This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Edo's Camp
Edo's Camp
Edo's Camp

Reviews of Edo's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Edo's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Edo's Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Edo's Camp reviesw"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay here, though it felt like the camp is a work in progress. It has much to offer and vast potential, which the current management team are working towards. It doesn't seem to be well-known at the moment, but deserves to be a popular destination in the future.

We had a comfortable, large room, although the furnishings were a little dated, with a clear view of the camp's waterhole. We are aware that our room was far superior to some others at the site.

The activities were excellent, with our own guide. The sundowner drive was very good, with close-up sightings of a white rhino. Our early morning walk was also excellent, with our guide showing a good knowledge of the flora and fauna. We also had a visit to a nearby San village, although this was shorter than expected, due to the 'old man', who should have shown us various bush skills, having gone 'walkabout'! The local art gallery and museum were also worth a visit. The local pre-school project, also a project of the manager's family, was interesting.

Meals were excellent and plentiful. On one evening, just ourselves and our guide ate, with seven Tbone steaks between three of us!

On the day of our arrival, the management seemed very pre-occupied, but this was due to recent rhino-poaching incidents on the reserve, so was understandable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mr R
Napier

"Edo's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Enjoyed the visit to the san village

Evening game drive not so interesting, our guide not really interested .

Owners trying to improve facilities

" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
D & S
Shenfield Essex

"Edo's Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"We have given this camo 'excellent' as we had such good experiences here. Although the accommodation was slightly rougher than elsewhere, we couldn't have been made more welcome. By this time there were only 3 of our group, and, as it turned out, the only 3 on camp!

The managers - Charlcie and Andy were so pleasant - we felt that we were staying at a friends' house. They are both passionate about their work. Charlcie is involved administratively with the local pre-school (which we visited - amazing!) whilst Andy, who is the son of the founder of the school, does the camp stuff.

The wildlife is limited but we did see 11 rhinos on one afternoon game drive! - apparently, that's a record! Incidentally, there is now no rhino tracking on foot - in fact, a lot of the information on your website is out of date and needs to be reviewed.

The food was brilliant - mostly home grown and well cooked, due probably to the fact that Charlcie and Andy are of mixed European origin. The meals were presented buffet style which suits everyone.

During conversations with them, we were told that they felt that the previous managers had let the camp deteriorate to quite a large degree, and they are both working so hard to bring it up to a good level. We do feel that with a little more upgrading of the electricity supply to the tents and the floodlit water hole (which wasn't) plus some guide training this could become an excellent and interesting camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Porky
Perth

"Edo's Camp is really"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"This is a remote Camp with more traditional, perhaps "rustic" tented lodges and guest area situated right beside a large, natural water hole that has reasonable wildlife viewing and good bird viewing. A resident African Fish Eagle was my favourite.

The "tents" are very comfortable with all facilities although to some the use of lanterns to supplement the limited powered lighting might be a little basic - but for me it really works. I thoroughly enjoyed sitting on my deck watching the movements around the water hole and generally being in the Kalahari!

Andy and Charlcie are hands on Managers who are involved with making everything work for their guests. We were the only people in camp during our stay so may have been a little spoilt but they were excellent company and did everything they could to make an excellent stay. All meals were served in the separate dining/lounge area and the combination of buffet breakfast and "light" buffet lunch was really good and well backed up with quality main courses. You don't go hungry here.

Edo's is very comfortable now but is in the process of having a lot of upgrading work done. At the moment this is focussing on infrastructure and behind the scenes services and will shortly move towards upgrading tents and stone lodges. For example, the swimming pool was being upgraded and although it was too cold to have been used on this visit it would be essential in the hotter weather - and it will be ready for the season.

Andy and Charlcie have great plans to upgrade all the facilities and I really enjoyed being part of their enthusiasm for a few days and I am confident that everything that they do will be done in a way that retains the "basic" charm of this excellent safari camp.

The actual wildlife viewing is actually pretty hard work because the vegetation is quite dense and most animals are nervous of vehicles and disappear quickly. However, this is a place to see White Rhino and we did have many excellent and close up sightings and it is clearly a destination to go to see this endangered species.

The nature walk was actually quite fun and I tasted a Sour Plum (yes it is!) and a Bush Potato (texture a bit like a pear) and there are several good water holes and pans which are good places to sit and watch the world go by.

It is a bit of a trek to get to Edo's from Maun. We flew in via Mack Air and they were on time and smooth but for many itineraries it is a little out of the way - but it is worth it!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Dorking

"Edo's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"We should have been informed that this camp is NOT considered to be accessible in a two wheel drive vehicle. Having said that we did make it up the 7 kilometre road though much to the astonishment of the manager. We had to be escorted out by five guys who could push us if we got stuck in the sand.

The camp informs me that they arrange a pick-up of people in two wheel drive vehicles - if informed. If driving a 4 wheel you should inform your customers of the route that needs to be taken (right fork at entrance) and proceed through the school premises (which is locked at weekends) and that they will need to get someone to unlock the gates to the reserve.

Food was not great - seems like very few people stay at this camp as we had it to ourselves for two days. But at least we saw rhino - even if they were treated like pets." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Rhino Tracking Adventure"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Scary drive from the road - had we known the road was so sandy and with sharp stones we would have rung ahead and arranged to be met - they would have been quite happy to do this.

Good food, lovely acommodation, friendly people-learned a lot - the rhino here are magnificent and we seemed to see quite a few
An absolutely brilliant experience - would recommend a visit here to anyone wanting to see rhino.

The waterhole round which our tent was sited was busy all the time - although we went out on drives we could have just stayed there and let the wild life come to us." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Tracking rhino on foot!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"The best of the tented camps we visited ~ clean, tidy and just about everything thought of. Overlooked waterhole with plenty of game including eleven rhino. The food was good.

Activities included tracking rhino on foot and visiting a real (not Disneyfied) San village. Managed by a young couple, but she is expecting in April and we wonder what might happen then." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Arizona

"What a great time!!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2007
"Edo's was a wonderful experience and we hope to go back in the next few years!!

Izelle is just wonderful - so intuitive and a nuturing person. What a natural, charismatice asst. director and guide!! At first Stephan seemed a little brusque, with fairly poor social skills. But as he relaxed, he IS quite young, he showed great knowledge and caring for Edo's Camp, the local people and animal/bird life.

We ended our trip really appreciating Stephan and his many skills!!! We hope he is given the oportunity to travel outside of Botswana so that he rounds out his (very few) rough edges. He has the making of a very memorable camp director!!

I think Edo's should work on their food; especially the cooking of vegetables and the presentation." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
93%
8 reviews of Edo's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

The comfortable Tau Pan camp inside the Central Kalahari Game Reserve offers some of Botswana's best summer game viewing and birdwatching.


95% (78 reviews)
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa