This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Dorking

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2013 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 22 Sep 2013 and 10 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Good
"Hard work. Not as rewarding as our first trip to Namibia but still fun.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Advice on where to buy pulas was not good. Windhoek airport does not stock pulas in any of the three exchanges. Bank in Namibia (4 tried) also don't sell pulas. Finally bought them in Botswana at Barclays. Other point is that Windhoek airport exhanges do not take travellers cheques."

Feedback response

We're sorry this trip seemed 'hard work' - this driving itinerary through Namibia and Botswana, and back to Windhoek, was certainly a long long route. We'd always advise anyone thinks of this route that it's a long way, driving across the Kalahari can be quite a slog - and there isn't a wide choice of accommodation on it. This probably wasn't helped by the fact that these travellers were feeling under the weather for duration of their trip.

We did seek advice on the Pula, and indeed talked to a contact at Windhoek Airport in order to advise these travellers about the availability of Pula. We're really sorry that the advice that we received, and passed on, wasn't accurate.


Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"There should be a box for not applicable in your ratings rather than no comment."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Average
Rooms
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"The camp still suffers from the bureaucracy of a state run organisation but the food was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"The wildlife helps make up for the small room and the poor layout of the camp. Again you are hit with petty minded paperwork as at all the government locations.

But we saw a leopard and all can be forgiven."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"Friendly staff, good location, good food and better than average tented room."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"Its lucky we were only here one night. No electricity - just as Chris tried to warn us in his guide book. What he didn't tell us is that no electricity meant no hot water (pumped solar) and that they only suplly two oil lamps in the night to light what is a pretty big room.

The owner and son are not the friendliest of people and the staff seem to have had little training. They have six horses who roam around and keep the grass around the chalets short - however they also leave their calling card behind so walking to the dining room is a bit of an adventure."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Hippos ouside your bedroom in the morning. The approach road is very sandy and pretty long - 2 wheel drive can make it but if the weather conditions were different it may have been problematic."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"The best lodge on the trip - could imagine vegging out here for several days. Staff well trained and pleasant. Food plentiful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"Would have been better as a one night stay probably. There is not enough activity to justify a two day stay. Breakfast is a disaster with a choice of two cereals followed up with bread or toast (if you are lucky) and instant coffee. Midday meal is pretty basic - evening meals are better. They basically cater for fisherman who go out early in the morning and return for the evening meal. They didn't seem to know what to do if you didn't want to fish. Condition of the room was pretty poor."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

"Edo's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"We should have been informed that this camp is NOT considered to be accessible in a two wheel drive vehicle. Having said that we did make it up the 7 kilometre road though much to the astonishment of the manager. We had to be escorted out by five guys who could push us if we got stuck in the sand.

The camp informs me that they arrange a pick-up of people in two wheel drive vehicles - if informed. If driving a 4 wheel you should inform your customers of the route that needs to be taken (right fork at entrance) and proceed through the school premises (which is locked at weekends) and that they will need to get someone to unlock the gates to the reserve.

Food was not great - seems like very few people stay at this camp as we had it to ourselves for two days. But at least we saw rhino - even if they were treated like pets."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"Ideal for last night - clean and comfortable."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team