This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs S from Northants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

A Sublime return to Africa

Tanzania between 20 Jun 2017 and 6 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The difference in climate and ecology and activities between our three camps made for a very satisfactory holiday.

Your advice when discussing the trip was sound.

All arrangements were as we expected. We had a wonderful time and can`t wait to return.


Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

In our opinion you provide a first class specialist travel service.

We have always been delighted with the holidays you have arranged for us and no doubt we will be back for more !!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"A beautiful secluded camp situated on the banks of a sand river up which elephants roamed every afternoon.Spotlessly clean and spacious accommodation. in canvas tents under thatch with lovely hard wood floors. Food very tasty and staff very ( perhaps a little over) attentive.

The managers Chris and Sam were very friendly and approachable but we felt that they could do more to integrate the guests. We still do not like separate dining and their way of keeping everyone apart is ridiculous when there are only a few people staying. We were given very little opportunity to talk to anyone else however we did know that this was their policy before we went so were prepared for it.

We were assigned our own guide, Allen, for the whole stay. He was good company very experienced and showed and taught us a lot but it reenforced the separation of guests.

Ruaha was beautiful and we had excellent sightings of lion, leopard, lesser Kudu and many new birds"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"3rd time at Beho Beho"

6 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2017
"This is still our favourite lodge in Africa and we have experienced quite a few over the years, We received a very warm welcome from Phil and Tricia the managers and all the staff who remembered us from previous visits. It was like returning home.

The Selous was glorious. It had recently rained and everywhere was green and dotted with flowers. Clouds of butterflies took off around every corner. It was our first time at that time of the year and the contrast with the dry season was what we had hoped for. We expected to see less game as there was water everywhere but with our expert guides we saw so much. The highlight was a pack of Wild Dogs on our penultimate morning. They had been seen in the area the previous week but proved elusive until that day. They came streaming over the hill in the morning sunlight with blood on their muzzles. What a sight. We were thrilled after thirty years of looking !!

We went out with all the guides in turn who are first class. They each have their own specialities and interests but their general knowledge is excellent. We had two lovey trips out on Lake Tagalala which made a good contrast to the game drives

We love the family atmosphere at Beho Beho. Everyone drinks and eats together to discuss the day`s events and exchange experiences. A rumour was doing the rounds that at Beho Beho "they dress for dinner"!! This is not true. However we always showered and put on different clothes after the evening game drive as did most others.

Standards of food and accommodation remain as high as ever under Tricia`s watchful eye and she and Phil run a very efficient and professional lodge.

We love it and hope to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Restful Ras Kutani"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"After ten days of early morning starts on safari Ras Kutani is the perfect place to relax. Ideally situated overlooking a lagoon and the beach, one is lulled to sleep by the waves of the Indian Ocean. Nothing much to do but read eat and sleep.

As part of the same group as Jongomero, they have the same policy of separate dining. However the managers hold twice weekly cocktail parties and introduce all the guests to each other which keeps the atmosphere much more relaxed and friendly.

A highlight was a hatching of turtles from a nest down the beach. About 120 baby turtles bubbled up out of the sand and scuttled down to the sea.

The chef was celebrating 25 years at Ras Kutani and we have to say his food was probably the best of the whole holiday.

Transfer by air is well worth the extra cost."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Sep 2015 trip

Tanzania between 14 Sep 2015 and 28 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall a wonderful holiday.

All arrangements were to our satisfaction and as promised.

We can`t wait to go again. Beho Beho in the "green season" is a distinct possibility"

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Warm Welcome at Lake Manze Camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"Manze fulfilled our desire for a rustic safari experience such as we had in the past. Having said that the it certainly catered for our every need

We received a very warm welcome from Sean and Milly who were excellent hosts throughout our stay. They sat with guests at all meals and were always around to see us off and greet us home from our travels.

We were assigned our own driver and guide who were very well trained and informative. Their eyesight and ability to find game was amazing.

The tents were very comfortable and the solar electric fan was a boon.

The food throughout was of a high standard and all the camp staff were friendly and helpful.

We loved the communal dining and meeting folk from all over the world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Return to Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"After 10 years this superlative camp has got even better...if that is possible. There were new faces but still the same high standards. The swimming pool area has been upgraded. There is WiFi in every banda and solar power has been installed.

Phil and Tricia were attentive hosts and good company. Under their leadership the lodge ran like clockwork with very attentive staff.

The guiding at Beho Beho is second to none. The three Tanzanian guides were not only well educated in all aspects of the flora and fauna of the Selous but were delightful and amusing company too.

We love the family atmosphere that has been created at Beho Beho. It was a shame that for most of our stay we were the only true guests.

The food was wonderfully varied but on occasions a little too much for our elderly digestive systems!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Restful Ras Kutani"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"A lovely ending to our holiday. Peace and quiet by the ocean. Nothing to do but read eat and sleep. Marvellous.

The rooms were spacious and well designed cooled by the sea breeze. Food and service were first class. Leo and Frankie have created a very relaxing laid back environment which was perfect after a more hectic safari life.

The road transfer from Dar to Ras Kutani was slow and bumpy and we were delayed by an accident. Not really to be reccommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Amazing Namibia

Namibia and 1 other country between 20 Sep 2008 and 6 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous holiday with all arrangements working like clockwork. We can't wait to contact you again to organise another memorable African journey.

Suggestions for improvement:

Nobody does it better!!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Warm welcome at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"Great start to a holiday. Friendly helpful staff. Good food and service. Bed very comfortable after a long night flight.

Highly recommended for an overnight stay. We met some like minded travellers in the bar before dinner and the staff happily pushed tables together so we could continue our conversation during the meal."
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Luxury at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"We were lucky enough to be upgraded to The Villa and had the best accommodation we have ever had in the bush. One wonders if such luxury is strictly necessary but having said that we enjoyed every aspect of it !!

We occupied the North Suite which was the biggest and best of all the rooms with wonderful views. Anja Johann and their staff gave us superb service and wonderful food.The work and achievements of the Africat Foundation in their rescue and rehabilition programme was carefully explained and demonstrated to us by Johann on our excursions around the reserve and we had some excellent close encounters with leopards, cheetahs, hunting dogs and hyenas.

At night the water hole in front of the Villa attracted porcupines, honey badgers, a genet and a giant eagle owl. Our last morning was spent on a lovely walk on which we were given insight into Bushman crafts. A memorable two nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Etosha`s great . Shame about the restcamp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"The new rooms are at first sight very good with modern furniture and state of the art bathrooms. There were three showers a bath and two washbasins but not a drop of hot water.

The rooms become quite claustrophobic after a while as they are fenced in on both sides by 8ft high palings.

There appear to be two restaurants, a Grill and an African Fusion Bistro. However it became apparent that there was one menu and one kitchen serving the same food in each.

The shops were poor with very surly staff. The grocery store was practically empty and could not be relied upon for picnics, barbecues or stamps. We were very pleased that we had stocked up in the nearest town.

The staff at the main gate and in the office were very offhand and not at all concerned about the water situation. The only smiles we got were from the willing waiters and waitresses.

Overall immpression ; you are here so take it or leave it. Having said that Etosha`s waterholes were as good as ever and we saw lots of game all day everywhere."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Oasis by the River."

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"What a pretty camp and a great surprise. After a long dusty journey we arrived to a warm and jolly welcome from Eddy and Yvonne.

Our accommodation was a rondavel set in pretty gardens overlooking the river. The room had aircon. a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities and was very comfortable. There was a lovely swimming pool and a welcoming bar. We went on a sundowner champagne cruise with Louis and saw lots of birds and local people going about their daily tasks.

Some neighbours dropped in for a drink and it was interesting to hear about their lives before the chef cooked us excellent steaks on the braai. As we were interested in birds Louis took us for an early morning walk which was very productive. This is a delightful lodge and we could easily have stayed longer in its relaxed and friendly atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Classic Safari Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2008
"Tented accommadation in classic rustic style but with plumbing and electricity.The bathrooms could do with a little upgrading but were all that was needed.

Pleasant welcome and introduction to the camp. Horst was a very congenial host assissted by the amiable and laid back Chris. A small swimming pool and well stocked bar completed the scene.Food was good and served around one or two big tables depending on how many guests were present.

We had two good boat trips with the knowledgable Erasmus and an excellent game drive with Horst. Another gem !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Great Lodge. Shame about the Management"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"We went to Camp Kwando with some reservations as we had read adverse reviews about it. We determined to keep an open mind but soon had to agree with what has already been said.

The camp is beautiful and in a fabulous spot overlooking the Kwando River. We were met by the receptionist, Constance, who showed us to our tree house and explained about the generator and meal times. No offers to help with our luggage were made (up some very steep stairs). We asked if we could join an evening activity and she said we could go on the boat in half an hour. As we were rushing to shower and change she came back and said we couldn`t go as it was full and the game drive had already gone. The first time we have ever been refused an evening activity, ever, in a camp.

At no time did a member of the management staff ever approach us to introduce themselves or enquire if everthing was OK. There seemed to be little communication between the African staff and the white management. The African staff were willing but had limited English so requests were not passed on.

As the guests moved from the bar to the dining room the managers would then have their drinks and as we came to the end of our meal so they would come to their exclusive table in the dining room. At no time were we asked if we wished to sit with other people and when we requested it one mealtime it seemed to put them out.

We were introduced to the game guide, John, (by another guest) ,who doubled as the barman. We said how much we were looking forward to the morning game drive with him. However in the morning he left wthout us and another couple because of misinformation from a manager.

We have never stayed in a lodge or a camp where the managers took so little notice of the guests and everone commented on it.To the end of our stay we had no idea of their names or function and some of them would pass by on the path and ignore us. It reminded us of a stay in a big city hotel. Not what you expect in a small game lodge.

One last point We felt that in a lodge of this quality a bedside light would have been nice. We feel that Kwando has great potential with a different management style."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

"Chobe Cruising"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"As there was not room for us to stay in the lodge itself for two nights we were booked onto the houseboat for the first night. What an absolute delight. To cruise down the Chobe river, drink in hand in complete luxury and relaxation was pure magic. We had an airy double cabin with en suite showeroom with big windows at water level. Up on deck was a sitting area, bar, dining area and plunge pool.

Eiight of us were looked after by Ernest and his lovely crew and nothing was too much trouble for them. As night fell and all the other boats disappeared home we were left under the stars with elephants playing nearby and hippos grunting. We could have stayed there for a week.

However back on land we were warmly welcomed by Ralph and his staff and had a lovely stay at the lodge. We tried very hard to catch some Tiger fish but the big ones got away. We will just have to go back. Ralph was a great raconteur and kept us all amused round a large table for dinner. Lovely rustic lodge on a quiet (except for the water over the rapids) backwater where we watched otters playing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Luxury on the Zambezi"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"Tongabezi`s reputation goes before it. We have known quite a few people who have stayed her over the years and it lived up to expectations.

We were warmly greeted and introduced to our personal valet who showed us to our cottage. Lovely rooms overlooking the mighty Zambezi with everything one could want. We were shown the central area offered drinks and lunch. The activities manager went through the list of possibilities with us and drew up a programme for our stay.

As it was very low water and we had seen the Falls many times before we decided to give that a miss. We had a game drive, had a sundowner cruise and a a picnic lunch on an island in the middle of the river. Once again we tried our luck with the elusive Tigers but not one bite did we have.

Tongabezi was a perfect end to our trip. Once again the staff were very attentive, the food was good and the company congenial. We were given the option to eat alone or on a guest table. After dinner one night the staff sang to us which was beautiful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team