This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs VDK from France

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

African Safari

South Africa between 22 Aug 2011 and 13 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip as a whole was fantastic.

It completely lived up to our expectations and we most certainly recommend Expert Africa to our friends.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Since Expert Africa had no suggestions for Springbok & Namaqualand accommodation, we made our own bookings. We highly recommend Naries Namaqualand located about 30 km east of Springbok, especially the mountain suites. This was equivalent to or greater in luxury than Xaus.

As a critique, the Expert Africa staff knew we were planning to visit Kruger Park, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Augrabies Falls and Namaqualand. We think it would have been appropriate for someone to suggest we purchase or at least investigate the feasibility of a SANParks Wild Card as this can save money on daily conservation fees within the parks."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Skukuza Restcamp

"Skukuza & Kruger: wildlife great as expected"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"This was our second stay at Skukuza. We were disappointed that they have stopped the buffet for the evening meal."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Satara Restcamp

"Satara"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2011
"Driving from Skukuza to Satara, we stopped at the Tshokwane Picnic site. It was a disaster.

The birds (hornbills and starlings) were a real nuisance, the tables were filthy with bird droppings,"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Olifants Restcamp

"Olifants Camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2011
"Olifants feels smaller than the other camps. The views of the river and surrounding area are lovely."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"We were surprised to learn the hotel had no restaurant for dinner. The only real alternative was to go to the airport and select from the large number of fast food establishments.

This was a disappointment as we had been looking forward to a fine dining (read quiet and peaceful) experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2011
"There are several points to highlight about this experience. We were in Family Cottage 26, a large thatched roof chalet. Unfortunately this cottage had/has a bat which became active during the night and needless to say disturbed our ability to get a good night's rest.

Our second concern relates both to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park itself and Twee Rivieren. We write about these together as it seems they share the same administrative staff. Our welcome to the Park was perfunctory and no information was provided either by the person who received us, nor by any of the displays visible.

We had to inquire if there was a park guide."
Poor
Location
Average
Food
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2011
"no comments"
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"We had chalet 1 normally for 6 people. The camp was the smallest of the 3 and the cleanest."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Average
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

"!Xaus Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2011
"This was an outstanding experience. If you go to the KTP, this is a must.

Not a lot of animals but the natural surroundings and peacefulness of the camp and the grounds are well worth it. Quite magic!!!

We were the only guests for the first night and we certainly had VIP treatment. The hosts and their staff do an excellent job."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2011
"We had a nice room however we found the decor of the common rooms a bit too heavy and dark for our liking.

The riverfront is lovely."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team