

One night dinner was a BBQ served out in the desert, a magnificent setting.

Good wine anything we wanted was of no problem and the singing was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"spectacular water hole"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2018
"The room was large with a desk and armchair and great bed.
Kettle and water provided.
Plenty of wild life, on arrival while at lunch a Giraffe came to the waterhole 20 metres away.
Comfortable relaxing area.
Disharmony and unhappiness among the staff.
Our guide was good and we saw much wildlife.
We really loved Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Stop over Hotel"

1 night Arrived 14 Jan 2018
"As before [Ed: see below]"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Excellent Location"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2018
"Excellent location to falls. Rooms very good, lovely colonial looking Hotel.

Breakfast excellent.

Absolutely no need to spend on more expensive Hotel. We went for high tea at Victoria Falls Hotel, which was good but I preferred the look of Ilala Lodge.

Discovered a great cafe called Wild horizon cafe. Looked over the Zambezi river and also the bridge linking Zimbabwe and Zambia. Ate dinner while the sunset.

Anything good cafe was the Three monkeys."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Magnificent rooms"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2018
"We would have loved to have time to enjoy the room. Huge, elegant and looking over water with Hippos.

We didn't manage to see so much wild life here.

Staff very friendly.

Beautiful boat ride among the Hippos, with sunset drinks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Run down, magnificent wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2018
"Rather run down and staff appeared tired.

Fantastic safaris, we saw so many animals and birds.

Saw a Baboon steal a jar of peanut butter, so funny."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Kalahari. Dry"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"All the camps in Botswana where dry, they had very little rain so far.

This camp the guide tried very hard to find wild life but hard because of dryness.

Nice room, a bit hot. All camps had great beds. All you had to take any electrical devices to central office to charge.

Pleasant staff nice outside evening fire."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team