This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp

Reviews of Jongomero Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jongomero Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jongomero Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

40% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

20% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Cambridge

"TRYING TOO HARD - CLINICAL"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2016
"It is hard to separate lodges from locations, as although much more game here than Sand Rivers I would not recommend the lodge. The hosts are very 'professional'. The manner the chef announces dinner is very grand and serious. Its their way, but not for us. The lunches here were better than Sand Rivers, dinners OK.
Tsetse flies do spoil some of the drives, smoke blows across photos from burning elephant dung, and also affects eyes, especially when you stop. Although they vehicles go off roads, compared to other more central lodges in Ruaha we saw more animals in the Kwahala camp, that may be why the camps are placed there?
Zipped tents - good accommodation -" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
MW&JS
UK

"Hotel in the Bush"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"I would not normally stay in such a luxurious camp as Jongomero provides. I prefer a more 'wilderness experience' .Although very remote with no possibility of seeing other vehicles , Jongomero is more like a professional hotel in the bush than a true bush camp where the main focus is firmly on the quality of the wilderness experience that comes from superlative and flexible guiding.
.
My main reason this time for combining a stay at Jongomero with my favourite camp of all time in Kwihala, was because last October my daughter and I enjoyed an amazing whole day out to the western part of Ruaha in the vicinity of Jongomero and beyond.
The different scenery , varied habitats, plants and wildlife , especially the upper reaches of the Ruaha River ,the miombo woodlands and above all the Makindi Springs area, , convinced me to stay at the only camp in this part of the park.

It was most unfortunate therefore that the long rains had been particularly heavy this year ,such that the very areas I wanted to visit were still unreachable and to cap it all uncontrolled bush fires nearer camp prevented us accessing the roads that were otherwise driveable .
But all of this was clearly out of the control of Jongomero camp.
It is very true that the camp is well run ,if a little formal .The 'tents' are very large and luxurious ,well positioned with hot water available pretty much all the time and the food consistent with city-style fine dining -to the extent of sugar work on the crème caramel -in the bush!
While there was communal dining at lunchtimes,guests dined separately at breakfast and dinner. This limited time to exchange stories and adventures among guests and staff, which for me is an essential safari experience that I missed. . Pre-dinner drinks (not included) were taken in the bar area and not around a convivial fire -such a shame.
As a solo traveller however Chris ,Sam or Theo ensured I had good company at dinner. A nice touch.
When I discovered the first game drive didn't start until 8am instead of 6 or 6.30am, the reason given was that there were not many animals about that early so I didn't pursue the matter ,which I regretted .
While there was opportunity to linger and watch interesting wildlife ,nevertheless the morning game drives were always back by 12 noon on the dot . I knew not to expect the same level of wildlife in this area or so early in the season but even so the game was sparse. However the butterfly ,flowers and birdlife and scenery were really very good .I enjoyed sitting on my veranda before breakfast and watching the sun rise behind my tent and touch and warm the trees on the opposite side of the dry river bed .
My guide Theo ,who I was lucky enough to have to myself on 3 occasions ,proved very responsive and indulged my request to spend time to make a confident identification. Indeed when the game drives proved a little thin and frankly a bit monotonous he was amenable to my suggestion of having a birding session for an hour or so in camp .We sat on a sand bar with binoculars and book, enjoying what flew past and on the look out for elusive green pigeon. We invented a sitting safari to make the most of what was on offer.

On reflection I think that Jongomero would appeal especially to couples or small groups who value the time to spend together in luxury ,as much as, if not more than the wildlife itself .



" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr Farrier
UK

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Generally this camp was excellent, but unfortunately the guide was not quite as good as he could have beeen" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
WMD

"Jongomero excellent camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2015
"We found the tetsi flies rather aggravating in this area, the level of accomadation was excellent as was Siwandu.." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nomad Aristocrat
NL

"Great location, nice camp and staff"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"Jongomero is well located away from other camps and enjoys some quiet isolation. It's (dry) riverside location assures an ongoing parade of various animals as they use the open area of the riverbed.

The camps straddles the line between elegance, luxury and rustic quite well, but it all depends on the perspective. For the more adventurous there is fly camping, which in our opinion and experience was the best part of being there! Best to do at least 2 nights in the fly camp for the best experience.

The couple managing the place, Chris and Sam are very nice, friendly and easy going. The walks we did in conjunction with fly camping were pleasant and informative, covering a nice variety of terrain. One of the highlights for us was our assigned guide for the duration of our stay, Theo who drove us on all game drives. He is a great guy, friendly and knowledgeable, a good judge of character able to relate to his guests in a way most suitable to their personalities and preferences." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JA
New York

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2015
"Leonard our Guide, was fantastic!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Nottingham

"Our Favourite!"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2015
"Jongomero Camp exceeded all expectations, we were sad to leave! Staying here really does feel as though you have Ruaha National Park to yourselves.

The friendliness of all the staff here is very welcoming, the tents are huge, well equipped and with great views and the food is excellent both in quality and variety. Special thanks go to the camp manager's Sam and Chris, particularly for those small touches personalised to us for our honeymoon and also to our guide Theo who was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour.

Visiting at the beginning of July the camp wasn't quite full and we had the benefit of private safari drives every time which was a nice touch as the managers could have easily chosen to pair up couples into one vehicle." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Michelle Chandler
USA

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"Our first safari experience at Jongomero Camp in Ruaha National park will be hard to beat! The staff of Jongomero was wonderfully attentive to our every need...even those unknown needs. They anticipated EVERY possible need we would have during our 4 day/3 night stay.

Chris and Sam are AWESOME managers with a wealth of knowledge of every aspect of the area. Our guide, Leonard, made sure we saw EVERY animal possible and most on every game drive we saw something new each time! It was breathtaking and words cannot describe how perfect every aspect was covered. From seeing a family of lions, to the leopard in the Baubab tree, and every other possible creature, it was perfectly amazing!

The camp was 5 star plus in amenities with the staff on standby for our EVERY need, at every moment. Every meal the food was amazing! The setting for every dinner was in a different location which was phenomenal!

Thank you to Expert Africa for making the process for this once in a lifetime trip for my family done with ease and worry free!" See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E family
Houston

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"My family had a wonderful time at Jongomero camp. Everyone was very helpful, and went out of their way to provide a memorable experience.

The managers were always on hand, and our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about the wildlife. Weather was perfect: cool in the evenings and not too hot in the daytime. Food was excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr I
Northumberland

"Beautiful Jongomero"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2014
"Jongomero, a very different place to Lake Manze both in style and situation. It really is a beautiful camp, the accommodation is first class and the food is just lovely. Again nothing was too much trouble for the staff, everything was done with good humour and great attention to detail. Unfortunately due to the rains, everywhere was very green which made it difficult to see the game but our guide Theo did everything he could to maximise our chances of seeing things. There were wild dog and lion around close by as we could see from the fresh spoor, and from the lion calls during the night, but the very thick vegetation meant it proved too difficult to see them. Again it would be lovely to go back to Jongomero, but I think the area would be much better visited during the dry season ." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 44
96%
44 reviews of Jongomero Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa