This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge

Reviews of !Xaus Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited !Xaus Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at !Xaus Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Eland

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Ms C & Mr C
Milan

"Xaus shows what our future should be"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"Xaus is a magical place and mainly a superb ecosystem. Here it is possible to experience what wilderness is and what a pristine habitat is. I think that a German expression can explain this feeling at best : Sein und Zeit. At Xaus you can perceive the slow running of time just around and inside you, that is what we called evolution. And at the same time you can learn that wild nature is freedom, and freedom is respect.

We got the meeting point with a terrible late and I ashamed of it. Regardless of our mistake ( that it was due not to an unrespecful attitude but to the fact that along the road we were overwhelmed by the Kgalagadi ) mr Anthony received us in so kind manners and understanding! I want to express all my respect and estimation to all the staff : people who teach us as Europeans what it means to be a human being. A special mention is due to the San staff and trackers. It is always complicated to face the plight of a nation and I was sufficiently informed about their plight to enjoy every single words from them. I am grateful of their acceptance of me and I hope to write my best to pay them the respect they deserve. A terrific lesson of dignity.

But what describes Xaus is the capacity of the spot to show the future. A comprehensive vision of humans and animals and habitats , a new thinking of ourselves ( together ) that we have just started to comprehend and moving toward.

Pleas note that we saw a HONEY BADGER" See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"!Xaus Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"An enjoyable stay with some good night and day game drives. We felt that the staff needed to relax - they were doing everything right but seemed rather tense to us.

We disliked the ' bushman village experience' - they had made it clear that it was put on for us and these bushmen were the jeans and t-shirt kind normally but it still managed to be embarrassing. A much better way, we think, would be to have these people come to the lodge fully clothed and show us traditional clothes and perhaps things like making fire and string etc. perhaps a visit to N'homa would be of benefit we did not feel voyeuristic there." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
R & J
Edinburgh

"!Xaus Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"I am not sure what to say about !Xaus. It is a lovely camp with great views and our guide John was delightful, but it was not what we were expecting. It is not run by the community - it is run by three white people from a company, with profits going to the community.

The activities were very limited and regimented - we were given an itinerary on arrival (I will send you a scan of it). We had expected walking, but there were two very brief walks, one of which was to the staged 'craft village' which made some of us feel quite uncomfortable and voyeuristic. The 'bushmen' had had to strip their western clothes off and put traditional ones on, and were clearly very cold and, in the case of a teenage girl, embarrassed. Apart from this brief excursion we did not meet any bushmen.

The boma was not used for meals. The day drives were disappointing - we hardly saw anything despite there allegedly being many animals including lions in the area, and there was little effort to inject any other kind of interest. We also hardly saw any animals around camp. In contrast the night drives were excellent - very good spotters who found several things of interest, including wildcats and an aardwolves.

Our room was extremely comfortable with a heater and hot water bottles, beautifully tended by Anetje. Very salty water in the showers. Food was OK though the service was pretty dire with many mistakes and oversights, and my request for vegetarian food was only met intermittently. The manager did not preside at mealtimes which didn't help.

There was a lot of downtime and you were not allowed to set food outside the rooms and walkways so we became quite bored and stir crazy. Another guest said she felt claustrophobic. There are nice loungers and a pool, though the water was too cold for anyone to use it. We did leave a good review on the feedback form but after careful reflection we feel disappointed in this camp, and uneasy about the way it is managed - perhaps more for the enjoyment and ease of the manager than the guests?" See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"One Meerkat Safari !!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2015
"You have to meet a member of the iXaus Lodge at the picnic spot before journeying to the Lodge. Providing you are driving a 4WD drive vehicle you are given the choice of leaving your vehicle in a shaded area and travelling in the Lodge vehicle or driving your own vehicle over the 97 dunes to get to the Lodge.

We chose to drive ourselves - great fun with some quite high dunes to negotiate. It was quite good to follow the Lodge vehicle as we got a good indication of how steep the lea side of each dune would be. Some were very steep and this is certainly not a road to be rushed but to be enjoyed at gentle pace.

On arrival at the Lodge we were greeted by Sharon offering us a refreshing cool towel and by Richard, the Manager,, who quickly offered a welcome drink and then told us about the Lodge and discussed what we would like to do during our stay. Richard also introduced us to Winston Churchill - a yellow mongoose and Claude - a guinea fowl, both residents!!

Our accommodation was a spacious and very comfortable room with a king sized bed and good en suite shower etc There was a verandah with table and chairs overlooking the waterhole and the salt pan and lovely view beyond. There was a ceiling fan which gave a much welcomed draught. The electricity is on for approximately 3 hours each morning and then again from 17.30 to 22.00 each evening, a battery powered lamp was supplied for use after this. All the walkways and communal areas were well lit by solar powered lamps.

The communal areas were very pleasant with views over the waterhole or by the bird bath which was always busy with visiting birds There a small swimming pool - good to cool off from the heat of the day - with comfortable loungers and shade provided by sun umbrellas

Our meals were taken either on the large communal verandah or in the dining room. The food was delicious and our only criticism is that the portions were huge and we just couldn't eat everything as much as we would have liked to!!! The service was great with the always smiling Sharon overseeing proceedings.

Andreis ( who had guided us into the Lodge) was our guide and he was ably assisted by Melissa (as 'spotter) her eyesight was amazing especially on the night drive. We enjoyed the night drive, the morning walk, our visit to the San crafts people and our sundowner trips. The long morning drive was for the most part good though the latter part became a little tedious following the perimeter fence having said that the trip was brilliant as we saw a meerkat - the one and only of the whole holiday and one of the reasons for choosing to visit the Kgalagadi. Generally the wildlife was very sparse throughout the National Park including iXaus but that is the nature of things and though a little disappointing did not spoil our overall enjoyment..

Andreis and Melissa were extremely good guides they are not as experienced as many of the guides in other parts of the African continent and, occasionally, needed a little prompt to give us information. Their knowledge of the fauna, flora and general topography was very good.

Our stay at iXaus was super and we would definitely include it in any future visit to the area." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"!Xaus Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"Wonderful setting with very courteous and friendly staff. Game viewing very limited but lodge and environment are superb.

Food good and well served." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Amazing Place Off The Beaten Path"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2012
"It was such a great experience to stay at !Xaus. I am so happy that we were able to spend two nights there instead of only one. We would have missed some of their activities. We drove all the way into the lodge which added to the whole experience. As soon as we arrived we felt right at home. The staff could have not been more welcoming and pleasant.

We joined all of their activities and loved each one of them. We did two night drives that were great. We were able to see an Aardwolf which it is my understanding is pretty unusual. The morning drive and walk was also excellent. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. The sunset drive was also beautiful.

The rooms have a ceiling fan which helped cool down the room before the power is turned off at 10pm. The view of the salt pan from the rooms is spectacular. The food was excellent!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"!Xaus Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"This is a wonderful place to stay" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VDK
France

"!Xaus Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2011
"This was an outstanding experience. If you go to the KTP, this is a must.

Not a lot of animals but the natural surroundings and peacefulness of the camp and the grounds are well worth it. Quite magic!!!

We were the only guests for the first night and we certainly had VIP treatment. The hosts and their staff do an excellent job." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Chertsey

"Very comfortable lodge in a superb location"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2010
"A real oasis in the Kalahari! A beautifully designed lodge where it is impossible not to relax. Rooms were excellent, as was service from the friendly staff.

Lots of activities should you want them and some wildlife around the lodge also, including barn owls which nest in boxes under the roof of the chalets. Nothing seems to be too much trouble here. The plunge pool looked very inviting and in summer no doubt would have been!

The track to the lodge seems to go on for ever and 4wd is necessary due to the steep, sandy inclines." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Tadworth

"a very pleasant and mind expanding experience"

3 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2009
"The Xlaus safari camp was well run with excellent and very friendly, helpful staff. Their were plenty of activities from day walks, game drives, "sun downers" and star gazing. The arrangements went smoothly, everything went well and the whole party thoroughly enjoyed themselves very much. The food was especially of very high quality thanks to Ellen and her people in the kitchen.

The visit to the Kalahri bushmans camp was OK but none of us would undertake it again as not there was not much to be observed or learnt. However the concept of involving the indiginous people as developed by Pete the camp manager was quite brilliant. The camp itself was decorated with many local, interesting and appealing artefacts.

The camp was having a few problems with their water wells and water purifiers when we were there but the only noticable problem was with the swimming pool which was cloudy and quite unappealling. The electricity was on for a limited time each day which wasn't a problem but I suspect that the pool needed extra time to filter properly. A little more shade around the pool would have been a bonus.

It was a very hot time of year and there was no air-conditioning but surprisingly it wasn't too much of a problem. The "cottages" cooled down very well at night.

The evening winds were a wonderful experience and interesting phenomina.

The moonrise on one particular night was spectacular while the over abundance of stars was a wonder every night.

There was a good library with reference books and Pete was very knowledgable on just about all topics. His love for the area and the people was quite obvious and contagious!

The only shortfall was the lack of big game although we were warned of this before the trip. There were plenty of sightings of Gemsbok, Springbok, Springers, Ostrich, Wildebeest, Jackals, black backed Hyenas, desert foxes etc. but we were not priveleged to see lions, cheetahs etc." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 11
98%
11 reviews of !Xaus Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

At the southern entrance to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Twee Rivieren Rest Camp is the park's largest restcamp and also the centre for its administration. The accommodation here is all self-catering, and arranged in almost a little village – with a restaurant, a shop, a fuel station and a swimming pool. It's a park for serious safari aficionados to spent at least four or five nights exploring – with time here at the start and/or end.


82% (30 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp, with the self-catering accommodation housed in reed and canvas chalets; it's an unusual but comfortable base from which to explore the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


88% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge is less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. It is probably the best base for self-driving around the Kgalagadi if the restcamps inside the park are full, or if you're arriving here late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa