This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Ms T from Ongar

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

My May 2019 trip

Zambia and 2 other countries between 31 May 2019 and 12 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed the whole trip very much although the travel days were very long. Transiting in and out of Mozambique was like something out of a Graham Green novel. Dirt roads, run down buildings but very friendly people"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2019
"Staff were very helpful and the food was the best we had on the holiday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Still a great experience on our second visit"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"The new generation handled the guests and the camp well"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nkwichi Lodge

Nkwichi Lodge

"Nkwichi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2019
"Amazing rooms in the middle of nowhere. Very flexible staff, keen to satisfy guests needs - porridge and mint tea appeared after a little wait - the time needed for them to get creative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 13

Latitude 13

"Latitude 13 review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2019
"Striking modern hotel with helpful staff but very average (or in our case poor) food. Basically a business hotel - maybe the patrons don't worry too much about the food."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor

My May 2017 trip

Zimbabwe between 20 May 2017 and 30 May 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"As usual, the normal faultless Expert Africa Planning and execution - went like clockwork.

Despite its reputation, Zimbabwe proved to be a generally stress free place to visit and certainly all the facilities in and around Vic Falls and Hwange are all excellent with enthusiastic and helpful people every where we went."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2017
"Super setting, colonial grandeur. base rooms very old fashioned but comfortable. Stable block rooms better.

The vast majority of the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Just one of the terrace staff was a bit grumpy.

The Livingstone Room offered excellent food and polished service."
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2017
"Camp feels like it was plonked around the water hole rather than blending in.

Rooms are comfortable and well equipped

Food was of a consistently good standard

Service from all the camp staff and the guiding was excellent throughout our stay."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Hide

The Hide

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2017
"Setting. Brilliant. Beautiful water hole. Thatched tents hidden in a dense woodland. Underground hide by the water hole was great.

Tents - very nicely furnished with very delightful outside shower

Staff very efficient and welcoming in most cases

Food was really good with some great inventive combinations

Our guide was very good but not convinced the ability was consistent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2017
"See previous feedback. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent

We had wonderful trip, all logistics-perfect

Botswana between 31 Oct 2016 and 8 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very pleased overall, the Expert Africa planning worked like a dream even the flights were pretty much on time."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"good quality hotel reasonably close to Maun"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"Hotel manager was welcoming. Staff were polite and efficient"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"excellent safari at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2016
"Little Kwara was overall excellent and we really enjoyed our stay there. All the staff were warm and welcoming. The guiding was excellent and we saw some great wildlife and things that we have never seen before - wild dogs hunting, hyena carrying and looking after her cub. and a spring hare. G&T's at sunset were perfect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"Jack's Camp was exceptional - great safari"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"The camp manager and all the staff were great. The wildlife was varied and we saw far more large animals than we had expected to. The meerkat's were amazing! What made Jack's camp exceptional was attentiveness of the staff, the pool (much needed at 42 degC), the sunset drink bar in the middle of nowhere, the quad bike trek in the evening and the pre-dinner drink location (dinner had to be cancelled because of an imminent storm) and the walk with the bush people. Of course it does come at a price, so maybe the overall value is probably only good!

We are not sure we really agree with the manmade water holes but they certainly bring in the game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"as before"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"as before"
Good

My Nov 2015 trip

Mozambique between 3 Nov 2015 and 17 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved the country and felt safer there than in any other African country we have been to. A great holiday - thanks

Ellie was very helpful on the outward journey when our BA flight was delayed and we may have had to change flight. Luckily in the end we just about made our connection thanks to SAA's flexible check in timings!"

Coral Lodge

Coral Lodge

"Coral Lodge 15.41 review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"Our only issue with the hotel (for which the Manager was extremely apologetic on a mobile phone link) was the transfer out. We left the hotel in good time but about 3-400 metres off the beach the main engine stopped and would not restart. The crew did not have the pull chord for the back up motor which as it turns out would not start either. We had to punt our way back to shore to pick up the starter chord. We think they misled the manager into believing this was a new failure although we suspect they knew it would not start.

After about an hour of failed attempt to start the engines, we transferred to the old Dhow which eventually got us to the meeting point with the taxi. The taxi driver then did his best racing driver impression and got us to the airport in time for the flight.

If this had been a "normal" hotel we would accept it as part of Africa but at this level with the boat being the main way in and out....................."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Guludo Beach Lodge

Guludo Beach Lodge

"Guludo Beach Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2015
"Guludo was a fascinating experience.

Our only complaint was the cost of the day trip to Mocimba da Pria. The day went very well and was well worth the time. But I think you charged £500 for the trip. The driver was great abd the vehicle did the job but 6-7 hours in a very old Rav 4 does not seem like good value. It would have cost less in a limo in the UK."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ibo Island Lodge

Ibo Island Lodge

"Ibo Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2015
"Loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Polana Serena Hotel

Polana Serena Hotel

"Polana Serena Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2015
"Excellent - very helpful staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Our best safari so far.

Zambia and 1 other country between 2 Nov 2013 and 13 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip went very well. We enjoyed the hotels, camps and the game drives. The animals were varied and plentiful. The gudiling to a very high standard. Loved it.

Before the trip when BA changed our flights, Ellie was extremely helpful and diligent in ensuring that the itinerary (that had to be completely revamped) was fine tuned to meet our expectations despite us changing our minds a few times on the routings and camps!. Definitely an 'exceeded expectations' experience."

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

"Convenient overnight stay. High Spec hotel"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"Only buffet available for evening meal - would have preferred a la carte

Breakfast buffet was excellent

Overall a very acceptable modern hotel with very helpful staff"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Excellent camp and safari"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2013
"Very professional team both in the camp and on safari"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"A real back to nature experience - brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"The hospitality shown by the family and the team was great. The team operated very professionally and efficiently to provide a great overall safari experience.

The rooms are very rustic but comfortable and fully acceptable. Our only comment would be that compared to the other camps the beds had more insect life that needed clearing out before sleeping commenced!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Great variety with boat and car based drives"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"Interesting camp. Everything about the technical analysis said it should have been great but there were a few issues that let down the overall experience.

On the positive side the variety offered by boat based trips and vehicles based trips was brilliant and we loved the location on the river bank. The guides Patrick and Victor were both very knowledgeable and passionate abput their subject.

One the negative side,

The rooms were beautiful but balancing the hot and cold water to deliver a shower of an acceptable temperature proved impossible. It was either far too hot or cold. Luckily cold was acceptable most of the time given th temperature!

The hosting at dinner - after the sheer professionalism of Nkwali and Tafica this was terrible. Daniel (Maintenance Manager) did not understand the concept of coaxing the guests to talk to one another - preferring to hold court on subjects that he clearly knew little about having only been in Africa 6 months. It proved a viscious circle. The more he talked the less the guests talked so the more he talked to fill the silence. As he also answered all the questions that the local people should have answered, we also felt that the team was not entirely happy. Two of the guides left dinner early when (we suspect) they felt surplus to requirements or at least left out of the monologue. I think Daniel's intentions were of the best but the end result was a bad expereince for both the guests and for the locally based team.

Without this issue, the overall experience would have rated excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"The Royal Livinstone is a beautiful hotel"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2013
"The Royal Livingstone is a beautiful hotel and provided a fitting end to our safari expereince and an excellent location to experience the majesty of Victoria Falls.

The only glitch was when they billed us for the basic room rate (already paid via Expert Africa) but that was probably because of the confusion over our 'upgrade' from the Zambesi Sun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team