This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs H from Berks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2012 trip

Tanzania between 12 Jan 2012 and 22 Jan 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip - good time to see birds in breeding plumage but not the best time for animals - we had 3/4 wet days in Ruaha. We had been warned about this by Expert Africa so was not a problem

All the pick ups and itinerary arrangement worked like clockwork - which is quite an achievement in Africa

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Could you add Ethiopia to your destinations?"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala - better than ever"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2012
"Friendly and well run. Particulary appreciated having a guide allocated to us for the whole trip and we did not have new guests joiining in part way (which means that the guide inevitably repeats information we have already heard).

Breakfast in the bush is fun plus the mix of game drives and boat trips. Our guide Mokili was young but very enthusiastic and keen to please and his bird identification was good."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

"Jongomero Camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2012
"Camp is very well run - tents are spacious and comfortable with great views. Food excellent - location rather remote so you feel you have Ruaha to yourself - which is both good and bad - as animals are not so used to the vehicles and tend to run away and there is not the bush telegraph between giudes to share sightings of animals.

Guiding was OK but we did repeat the route twice and heard the same information several times."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Serena Hotel (was Royal Palm)"

1 night Arrived 21 Jan 2012
"Good location as not too far from airport. Purports to be a 4/5 star hotel BUT In the room neither the kettle or TV worked.

We ordered room service breakfast before an early start to the airport) and it was late arriving."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average

Tanzania trip 2009

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 15 Oct 2009 and 22 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"My third trip to Tanzania and Selous with Expert Africa.

The reserve is beautiful and relatively quiet - with plenty of animals and birds to see. Impala camp is well run, friendly and has an appropriate level of comfort and facilities for a bush holiday.

Thanks Claire for once again, understanding our needs and helping us plan the trip.

We will be back!

Suggestions for improvements:

Consider extending the countries you cover - I'd love to visit Ethiopia...."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"four day safari at Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"An excellent camp for our needs, relaxed and friendly. We liked very much the dining arrangements, where each group had their own table, rather than the communal dining arrangements found in most camps. It is nice to be able to be sociable if you want to, at the bar, but to have your own company for meals.

The main winner for me was having a guide allocated to us for the whole of our stay and going out as our own small party (of 3) rather than being mixed with other groups staying. this meant thatt the guides knew what we had seen and knew what our interests were and could tailor the bush drives to us.

The guides were all local and well informed with good english.

Location excellent - being by the river added to the breadth of experience, plenty of close contact with animals in the camp!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team