This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms A from Australia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Magnificent - the best Apart from the less t

Namibia between 26 Aug 2016 and 17 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Even the short comings of Okaukuejo and the totally unsatisfactory Daan Viljoen could not spoil the trip that we had. It was just wonderful.

I travelled with 2 friends who had been before and 3 ' newbies ' who were thrilled with the whole Southern African experience and I don't think it will be their last trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Everything was efficiently handled and a BIG thank you to Maruska."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Garden Court Hotel

"Garden Court Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2016
"A very comfortable easy access hotel with free shuttle transfer. We did not use any facilities as it was just an overnight stopover.

We had dinner here and it was very good food . Breakfast was also good buffet fare."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Rooms
Good
Image alt

Kambaku Safari Lodge

"Kambaku Safari lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2016
"I have stayed at many lodges ,Game Parks and Kambaku exceeded them all . It is not a flashy 5 star but an extremely comfortable rondavel type accommodation . The staff were fantastic -helpful and extremely pleasant going out of their way to please. No T.V -who needs it and wifi only from the office but this was not a problem to me.

Our allotted tracker Moses and Game expert Mike were beyond believable endeavouring to show us everything possible and this included multiple lions ,leopards and the elusive aardvark BUT the absolute crowning glory was seeing the white lion .. Needless to say there was a huge amount of other game too numerous to detail .

The meals were extremely good and plentiful .

Southern Africa is severely drought stricken so I cannot even imagine how much better it could be in more sympathetic weather conditions. . I don,t think it can be bettered.

I cannot wait for a return visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lavender Farm

"Lavender Farm"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"A little way from the main street so we drove - it really isn,t far . Lovely cottages in a beautifully maintained setting . Dining are[ for breakfast only] was really excellent . The buffet style was very well organised and plentiful .

Very clean comfortable cottages .

I would certainly stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"Tucked away in an almost business area this Guest house was a bit surprising in it,s quality and presentation . Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were terrific.

As we were a bit later arriving we ate dinner 'in house ' and it was fantastic. Buffet breakfast was also of a high standard.

The rooms were ver very comfortable and a little side note -- Prince Harry stayed there a couple of years ago !

There was ample parking for the vehicle .

I would most certainly stay again ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp"

4 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"The decline continues with the running of the Etosha Camps.
Africa. We had the family chalets so we were isolated from the perils of the dining room by our self catering . Breakfast only taken there and it is fairly forgettable. No one can muck up cereal but if you don,t eat eggs of some kind you are marooned . The staff were surly ,almost to the point of unpleasant. The camp shop is poorly stocked and again the staff appeared disinterested .The chalets are fairly well equipped for self catering . There are now no Laundry facilities . The shop and the dining room are so poorly lit that one cannot read labels on articles like hot water ,coffee etc.Reception staff were approachable and helpful..

BUT it is all about the animals which were totally magnificent both at the waterhole and on our drives. Thank heaven this aspect of Etosha is not run by the Parks board as it would be catastrophic !!! Southern Africa is in the grip of a disastrous drought with NO rain in 2016 and there were very few guests staying with many empty cottages .Will say more to Maruska."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"After our very ordinary accommodation at Okaukuejo we moved to near heaven . What a lovely place . Pleasant staff comfortable rondavels ,and in spite of the drought restful green surroundings. and most importantly a great shop with some interesting different curios. Joking about the great importance of the shop but was nice to see some different things.

Accommodation very clean and well serviced . The food was really nice and plentiful with a wonderful waiter Emil. What a joy he was .

I would definitely recommend this Camp for value for money ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"Convenient location outside Windhoek but would never stay again . The cottages are pleasant but there it ends. Have stayed there before and it was fine but not now . The management at Reception were the rudest most aggressive staff we have encountered ANYWHERE.

The Dining Room was a shambles and made Fawlty Towers look like 5 Star !!!! I cannot list the mishaps we had there and we ends up almost hysterical with laughter."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible

My Jun 2014 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 27 Jun 2014 and 16 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A really enjoyable trip which was made really easy and nearly foolproof by Maruska,s attention to details , prompt replies and advice. We loved our side trip to Victoria Falls.

On the whole the trip was without any major hitches but I doubt that I will go back to Caprivi although I will undoubtably go back to Namibia.

I was shocked at the obvious poverty around the Divindu area and a little surprised at the obvious development and money being spent around Windhoek. I am not being critical as I am a visitor passing through but I do wonder at the lack of industry and therefore the lack of employment. There is a huge abundance of water in the Caprivi and wonder why it is not harvested and used. The weather was fantastic , the people are a charming gentle race keen to help and almost without exception polite. A very happy holiday.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

If I am planning another Southern Africa trip , my first stop will be Expert Africa."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

"A convenient comfortable stay at Airport Gran"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"Hotel Grand is within a short free shuttle from O.R. Tambo Airport.. Reception was easy but a little slow but that is not unusual in S.A hotels.

The buffet Dinner was really good with a wide range of foods and efficient pleasant staff. Rooms were clean and all that we needed for an O /Night stopover.
IN.B. I f you check in earlier than about 1800 do be aware that planes fly in directly over this hotel but cease then."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements at Senyati Camp

"Our Senyati Sojurn"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"We became bogged in sand on the way into the camp and had to summon help. We found out later that there are 2 roads into the camp but the second one is not mentioned on directions and it is much better than the one we took in. I think this is a gross oversight as the second is 2 wheel drive friendly and the one we used most definitely 4 w.d. which our vehicle was not.

Our check in was confused withe the personnel seeming not really to be expecting us. Many comments that they had a new website and new booking arrangements were still not working well. Have since read similar comments by other guests since our return.We were finally in a big shared house rather than the 2 single chalets that we had requested but it worked well until day 3 when they asked us if we would mind moving to another chalet as they needed ours with the extra beds for a bigger party.

We agreed as they carried all of our luggage ,food etc. and it was done easily. The actual camp was really good and we enjoyed it but the Management was distant and quite uncommunicative and haphazard. Would not re-visit"
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Loved It"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"A lovely camp beautifully situated on the river.The management, staff and everyone connected with the camp were friendly and extremely helpful.The meals were very good and diverse.

We did a river safari which was extremely enjoyable and Rob tried his hand at fishing with very small results - no big Tiger Fish for him. We also did a game drive with some nice animal sightings and as with the cruise the guide was great.

The Safari tents are beautifully situated on the river and good basic structures.

I would definitely stay at this camp again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu -a last minute lodge"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"Due to a bookings glitch this lodge was a substitute and an excellent one at that.The hosts were terrific and the staff again friendly and extremely charming.
Johan and Monica were very generous with their time and sharing of information.

We did a sunset cruise and a game drive with Johan which were both extremely enjoyable.

Again, the safari tents are comfortable and right the river clean and well kept. As with our other lodges the food was excellent well prepared and good choice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Ah, Onguma"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"Onguma was our little flutter of more upmarket lodge and it did not disappoint and we loved it. From our check in to departure it was fantastic. The 4 safari tents only hold 8 people and are beautifully positioned in front of a waterhole. They can be left open at night with the canvas flaps up or you can lay in your bed which has been turned down and warmed by a hot water bottle and gaze onto the waterhole with a brilliant full moon. Gorgeous.

Some people were nervous of the open tent but you are well above the ground and there is no problem in my opinion. A little more rustic than the Tented camp which looks really lovely.

A small but fantastic staff with David, Simon and another man who met us first and his name has deserted me but it did start with Skl - - - I have not mentioned Erasmus ,the Chef yet. The food would would have graced ANY 5 star restaurant anywhere. Every meal was magnificent as were the packed lunches we took into Etosha. We loved the pre and post dinner by the fire chatting to our fellow guests We did all our own drives into Etosha so did not use their activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okakuejo -once again for us !!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"I have stayed here many times and it does not ever disappoint. We had a self catering family chalet for 3 nights and then 2 Bush chalets on night 4 which was fine. We had enough food for our 4th. night and as it was not set up for self catering the kitchen lent us plates ,utensils and would not hesitate to do this again.

The waterhole is wonderful with a fabulous lot of animals visiting particularly in the evening.It is a big camp and I must say it is amazingly quiet for the number housed there. I guess a lot of people go to bed early to be out early on their game drives.We self drove which is always satisfying.

The accommodation was clean and when we had to change chalets they made our new chalet priority cleaning so that we could move early. I would not like to stay in the more upmarket waterfront chalets as they have too much foot traffic past them and I find the appearance of the camping area ,bleak.

It is a quite basic camp but I will definitely go back again and probably again. The staff at reception were great and I saw some appalling behaviour from some guests and the staff were calm and polite."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Sun Karros -a last night stay"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"On several previous visits we have driven furiously to Windhoek to catch our flight to connect to our Sydney plane and 1 flat tyre would have meant a missed flight. So I made the decision to stay at Daan Viljoen and a very happy outcome it was. I had stayed there before it,s major renovation and was extremely happy decision.

The lodge is very attractively situated but very under utilised when we were there - Only 5 people in a HUGE dining room for dinner. As we had time we spent the afternoon raising the level of the Namibian finances as we found several good shops. I was amazed at the growth in Windhoek as when I was there last it was just a large country town. It was 6 years ago !!!

The lodges are really nicely furnished and they have kept the Rondavel style of architecture which is very functional. Check in and staff were polite, pleasant and efficient. I would most definitely stay here again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team