This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Mrs M from Portugal

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

2

Excellent

Namibia between 6 Jan 2012 and 24 Jan 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent as always"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Cape Heritage Hotel

"Cape Heritage Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2012
"This is a wonderful hotel if you want to be just a tourist which we did. The courtesy car from the airport was excellent, very interesting driver who also returned us at the end of our visit. This hotel is centrally located, the rooms (even the standard ones) are huge and the staff excellent, they toe that fine line between being professional and friendly perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble. If you want a taxi it's there in a few minutes. To do Table Mountain the staff book the tickets for you and it saves waiting at the ticket office, you just go straight to the cable cars. A great advantage when it is hot and busy. I would recommend this to everyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jan 2012
"This is our second visit and we enjoyed it very much. It makes a great first stop after the long flight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2012
"This is our second visit. Not much has changed, the room we had was excellent, very roomy and super bathroom. Staff in the restaurant can be a bit off-hand. I mean, really, when the place is half full is it too much to ask to have a table for four at dinner instead of the two tables booked separately! Breakfast could be a bit more imaginative. If you arrive after all the muffins are gone that's it, no more are served and you have to put up with only brown bread. They seem to try to cater for just the number of people meaning that a choice of eggs in not always available because they have scrambled them all. I think this is typical of civil servants. Check out was much faster than before and the credit card worked very quickly. We did not participate in any of the activities as we were happy to drive ourselves."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jan 2012
"We had previously stayed in the Mushara Lodge which was excellent but very different. Here the accommodation is lovely and fresh ( I think it is newer). Food and service was excellent. Only problem, we were the only guests. (This happened in quite a few places and I know it is the quiet time). We did wonder why they didn't put us in the Lodge if there were other guests there.) Breakfast was magnificent, it did not matter we were alone they put out as much variety as if it had been full."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2012
"The rooms here really do need some updating. The furnishings are dark and old fashioned whereas now people like a white and fresh look to places. We spoke to the new co-owner, Andreio of Gondwana, who told us that he has only just taken over and plans are afoot to completely renovate. Edison our guide was great on the evemig boat trip, very knowledgeable on birds and being the only customers we learnt a lot from him. The dining facilities also need freshening up and this is going to happen apparently."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2012
"The manageress (Rhiannon) really did not want to be there. There was very little welcome from her.

The rooms need updating and there are plans in the pipeline. It so happens that the chef, Dolla, is an old acquaintance of ours from Stanford were we have our South African home. Her food is exquisite and the best we had on the whole trip.

The bar manager (Riaan) was not very sociable and spent all his time with other guests and staff speaking in Afrikaans. Local staff were excellent.

Costa the guide on the river cruise was fantastic, we saw hippos and crocs on a very interesting boat trip. The only downside was when the owner phoned and reminded him we only had two hours. As if it really mattered when we were the only guests (again).

The bathrooms are let down by the fact they are totally open to the elements, not just the shower, so in a heavy rainstorm you get totally soaked."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

"Impalila Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2012
"The journey to get to the lodge is interesting. Lots of borders to cross and paperwork to go through. I do think we might have been warned about the trek to the immigration office on the island itself. It is a tortuous, rocky road uphill for about 500 metres. Not at all pleasant, easier coming down of course.

Staff at the lodge are brilliant, they all seem to have been there a long time and they love their jobs.

Nothing was too much trouble and we really enjoyed the boat trips."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

"Namushasha Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2012
"The rooms here are very spacious and airy. Unfortunately, the public areas were not comfortable for a couple on their own (again).

Dinner was really awful. Choice between ribs or hake. As we were the only ones we asked if we could have ribs as a starter and hake as the main course. The fish was dry, overcooked and served with almost raw hard roast potatoes from the freezer and a pile of frozen carrots. I know we were the only guests and it's not easy but they could have made more of an effort. The bottle of South African wine was the most expensive anywhere.

The next morning we were offered a free boat trip which we could not do because of time constraints and a bottle of their local wine which we took with us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2012
"The journey to get here was very exciting, through deep water trying to find the roadway.

