This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family H from Bedfordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2014 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 6 Jul 2014 and 26 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful! All four of us really enjoyed it. We saw so many different sights and had the most amazing experiences.

The people we met were friendly and polite and their lives fascinating, being so different from ours'.
The geography of the area was beautiful, in all it's different forms. Quite stunning.

We had a great deal of very useful advice from Expert Africa and a very smooth holiday."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2014
"A warm welcome and some good advice re restaurant choice and how to get there.

A high standard of accommodation and breakfast.

The owners were very helpful regarding a fax from the car hire co. and also in sending on a pair of shoes which had been accidentally left. We tried to text our thanks but to no avail. So thank you Ben and Heidi!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"A wonderful welcome to the beautifully secluded situation of Hoodia. The most breathtaking views.

Accommodation and the main building are superb, as were the meals.

Service excellent, very friendly staff and the guides were the best. I'm sure they will remember almost carrying me up the sand dune!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"Very friendly and welcoming owners and staff.

Pretty and comfortable accommodation.

Gave us some help with a sightseeing flight and some other queries we had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"An odd place. A Namibian winter possibly not the best time to stay, as there was no heating in the very large, very attractive rooms.

A fire was lit in the lounge/dining area which helped but the feeling was rather bleak.

However, it is the only place to stay if you wish to see the seals. And they were worth it."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2014
"A very arresting main building- like a citadel. The staff were warm and friendly and helpful. Accommodation was lovely, with lots of dark wood and fantastic views.

We liked the sensitive tourism here and such things as collecting the shower water, while it heats to your required temperature, in a bucket, for using the next day to clean the room.

Food was very good and one night we were entertained by the staff singing and dancing ( not at all cringeworthy ).

A great place to see lots of things nearby - elephants, rock drawings, the petrified forest and organ pipes.

The fire pit in the evening was a great place to sit around and look at the stars."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2014
"Accommodation, in a premier waterhole chalet, was very good. It meant we could see a lot of activity from our upstairs terrace and nip across to the barrier when we wished, very easily.

The restaurant (self service apart from drinks), was just ok but that wasn't a surprise, as we had been told beforehand. The camp is very large, with lots of different types of accommodation and camping. But it's the best place to stay for seeing the waterhole activity."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"A delightful camp. The main building is attractive and open but has tented sides pulled down for evening in winter, which makes it cosy, especially with blankets to put over knees. Food is very good.

Staff are welcoming. Warthogs are often on the lawn and dik-diks can be seen in the grounds.

In winter, the tents can be rather cold at night so a morning shower can be bracing! The beds however are warm and comfortable, with hot water bottles put in before bed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"A very attractive lodge with beautiful views over the river.

Buffet dinner was very good in the very new main building. It also has a big, well stocked bar."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Nunda River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"A very pretty location and attractive buildings and accommodation.

The bathrooms however are open both to the outside and to the bedroom area, allowing access to some big double bodied wasps. No sooner had they been dispatched, than more arrived and this particularly upset two of our party of four. Of course, this is Africa, and insects of various kinds are to be expected, but these were very large and very many.

The owner was most understanding and explained that the wasps slept in the early evening, only waking later the next morning, when temperatures rose. That is what happened, so we simply avoided the rooms after breakfast till late afternoon, which solved the problem. She did say that they were going to put insect netting in the open areas of the bathrooms and between bathrooms and bedrooms.

One of our rooms had a couple of fruit bats in the ceiling, which of course, were able to come and go too. We didn't mind those! Even their droppings on the floor next morning!

Very noisy hippos in the morning, as they seemed to like an early morning swim in the river nearby.

Porridge for breakfast! -Yes! Food very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"The person who we saw at reception didn't give us much info. We overheard a conversation between a staff member and other guests and gleaned much from that.

There was supposed to be wifi but it was impossible.

Lodges were lovely. No hairdryers/straighteners allowed due to intermittent generator.

Sunset cruise was very pleasant although the guides were quite late in spotting wildlife and didn't give a lot of info."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Pride of the Zambezi"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"A wonderful 2 night cruise. So relaxing. Superbly equipped and fitted out.

Maritsa and Norman looked after us and did a superlative job, as well as the other staff, especially Robert the guide, who must be the best guide ever.

Saw lots of wildlife and birds and Robert gave us so much info. He managed to get the tender boat very near to many.

Food excellent.

Opportunity to visit a traditional village. Very interesting and worthwhile. I was concerned we would be seen as "gawpers" but that wasn't the case.

I can really recommend this houseboat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"A very attractive lodge. Rooms are lovely.

Staff attentive and pleasant.

Food disappointing- think they were trying too hard and it didn't come off.

It's the nearest lodge to the Falls ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team