This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide

Reviews of The Hide

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Hide and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Hide.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

67% success

Wild dog

67% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

75% success

Hippo

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-29 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Perfect camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2013
"From the moment we arrived we were made to feel more than welcome.

The guides were fantastic and their knowledge made such a difference to our understanding of wildlife. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We chose to have very full days to get the maximum from our visit and it all worked out extremely well, but others could spend the time enjoying wildlife at the waterhole." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"The Hide review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"We have visited previously and looked forward to our return - they did not disappoint.

Over more than twenty years we have travelled extensively to southern Africa on safari and in certain locations have found camps or lodges to which we keep returning. The Hide falls into that category.

We feel that the Hide benefits from the ownership being a privately/family owned operation and we were made to feel "at home" and the organisation of the events for the day is very relaxed and personalised.

The location in terms of the view from the main facility is one of the best we have met and it is possible (at the right time of year) to virtually stay at the camp and watch all the animals come to you. The waterhole in front of the camp is large and well frequented and provides excellent photographic opportunities.

We consider the Hide to be very good value and look forward to a return soon." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms E
London

"A truly professional camp!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"The Hide is a well-established camp that pays great attention to detail. A very high standard of guiding and a good range of game, including at its own waterhole. The rooms are well-laid out thatched and tented. Ours was one of the honeymoon suites (must have been at least our third honeymoon!) with indoor shower, two outdoor showers and an outdoor bath.

It's a very comfortable camp but doesn't feel in any way 'over the top'. You can do as much or as little as you want. We had the same guide (Dafi) throughout our stay (we were paired with one other couple) and he was licensed to take us walking as well as driving. We came across buffalo, elephants and kudu while on foot and saw lion who had killed two elephant, wildebeest and giraffes and ostrich from the vehicle. The number of elephants was astounding - we must have seem at least 100 at one waterhole. One of the highlights was an amazing electric storm which chased us back to camp after the evening drive. 24mm of rain fell in about an hour and the power went out - but the kitchen still delivered dinner promptly at 8 o'clock! We were pleased we had chosen to spend 3 nights here." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Sutton

"What a waterhole!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"What we most enjoyed about The Hide was the feeling of being in the wild. Elephants just outside our tent at 2am, buffalo watching us having dinner, bushbuck nearly on our veranda.

There are plenty of activities to choose from but we missed some of these because it was so peaceful and relaxing on the veranda watching animals come to the waterhole. Except for ostriches we saw all the animals at the waterhole that we saw on our drives.

We enjoyed the cup of coffee with the wake-up call-why don't more camps do this? Excellent cooked breakfast eaten outside." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B
San Francisco

"Low game, weak game drives, Disappointing!"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2012
"I was VERY disappointed in my experience at The Hide. The game drives were incredibly weak and that section of Hwange National Park has very low game density. I went there specifically for the game but found the guide to be very weak. He had little to say, and did not stop to view the very few animals (small predators) which we did pass. His reason for this, during the one instance that I insisted he stop, was the he did not want to get stuck in the sand on the road. I was there for four nights and it was a complete waste of my time. Given a do-over, I would have completely skipped both The Hide and possibly Hwange. The experience did not compare to South Luangwa National Park in any way.

The guide to whom I was assigned is quite new and I would rate him a 2 on a scale of 10. I am comparing him to the guides I have had at 7 other safari camps during 2 recent safaris. During the final day I requested a different guide and had one interesting game drive, albeit with us seeing almost no game. But the experienced guide was able to make the experience interesting by filling in the time with information about other things such as plants and a description of an elephant salt lick, etc.

The Hide has a water hole in front at which some interesting game passes through, particularly African elephants. The only good animal sightings I had spent watching the water hole with binoculars.

Other things to consider: They do not use bottled water and it is not available to buy at camp. If you don't wish to drink untreated Zimbabwean water, bring water purification tablets and your own water bottle. There is no heat in the rooms and the shower water gets warm but not hot. The very rustic accommodations provided an interesting change, but the price point is far beyond what is on offer here.

The positives about The Hide were due to many of the people: The guests comprised a very interesting, international group of people. The management was welcoming and professional. The wait staff was attentive and helpful. The dinners are served family style, so it is an interesting place if you are traveling alone." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Hampton

"Wow-this was amazing!"

4 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2012
"We had a fantastic 4 nights here-upgraded to a honeymoon room with an outside bath with a view!! We loved it. Everyone was extremely welcoming and the guides knowledgeable about almost everything! We did every game drive there was and saw more animals than we expected and 4 of the Big 5.

We ate and drank around a large teak table which was a very sociable way to end the day and the food was delicious. Having been open for twenty years, or so, it felt traditional but not stuffy and there was great attention to detail." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2011
"Top class. Nothing more can be said!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"The Hide"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2011
"A most satisfying experience. We had noted the location of the Hide on a previous visit to Hwange (15 years ago) and wanted to go there the next time we came to Hwange.

In our opinion, when considering the charges for this lodge, it punches well above its weight.
The quality of the food was very high and its presentation made one feel you were in a quality restaurant. Not large quantities and you don't need that when there are so many meals in a day, but absolute superb quality.

The Manager, Ian, was always available to communicate with guests and arranged our programme which had considerable flexibility and options.

We had the advantage of being present at a time of year when game sightings were plentiful in the area due to water being concentrated at the water holes. I do not know how good the sightings would be when there is rain and water available in more widespread areas.
The lodge provides several options for the length of game drives so, if you are up for it, you can spend a large part of the day game driving or however long you wish depending on your energy levels. They have 2hour, 3 hour and 4 hour drives scheduled each day plus a variety of other activities including walks, community visits, and an excellent hide right alongside the main water hole in front of the lodge from where you can get superb pictures - it seems you can almost touch the animals as the drink at the waters edge.

This a privately run operation, not part of a group, and that ensures attention to guest needs is high on their list of priorities.
You have to remember that the lodge is within the National Park and they are not allowed to go "off road" so some of the trips may appear to cover the same ground but this did not appear too much of a problem as the sightings were plentiful. However, this comment will apply to all the lodges in the Park." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The G family
Finchley

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2011
"This is a special place to stay and they have created the perfect blend of luxury and comfort while remaining very relaxed. The location and the buildings have been sensitively designed to blend in with the landscape and it was just the perfect place to begin our first and hopefully not last safari.

All the staff are genuinely helpful and friendly and you are made to feel at home. The big family room was just right for us and we could watch the animals walk pass our veranda on their way to drink from the pan. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed eating around the large communal table for meals. There is a lovely fire to sit around at night before and after dinner and this is where you get the opportunity to swap stories and talk more to other guests and your guides about their work and life in Zimbabwe. The hot water bottles in our bed each night were a lovely cosy touch.

The guides at the Hide are all incredibly knowledgeable and committed with a real passion for their work. We saw lion, elephant , giraffe, Zebra, wlldebeest, lesser Bushbaby and more and learn't so much about not just the animals but beautiful birds too. We went somewhere different every day and went out with different guides so that we had a real variety of experience.

The highlight of our stay was seeing a Cheetah up close from our jeep - a very cool and handsome creature." See all these reviews: 14n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-29 of 29
94%
29 reviews of The Hide by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
6
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa