This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C from Cambridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

TANZANIA TO ZANZIBAR

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 14 Jun 2016 and 6 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"By ignoring the Zanzibar 5 nights I can leave the trip at Very Satisfactory. While agreeing we needed a rest after all the early starts, 3 days here would have been more than enough, though in truth it was completely the wrong call."

Feedback response

We were sorry to hear that this traveller did not enjoy their trip as much as they could have done. We have spoken to them at length to ascertain precisely why and in hindsight, a shorter stay on Zanzibar would have been preferable.


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"FLY CAMPING A MUST"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"great host, and a lot of work for him until his partner joins later in year. Relaxed atmosphere, wonderful location. For us the buffet lunches were better than the more 'casserole' dinners. A bit too safe.
The fly camping was the highlight, beautiful, magical evening with shooting stars and gin!
I guess the rooms could do with a small uplift, just starting to look a little tired.
River trip also a pleasant change.
Game drives disappointing due to scarce wildlife, and some of what we saw was very skittish due to hunting over river and poaching. We were luck in seeing 2 elephants, others saw none during their stay, and no lions."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

"TRYING TOO HARD - CLINICAL"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2016
"It is hard to separate lodges from locations, as although much more game here than Sand Rivers I would not recommend the lodge. The hosts are very 'professional'. The manner the chef announces dinner is very grand and serious. Its their way, but not for us. The lunches here were better than Sand Rivers, dinners OK.
Tsetse flies do spoil some of the drives, smoke blows across photos from burning elephant dung, and also affects eyes, especially when you stop. Although they vehicles go off roads, compared to other more central lodges in Ruaha we saw more animals in the Kwahala camp, that may be why the camps are placed there?
Zipped tents - good accommodation -"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"GREAT CAMP"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"Tam, the host is exceptional. Different staff announced evening menus, in informal, fun way. Food was good. Tents were more than adequate. Location great.

Great guides and they really tried to find the animals people wanted to see. The day we left the morning drive found pack of dogs, knowing I wanted to see them, they radioed back and a driver took me out, but we missed them. That was really good of them, as they need not have told us, as we were leaving for flight

Got the balance right between individuals and groups and kept smooth running of drives and camp. I should have added on the Jongamer one that it seemed we were always rushing back because it was meal times, and could not be late. Here and other camps they were less stressed, and 5-10 or 15 minutes after curfew was fine, as everyone met for drinks before dinner anyway."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"The Extra Mile"

5 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2016
"Wonderful location, wonderful guides and wonderful manager and staff.. One point, I was nervous about walking safari and agreed with husband I'd do it here due to Zim Pro guides, only to find out they no longer exist there. While I have absolutely no concerns having now done the walk I did have serious wobbles.

Your hotel info needs updating.

The 'little extras' they do - eg heard husband loved fried food, so often little fried sun downer nibbles. Heard I'd missed the dogs, and they tried all areas of park and last night we struck lucky and I saw 6.

Tree house is phenomenal - BBQ dinner etc and 5* breakfast.

Also the lake trip - with the surprise 5* breakfast is also a highlight. The only slight downside is that husband is quite deaf and that's why we sometimes choose to have dinner on separate table as lots of 'background' means he can't hear anything - this is not allowed here, but was fine, as there was a max of 2 other guests!. if it had been full it would have been difficult at times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"TOO BIGGER GAP FROM PREVIOUS ACC."

5 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"A breakdown in communication between you and us, as this is far too bigger drop from previous accommodation.
First impressions - damp smell, especially in luggage room.
Generally tired cushions and soft furnishings.
Garden outside seaview accommodation had not bee cleared and generally around rooms as cut back and left - loads of brown leaves and general tidy up not being done.
New manager, Martien apparently the Dutch couple mentioned again in your hotel information no longer go there- they've gone home to Netherlands, although one son was there as he's schooling in Arusha.
Far too remote, nowhere to walk to apart from a litter strewn village. Although I knew it was quiet, this was far to run down and alone - felt imprisoned. In the time we were there 4 people came for 2 nights - other than that it was empty. Taxi trips everywhere if you wanted trips. I don't think the windy weather helped, as it prevented snorkelling, but even so, we'd have not done that everyday."
Poor
Location
Terrible
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2016
"short stay, but efficient, good quiet rooms and near airport. Modern and clean"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team