This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge


18°19’46.0"S 23°40’19.4"E

Reviews of Nkasa Lupala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkasa Lupala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkasa Lupala.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"This is a 'must visit' place!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Nkasa was a truly memorable experience for us, almost on a par with Okonjima. It is definitely worth the 40 minute jeep ride to find it. The owners are great and always looking to help guests get the best out of their stay. It is situated in Mamili National Park, it is unfenced and therefore animals are free to wander into the lodge grounds. Elephants came through on our first night and a baby and mother were about 6 foot from our tent, preventing us from going down the steps and to dinner. ON the second night they came through again and at least one elephant bumped into the side of our tent!!

We opted for the Combo activity, comprising game drive and river cruise. On the game drive we came across 5 lions after a kill, and on the river our boat was charged at by a hippo!! All very exciting, but safe!

Apart from one meal where the vegetables were cold the food was excellent. We would suggest that anyone going to this area should make a point of staying here, it's just fabulous." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J & A
UK

"A hidden gem."

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"Due to the prolonged drought, this lodge is not on an island as it would be normally. However, this did not detract from our wonderful experience here. This eco friendly tented accommodation is something special, really giving the feeling of being one with nature.

The tents were well equipped and excellently maintained. There was adequate hot water supplied by your own solar heating. A really nice touch was the hot water bottle each night which was really appreciated.

The food was imaginative and well presented by attentive local staff who went out of their way to do every thing they could to make your stay special. The Italian owners were so helpful and know just what it takes to make this place so special!

Game drives are well organised and the drivers really know their stuff!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Sydney

"Pleasant stay at Nkasa Lupala lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"Good set up for guest parking during stay. Transfer quite bumpy (African massage) so good to be in their 4x4 jeep.

Tents very nice. Comfortable bed and nice warm shower.

Food was good. We enjoyed the group table at dinner as a way to meet other guests. Roger was a good host. Very chatty at dinner table - shared information on the country and animals.

Other activities were very expensive, especially the walking safari. Unfortunately we didn't see a lot of wildlife in this area.

Loved the central deck area for rest time.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
W Midlands

"A real feel for the safari"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"The raised tented accommodation was of an environmentally friendly design, surrounded by free roaming animals which gave it a real safari feel.

Accommodation, food and facilities were excellent - although some of our party experienced logging on to the Wi-Fi.

The manager was friendly and knowledgeable without being intrusive." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
NZ

"Beautiful architecture & good service/food."

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"A beautiful lodge with attention to detail and great evening meals where everyone was involved in discussion over great food out on the open deck. Very comfortable with excellent service.

Roger, the manager, was attentive and was supported by friendly and very competent staff. Great systems in place here. The wildlife was a little disappointing however this is not something one can control. We enjoyed an informative walking safari.

Transfers from and to the Lodge from the village where we parked the car were seamless." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family B
New York

"Beautiful remote lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2016
"The lodge was so remote and beautiful, despite the drought they are experiencing.

It was sad to see that the lagoon out front was completely dry and that the hippos there had moved elsewhere. Thanks heavens that Maruska advised us to stay at least two nights as the drive in was rough and very long!

We saw a lioness cross our path right on our way to the camp! We had to travel a good distance to the water to see wildlife while on safari, but once there saw elephants and hippos as well as zebras and many others. Beautiful birds everywhere.

I suppose some people would not like the remoteness of the lodge, but those who seek it will be rewarded." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"This was a more basic lodge but we particularly enjoyed the opportunity to visit the local village school/ health centre and homestead with our guide.

We had close up encounters with elephants actually entering the lodge compound." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Remote Nkasa Lupala."

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2014
"This was a lovely remote lodge with an hours drive down a potholed track. The manager, Simone, is very environmentally aware, power is provided by solar panels as is the case in many lodges.

We arrived too late for lunch after a long drive but nothing was provided for us to eat until tea time.

It was very hot here, our tents were in full sun most of the day and unbearable to be in until the sun went down. There were no fans to alleviate the heat and no pool either despite the lodge's advertising, which also mentions fans, mosquito nets, laundry, swimming pool, tea and coffee stations (there is only one in the main lodge, and no free cold drinks available) and an in room safe, none of which exist. We were also disappointed to have to buy water in plastic bottles despite the heat. - both economically and environmentally unsatisfactory. Perhaps this is to be expected in this remote location, but it was very disappointing to be promised things in the lodge's advertising that simply didn't exist. We stayed in a number of lodges for 2 nights and this was far and away the most expensive.

The trips were good, we went out in the afternoon with Simone who is very knowledgeable about all aspects of the area. The next day we did a combo which was delightful. We watched elephants eating in the reed beds which was very exciting. We also saw huge herds of buffalo. A very enjoyable trip with a good informative guide called Moses.

It was lovely to eat dinner at a long table overlooking the water each night." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Poor
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Real Wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2014
"We would not have missed this for its wilderness setting or its game drive/boat trip, but its ecological ethos removed home comforts such as facilities to cool down. It claimed more facilities and creature comforts than it actually provided.

However the service was excellent, the food was good and the setting incredible and remote.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would happily recommend it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms C & Mr M
Hants

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"This lodge was disappointing

The transfer to the lodge (11kms) from the main road (in their vehicle) was pretty horrendous and took over an hour. We were late arriving because of this, and were required to make an immediate decision to go on an evening game drive, which we joined, but turned out to be lackind in game. wiith only 3 types of mammals. and a rather diffident guide The lodge communal accommodation was nice but the bedrooms were pleasant but tight on space. The dinners were fine and the first night my vegetarian food was good,. On the second, I was given lentils as my main course, which was OK but a little uninspiring, You cannot walk around outside the grounds in case of predators, so this limits any self birding etc

Our main criticism of our stay at this lodge is that the road there is poor and long and that we did not see much wildlife from teh truck on the first afternoon. This location is especially dependent on good rains supplying water for animals. They do offer a boat cruise unless you do the drive first as the river was too low . This part of was fine much better than the dry afternoon drive.,

When it came to paying the bill, we had to remind the owner that the fees should as on his website for dates after November 1.. He agreed.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 24
91%
24 reviews of Nkasa Lupala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa