This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by 5 friends from Amsterdam

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Twenty-one lovely days in Namibia & Botswana!

Namibia and 1 other country between 25 Jul 2009 and 14 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very very good. Each lodge had some advantages and some disadvantages, but on the whole they were really good. We had no real problems on the trip and some very good experiences (and animal sightings). It was one long safari, but that was really what we had wanted.

The one contact we had with Wilderness Safaris was good too - through the delay at the airport with the car hire, and the fact that we took one wrong turning on the motorway, we were on course to arrive too late in Waterberg. Wilderness had an emergency phone no and she arranged for the Waterberg gate to stay open, so that problem was solved.

We were also very satisfied with the whole procedure between our first enquiry and the actual trip. Maruska was extremely helpful and efficient, patiently giving us detailed answers to any question we had."

Feedback response

Later, in an email, these travellers added:

"Just to let you know that we've given our feedback. And after finishing it I remembered something we'd forgotten to mention. We said how the tea at Susuwe tasted of coffee. This was also the case at the Garden Lodge and at Kwando (I began to think I'd never get another good cuppa, but at Nxamaseri things changed for the better!)."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"A short stay at Waterberg started our holiday"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"The accommodation was excellent - obviously recently refurbished. But the food was no more than average. And the service - both at reception and in the restaurant varied a bit - some people were very friendly, others a bit indifferent.

There was a lovely terrace outside the restaurant, but it was a shame that it wasn't actually open in the morning for a cup of coffee! We did enjoy watching a group of mongooses playing there while we were killing time."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"The waterhole is addictive!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"Beforehand we had booked for 2 nights, but could only get the waterhole chalets for one of them. When we arrived they did their best to work out how we could stay in our waterhole chalets for the 2nd night too. And what a perfect spot it was! You could see the elephants (and all the other animals) from your front door! You hardly needed to go on safari ...

The restaurant was pretty good, especially considering how many people it had to cope with. It was well organised and the staff were quite friendly.

The camp shop, though, didn't stock anything that you could take with you for a picnic."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

"Mokuti doesn't quite meet our expectations"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"We didn't go to the Tembo Hotel, but we did spend 2 days during our Etosha period at the Kempinski Mokuti Lodge. Quite a luxurious lodge as far as the main building and the layout goes, but the chalets themselves could do with an upgrade.

They are well fitted out, but the floor and furnishings could better match the overal level of comfort. Service was good, both in reception and at the restaurant. However, the food was at times quite disappointing, especially the evening buffet.

Because of the ambience, you would expect the food to be good quality, but that just wasn't always the case."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Taleni is new and definitely worth a visit"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Taleni Etoshi Village has been open for less than a year and not many people have discovered it yet. But it's definitely worth the visit.

Very friendly staff, a nicely designed lodge with excellent food and comfortable walk-in tents on platforms. Everything can be arranged for you - including a tasty packed lunch. Good cocktails at the bar too for a reasonable price."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"A nice riverside lodge with good food"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"Hakusembe had been flooded earlier this year, and we noticed that in one of our chalets which smelt rather musty. The chalet was also very cold, especially as this was our coldest night of the holiday (-7).

The food here was very good and the service too - they even arranged a doctor for us at very short notice. The Sunset Cruise is definitely worth the money."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"The hippos at Ndhovu send you to sleep"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2009
"A small lodge where they really do their best to make you feel at home.

The food was OK, though not haute cuisine (but it was served on the most beautiful hand-painted crockery).

The location is great, with wonderful views of hippos and elephants on the other side of the river - hippo noises make for a truly African lullaby! The owner Horst is a good guide on the sunset cruise."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Susuwe Island Lodge

"Great hospitality at stylish Susuwe"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2009
"Suzuwe is a small lodge with perfect service from very nice people. Our ranger Beaven taught us a lot and even found wild dogs for us! And he and some colleagues helped us change a flat tyre on our departure.

It was the most beautifully designed lodge on our trip: real African style down to the last detail. Very large chalets - although the beds were a bit short for the taller people in our party.

The only slight disappointment was the food - beautifully served, but not always cooked properly - or perhaps it was prepared too far in advance. The other problem was the tea - which consistently tasted of coffee! (perhaps they should just use separate containers for the hot water)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Busy, friendly river lodge with big garden"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Coming from the Caprivi, the 'mass-tourism' of Chobe is a bit overwhelming. Lots of (rather noisy) boats on the river and too many jeeps in one spot.

The lodge itself was nice, tastefully decorated, with friendly owners and staff (including the 7 dogs and 3 warthogs!)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Very pretty location and attractive lodge"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"For us this was just an overnight stop. It is a beautiful spot."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Beautiful birds at Nxamaseri Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2009
"A beautiful secluded spot for a restful visit to the Okavango Delta. Excellent guide for birding trips on the water - rich variety of the local bird life. Fantastic sunrises and sunsets!

The service was very personal. The chalets themselves gave a lot of privacy, but didn't have a proper front wall. You could solve this - if you didn't want to be brave at night - by pulling down a transparent tent canvas."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"An acceptable overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2009
"Fine for one night. Nothing special."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Mixed feelings about Kalahari Bush Breaks"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"The room was beautifully furnished, but tea facilities would have been nice. The service was mostly polite, sometimes friendly, but sometimes rude. It seemed like the owner's experience with some previous guests influenced her reactions to current ones. Perhaps that's the consequence of people never staying for more than one night, so she never gets to know her guests properly.

We would have appreciated knowing beforehand that it is a game farm. This was the only game drive we went on where the animals ran off quickly when they spotted the jeep!

It was a very different 'food experience' to any of the previous lodges. It was also the only one that didn't serve bread or an hors d'oeuvre. They would have preferred it if we hadn't wanted a second helping from the buffet. And they got rather annoyed when it turned out that we wanted breakfast at a different time to what she thought we had said the day before. So our punishment was yoghurts over the use-by date in our packed lunch for on the way to the airport!

Although it was in pleasant surroundings, we may have enjoyed an overnight stay in Windhoek just as much. After all, the distance from Ghanzi to Windhoek wasn't all that long."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team