The rooms are fine but the open passage between the tent room and the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired and the bathroom ceiling leaks. The public lapa for dining is very, very dark with insufficient lighting. It also needs a throughly good clean.

However, Werner Schulz, who was standing in for Horst the owner, was great and we enjoyed our boat trip with him and his father, very relaxing and interesting talking to them. We also went on a game drive with them through the park which was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2012
"The welcome here was wonderful, despite being the only guests, yet again. The rooms are really huge with a lovely view over the immaculate grounds.

The Manager is great, a real Namibian success story who joined us after dinner for really interesting conversations. Chris McIntyre please note: it is on the opposite side of the road from what you say in the Bradt guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2012
"At last we had other people to talk to at dinner. Everything here was very good and it made for an easy drive the final day to the airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Namibia the unknown

Namibia between 14 Jan 2009 and 20 Jan 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent in every respect.

The trip was superbly organised and a lot of care was taken by Sabina to ensure it matched up to our expectations.

The country is amazing and varied with excellent ecologically aware accommodation everywhere which is a pleasure to stay in.

Suggestions for improvements:

Cannot think of a single thing. We'll be back to you next year for another trip."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Dolphin and seal cruise

Dolphin and seal cruise

"Sitting with seals in Walvis Bay"

18 Dec 2008 • All-day excursion

Graham went on this trip alone as I get horribly seasick. He thoroughly enjoyed it and has a terrific photo of him sitting beside one of the seals that climb on board and fraternise with the passengers. Food and refreshments were excellent and it was a very worthwhile trip run by a very professional and "green" company, Mola Mola.
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great stay at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2009
"Superb location and an ideal place for first and last nights.

Juan was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendation (Joe's Beerhouse, quite an institution) and looking up Europcar in Windhoek for us.

Lovely room and facilities, excellent breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Stiltz, wonderful location"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2009
"Excellent location on the lagoon but still very close to town.

Room 6 was lovely with great view and lots of space in the room, verandah and bathroom.

Staff very helpful and attentive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Fine lunch on the dunes with Turnstone Tours"

17 Jan 2009 • All-day excursion

Turnstone Tours have been in business for a long time and it is obvious why when you go out with Ernst. We went on our own with him and he tailored the tour according to our interests, mainly bird watching about which he is very knowledgeable and passionate. L

Lunch was a delicious and imaginative salad, patés, fresh home made bread and more. We ate it on top of the highest sand dune while watching dolphins playing in the sea below. It doesn't get much better than that.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Seeing desert elephants at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2009
"Most amazing location. The rooms are vast and extremely well appointed with the possibility of wheeling the enormous bed on to the huge private verandah to sleep under the stars (we didn't as there was slight rain the nights we stayed.

Graham was ill and could not leave the room and the staff were most solicitous and concerned. He said it was the best room to recover in. I went on an early morning desert elephant search alone with an excellent guide, Lister. He was great company and very patient and after a few hours we came upon two groups of elephants who had come together. It was fabulous being so close to these majestic creatures who totally ignored us and we spent a magical hour and a half just observing them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Magical waterhole at Okaukuejo Restcamp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2009
"Beautiful new rooms in the waterhole chalets, very well appointed with probably the most comfortable beds on the entire trip.

Food is excellent quality in the self service dining room with fresh steaks grilled to your liking. Very good value also.

There had been a lot of rain and we appreciate this is not the best time of year to see game in Etosha and the waterhole was not very active. However it is a magical experience at night when it is floodlit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Fine dining at Mushara Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2009
"This is a wonderful lodge in all respects.

The staff are extremely professional and courteous and the whole place exudes comfort and luxury. We were fortunate to meet a lovely English couple who were staying the same time as us and we had two excellent dinners in their company.

The food was the best we had throughout our trip with imaginative, tasty meals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Unusual bathrooms at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2009
"The accommodation is superb with large verandahs and quirky open air bathrooms built into the rock behind the tent/rooms.

You need to be fit here as the restaurant is a short but arduous walk from the rooms.

Excellent food and staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Under own arrangements in CPT

"review"

21 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2009
"None"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team