This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family L from Sevenoaks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

3 weeks in Namibia, Botswana & Victoria Falls

Namibia and 2 other countries between 3 Sep 2011 and 23 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Well thought out trip - excellent recommendations based on evident local knowledge & adapted to our requirements which were wide-ranging. We were after more than a safari experience - desert, dunes, activities, culture & Victoria Falls were all on our 'list'. Kept us up to date on waiting lists which eventually got us into Sossus Dune & Nxamaseri Lodges - both excellent. Overall, the lodges, accommodation & game viewing trips were good to excellent.

Thanks to Angela & all the team who helped for a first class trip.


Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No"

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"1 night stay at Haus Sonneneck"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Very welcoming on our first night in Namibia.
Very good rooms & breakfast
Recommended a good eating place in town"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2011
"Excellent location inside the park.
Excellent rooms with desert views.
Welcoming & friendly staff.

They could have arranged to set off slightly earlier for sunrise & be at/near the top of the dunes at sunrise"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"Very helpful - organised separate activities for different menbers of our party - quad biking & Walvis Bay boat trip & also booked restaurant for us.

Good location - 10 mins from centre & sea"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"We had a premier waterhole chalet - fantastic - couldn't improve on that for quality & location!

Food was self service & pretty good although things could run out - i.e "mass catering" but drinks service was very slow - on first night we only got drinks when meal was almost finished. When I tried to order direct from the bar on the second night they (almost) wouldn't oblige. Some guests got personal service from the chef but we struggled to get service.

We would not let this detract fram a superb opportunity for game viewing from dawn to dusk & beyond!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"Good location only 10-15 mins from Etosha entrance.

Very personable & friendly staff. Self service barbecue on first night was very good & encouraged meeing other guests - the staff even gave us impromptu musical entertainment at the end of meal."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Good location for an overnight stop between Mushara (Eastern Etosha) & Nxamaseri Lodge (Okavango panhandle) with views across the river to Angola. It would have been possible to miss this lodge & do the jouney in one day - perhaps Expert Africa could suggest this but with a 'disclaimer' that it would need an early start & leave no margin for delay.

Rooms in need of an upgrade - mosquito nets need repair/replacement, & only paraffin lamp after generator turned off. There is a longish walk in the dark across a ditch to get to rooms from central restaurant area. The latter was good with good food & service."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Fanrtastic arrival by 4WD & boat (no other way!) at a perfect location and we had the lodge to ourself! Very sociable hosts who joined us in conversation into the early hours!

Excellent activities - especially if you're into fishing & bird life - our guide ('Small') was first class & knew where to find the wild life both from the boat & the mokoro. There's not much larger wildlife apart from crocs & the hippos we could hear close by but could not see!

Overall Nxamaseri provides a very enjoyable, relaxing & interesting contrast with other lodges."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Nice "tree house" rooms (actually on stilts not in trees) but the open-plan arrangement was not very practical for non-couples. Water supply problematic - none on arrival, then only cold. When it did work, they turned on sprinklers at 8 am to water the buildings & the river (missing the grounds) - so it stopped in the room!

Water heating by wood burning boiler at 4.00am meant smoke smell in room & flames outside - alarming - a warning would be helpful.

Atmosphere would be improved by using local supervisory staff instead of European/South African gap-year students. African restaurant staff seemed rather 'stiff' & 'following instructions'. Friendly chef introduced each evening meal.

The evening river cruise was limited compared to others.

Where were the management team to deal with problem & queries ?

Having said that the location & facilities were good with great potential to improve the overall experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Best overall experience during our trip - everything was included - including all game drives, lunches, drinks, etc.. Guides were excellent & did everything to find game - morning, afternoon & night! The full day game drive & river cruise was outstanding - they knew exactly where to find the wildlife - getting very close to lions, hippos & elephants but taking care to keep us feeling safe at all times.

Location is superb overlooking the river from all rooms which were very good - especially the honeymoon suite.

Full marks to Kathy & Rod for running a superb operation & dealing with a wide variety of guests"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Excellent central location 15mins from Falls.

Excellent service from front desk staff & activities agent, slightly let down by slowish service in restaurant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team