This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mrs C from Lancs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Our African Adventure

Namibia and 2 other countries between 5 Sep 2016 and 27 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first visit to Southern Africa and it exceeded our expectations.

Sabina had given us a great itinerary and set of accommodation, with sound advice about distances and what to see. In retrospect we would not have spent two nights at Camp Kwando, but more in the panhandle. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would love to do it again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

A list of where the ATMs are located would be useful.
Note that bird/animal guide books are not readily available at the lodges. Suggest that customers buy them before travelling.

Clarify the cross border permit instructions for vehicles from Namibia to Botswana.

Note that Zimbabwe now charges US$55 for UK residents visitor permit whereas EU members generally are charged US$30."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"Easy to find and a good stopover for our first night in Namibia. Helpful staff, good food. We ate in the guest house.

If you wanted to eat in Windhoek, you would need to take a taxi, as it was on the outskirts of the town."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"Only stayed one night and ate in a local pub (Kucki's), which was friendly and had very good fish.

Secured parking was very good and the host was helpful. Good central location in Swakopomund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"Doro Nawas was special. Very welcoming staff with a welcome and farewell song for us. Henriks the manager looked after us well, as did all the staff. Rooms were spacious, with superb views of the area.

We had a wildlife drive to see the desert elephants with Liberty, and saw the group in close proximity for the duration of the trip. Liberty was very informative and made sure we had excellent views of the animals. We self drove to Burnt Mountain and the Organ Pipes and were slightly disappointed by these features and the road was bad compared to other gravel roads.

We were very impressed with Twylfontein and the petrified forest that we visited on our journey north. Excellent guides at both sites.

The museum at Tsumeb is interesting and gives a lot of information on the German influences in the area, particularly the mining. It also gives the history of their involvement in WW1."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"The bush chalet was better than anticipated and close to the waterhole (good advice from Expert Africa), so no need to have the waterhole chalets.

Food was okay, mass catering as expected. The waterhole was great and we saw a wide range of animals over our stay. Self drive within Etosha NP was very easy and we had no trouble finding our way around.

There is a small museum/ecology centre at the camp that is well worth a visit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"Onguma was a gem - quiet, serene and had the cleanest swimming pool, Superb dining area that overlooked the waterhole, as well as comfy seating area.

We were disappointed that we could not self drive around the Onguma private reserve and that they no longer offered a night drive. The day walk led by David was great - informative and a chance to walk in the area. We were late back for breakfast, but the staff were waiting for us and couldn't do more for us.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"A one night stopover, which turned out to be very pleasant and restful.

Simple chalet that lacked coffee making facilities, but fresh coffee was left on the porch in the morning."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We slept in the floating pontoon which was a lovely experience with hippo noises around us!

The camp was looking tired and the managers had only been in for a short time as the owner was away. Swimming pool was looking uninviting and the general appearance of the place was in need of a makeover.

However, there was a good viewing area to see the hippos and we spent an hour watching them in the water at close quarters the next day before we left and that was special."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"What an amazing place. Superb scenery, bird life and wonderful people.

All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and we had an excellent guide, Phuraki, who guided us on both days, including a mokoro trip and a visit to the Tsodilo hills,, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had our own boat allocated to us for our stay.

Tian was the perfect host and the food was superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"It was good to see the local people working here, but they need more training and supervision by the management who tended to stay in the separate office. Reception was poor and unhelpful.

This was the only lodge where they refused to organise a game drive for 2 people (in the morning). We were offered an afternoon drive but with minimal information to help us decide. On the second evening the cook appeared and led her staff in singing a welcome to us that was delightful and very well received. She seemed to have the right idea of what was needed. There was a comfortable seating area and fire pit near the bar.

The road to camp Kwando from Divundu has now been tarmaced and is now good quality."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Excellent location with own access onto the river. Superb staff and John was an excellent guide both on the water and the game drive.

Emily at Reception was great, she sorted out our car drop off for us and sent the pick up away when it came an hour earlier than arranged to take us to Victoria Falls. We were made to feel at home and enjoyed meeting other guests and the owners and staff informally.

Transfer to Victoria Falls went okay but we had not been told that we were changing vehicles at the border and were left to ourselves to find this out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"Great location next to the Falls and convenient for the local shops, banks and post office.

Our room was fine, but in the basement and there was no lift.

Dining facilities were good and including an outside terrace."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team