This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Worcs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2019 trip

Tanzania between 2 Aug 2019 and 17 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was excellent. Our thanks go to Claire Scott who really listened to what we wanted and selected excellent locations for us."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"It was a good stopover in Dar Es Salaam.

Nothing special, but it was clean and friendly and was perfectly OK for an overnight stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Great hospitality"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"The hospitality and the set up at the camp was great. It was really good that we had separate tables at mealtimes because we do not like forced 'getting to know people'. However, the camp did try to force us to get to know other people which was a bit irritating.

The wildlife was not brilliant here. Everything else - the service, the camp, the food etc was great. However, I am not sure we would recommend it because there were long drives without seeing anything."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

"Wonderful location"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"This was a great camp. The location was great, and the wildlife sightings were numerous.

The staff were really friendly, and it was great that we had individual tables and were not forced to socialise. The camp was almost empty so we had our own private guide, which was an unexpected bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"So relaxing!"

4 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2019
"This was a lovely place. The staff were very friendly, but also did not intrude.

It was so relaxing - we spent lots of time on our balcony just gazing at the sea and doing not a lot. We also went snorkeling and saw lots of amazing underwater life.

Strongly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent trip

Zambia between 7 Aug 2013 and 19 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was excellent. Eleanor Dunkels had given us excellent advice. On a number of occasions we commented how the order of the different parts of the trip was just right. Going to Kaingo before Bushcamp was a great order as we had never been on safari before - I think we needed the 'stepping stone' of Kaingo before going right into the bush. Going to the Victoria Falls after safari was just right - some rest and relaxation after the safari. Cannot fault anything.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
No - everything was excellent"

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Amazing African Experience"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"Kaingo was amazing. On our drive from the airport we saw so much (including a leopard eating an impala in a tree, with a hyena sitting below waiting for scraps!). Our guide, Yorum, who was our guide for our time at Kaingo and Mwamba was excellent. As well as helping us to spot animals he told us so much, and helped us to track animals by recognising their footprints and dung! The safari drives were brilliant. Yorum listened to what we wanted to see, and tried his hardest to find it.

The food is fantastic - lots of it and an excellent quality. Izzy and Yvonne made us very welcome, and we really enjoyed everything about the camp. Although there was the need to mix over dinner and breakfast, having lunch on our decks was a welcome break - and a time to just be the four of us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Great safari at Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2013
"The Bushcamp was in a fantastic location - we walked there from Kaingo, and as we approached Mwamba it was amazing to think we would be staying there. As with Kaingo, the food and hospitality were brilliant. It was especially good to keep the same guide (Yorum) for the two camps. Not only was he brilliant, but it meant that he knew what we had already seen and had already been told about.

The drives were great. Highlights were seeing lions with their young cubs. The camp felt a 'real' bush experience - especially the night we were all woken by the hyenas howling just outside our door! Cannot fault the camp at all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Rest and relaxation"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"After a week of safari it was very nice to relax in the sumptuous surroundings of the hotel. The location is amazing, and sundowners on the deck were a great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was preparing for a major conference, and there was a certain amount of preparation work for that going on - but it was kept out of the way as much as possible.

We did travel over to Zimbabwe to see the falls from that side - and we strongly recommend that. It does require some negotiation of African customs and immigration, but that in itself is an interesting experience!! It did not seem that there was anyone arranging trips over, but that added to the interest - working it all out ourselves was a good challenge. Someone who is less confident might want to find out more about the procedure before going.

We also did the Jet Extreme boating experience at Victoria Falls. The kids loved the extreme of the boating, but what was particularly interesting was the drive through the villages to get there and stopping at the Chiefs house!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Overnight stop before flying home"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"The stay at the Taj Pamodzi was a practical necessity - because of the timings of our flights. The hotel was fine - nothing special, but it met our needs. It was interesting to see a little of Lusaka as we drove from the airport, and the contrast with Mfuwe was very interesting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team