This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr. N from Germany

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2021 trip

Tanzania between 5 Mar 2021 and 23 Mar 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"An incomparable vacation. Nothing can top it and from now on every safari can only be a downgrade. Why? Because I want to enjoy the animals and nature in peace. This is never possible in normal times because then at every animal observation several vehicles surround the animals. In this vacation I have seen in five different camps a total of fewer vehicles than usual in one day.

Who does not care will certainly have a nice experience otherwise. But then I can also go to a zoo."

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Image alt

Hamerkop House

"Hamerkop House review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2021
"A great and extremely quiet place to start or end your safari (also wonderful just to relax). The house is beautiful and very clean and is located between Kilimanjaro Int. Airport and Arusha Airport. For golfers, a little paradise...for everyone else, too.

The staff makes you feel at home and provides great service. My room was huge, very large bedroom, incredible bath (outdoor shower etc.). The food was completely prepared according to my wishes and very tasty. No wish remains unfulfilled.

I would definitely come again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

"Lemala Mpingo Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2021
"Lemala Mpingo Ridge is located along a hill overlooking the national park. The drive from the airstrip in Tarangire NP is not short, nevertheless this is not a problem, because there is always something to observe. On the last meters to the camp, some slippery rocks have to be overcome, but then a dreamlike camp is reached.


The tents (not comparable with normal safari tents) have been wonderfully fitted into the hilly landscape and are far apart (quiet but partly a few minutes walk from the main building). The tents are very comfortable and still offer a bit of the safari feeling with the luxury of a normal hotel room (e.g. minibar, hairdryer, tea and coffee maker etc.). A perfect combination of luxury and naturalness.


The main building is wonderfully furnished and divided. There are many different areas, so guests can spread out widely. As a single traveler, I almost had a different area to eat. The food is varied, tastes great, and so plentiful that you always eat more than you should.

The entire staff is very friendly and conveys a family atmosphere. All wishes are fulfilled, and I had the feeling that the guest is really welcome here and comes first.

Game viewing is always dependent on luck. I basically expect nothing and always had a special experience on all days. Of course, you want to see elephants in Tarangire NP. They have made themselves a little rare this time. But as I said, there is always something special to discover.

Guiding I can not evaluate representative, because I had my own guide and then a different relationship arises than with different people in a vehicle. In addition, I was almost alone in the park because of Corona. This is also not comparable with "normal times".

To make it short:

Positive: almost everything
Negatives:
Tsetse fly, depending on the season
However, if you like it more pristine, this is not the place for you. But it is a place where this attitude could be changed.

I would definitely come again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

"Lemala Mara-Ndutu review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2021
"Lemala Ndutu Mobile Camp is very close to everything the Ndutu area has to offer during migration. For a mobile camp, Lemala Ndutu offers many amenities and the tents are sufficiently comfortable. The large public areas are also well equipped and provide a casual area to relax and overlooking the evening campfire.

This camp is the perfect base for viewing wildlife on their migration. Due to the proximity to the lake, many birds can also be seen. Miles of wildebeest and zebra herds, lion hunting, vultures and hyenas fighting for food, yes there is a lot to see...and more.

The staff was very helpful. As in the other Lemala camps, I just have to be there and everything else was done immediately. If you like this, you will not be disappointed.

My guide Robert has always tried to find the right place to photograph with the right light. In the sighting of lions and cheetahs hunting, he knew in advance where we had to go.

I was completely alone in the camp for one day (on other days, there were only two other guests). Nevertheless, the food was varied, plentiful (too much) and tasted very good to me.

For the Ndutu Area, I can recommend the Camp. For the Mara Area, I prefer a permanent camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

"Lemala Nanyukie review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2021
"Lemala Nanyukie Camp is about one hour from Seronera Airfield. Normally Game Drives goes from this Camp to the Namiri Plains area. I preferred the southern and western area for the Game Drives, because I also visit the Namiri Plains area (Asilia Namiri Plains Camp). The camp is perfectly located to escape the tourist crowds. Of course, this also depends a little on the season.

Guests are well divided among the different and spacious main buildings. There are many places to relax, eat or just have a drink. Basically, I liked the Lemala Mpingo Ridge Camp a little better in the design and maintenance. If you pay attention to details, you will find a few things that you would expect better. These are the things that distinguish a very good camp from an excellent one. However, this is only a snapshot and may be improved. But this is not something why I do not go to the camp.

The staff was very concerned about my well-being. Even though I was completely alone in the camp. What a luxury on this trip (6 camps and three times completely alone and twice only at short term with 2 other guests in the camp).

Food was perfect for me. Basically, however, this is very subjective. Everyone evaluates this differently, but who is not satisfied with it has its own problems (for me). It is certainly not due to the food. Therefore: Thumbs up

Guiding was okay but in the other camps I liked it more. Lemala switch guides between their camps. Basically, I never expect a specific sighting and just then the unexpected happens and the day is perfect.

Highlight: Seeing "Manja" the melanistic serval direct at the car"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2021
"Asilia Namiri Plains camp is located in a remote area of the eastern Serengeti. This area is is a paradise for cheetahs and other predators.

A trip to Namiri offers a rare glimpse into this corner of the Serengeti and allows unforgettable impressions. The rooms are built from the natural limestone found in the area, they are strikingly beautiful, but also play an important role in regulating the temperature inside (you really feel the difference). Also, from the bathroom, you can enjoy full views of the grassland and seasonal riverbed. Large, sliding glass doors give you access to the deck directly from the shower.

Also in this camp a very personal service was offered. One simply feels at home. As before in the Lemala camps I visited, the food was excellent, especially the soups. I don't really eat soups at home, but that was completely different here. Small special: The hot water bottle(s) in bed and in the morning during the game drives. One does not need necessarily was but nevertheless somehow very pleasantly

With my guide Emanuel, I had great animal observations. Of course, this also has to do with luck, because who is at the right place at the right time (when, for example, a leopard falls from a tree - nothing happened, he was a bit playful).


What can I say:
I can highly recommend this camp and I didn't notice anything negative during my stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2021
"A great camp in the northern Serengeti with great facilities and large tents with a spacious bedroom and a generous separate bathroom. The tents are far apart and sometimes far from the main building. Overall, however, I liked the Namiri Camp before a little better (this does not refer to the staff. This was also great here).


My arrival at the airfield was already expected and the welcome was very warm. Also in this camp everything was to my complete satisfaction. I felt immediately at home here as well.To make it short: Great staff and camp in an even greater landscape. Just very different from the other parts of the Serengeti. In addition, I was the only guest in the entire northern Serengeti (all other camps were closed). An incomparable stay that will never be repeatable.

Although I did not arrive for the migration, a visit is always worthwhile. Each game drive contained a highlight. I was not looking for a particular animal (I have seen them all before) but spent each day simply in nature with wild animals. From monkeys, to lions, cheetahs, hippos, crocodiles, elephants, etc.

Who spends a few days in this camp can enjoy great food and should not miss the beer tasting. Home-brewed beer in different flavors. I found my favorite... :-)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team