This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange

Reviews of Camp Hwange

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Hwange and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Hwange.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

53% success

Wild dog

37% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Buffalo

88% success

Spotted Hyena

62% success

Roan antelope

58% success

Sable antelope

52% success

Eland

50% success

Wildebeest

32% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

4% success

Oryx

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"The camp was very efficiently run by a young, enthusiastic team. Game drives gave full value in terms of length, walks were well organised regarding safety. We were fortunate to be allocated a vehicle to ourselves and also had an "apprentice" guide (Blade) as well as the main guide (Adam) and a tracker (Timothy). Guiding was excellent - as good as any we've ever had. In terms of wildlife seen ... overall a little disappointing regarding variety. We had a day with lots of elephants - but not much else - a day with three lion sightings - but not much else. It was all "enjoyable" ... but there were long periods of not much happening. There were some lovely highlights, of course: tracking a lion on foot (and finding him) was unique to us and very exciting; a herd of 13 bull eles at a waterhole was delightful ... and of course there was the Pangolin! Finally ... a new excuse? When we asked for an Amarula the reason for their being unable to supply one was that the honey badger had broken the bottle during the previous night's raid! (We think it was true!)" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Magnificent Camp Hwange"

4 nights Arrived 2 May 2019
"We were delighted when our departure from Ruckomechi to Camp Hwange was scheduled for 0700. At last a 206 flight in the cool and arrival in plenty of time to settle in before the afternoon activity. Like most good plans it fell at the first hurdle and our departure was delayed to 0900 and re-routed via Kariba where we met our planned aircraft. We spent most of an hour on the ground waiting for refuelling and paperwork and finally arrived at Robins Camp airstrip in the heat of the day with a 2 hour drive to Camp Hwange involving a vehicle change. Why we landed at Robins rather than Giraffe Springs which is only an hour from Camp Hwange defeats logic.

However, for our final run to the camp we were driven by Washington who was to be our guide for the full 4 nights. As with Ruckomechi we again had the vehicle and Washington to ourselves throughout. A wonderful guide and a real pleasure to be with he rapidly sensed that we are interested in any aspect of the bush and went out of his way to make sure we had a fully immersive experience. Well done Washington.

We chose not to do any of the much advertised walking as with only 3 full days we find walks rather restricted in terms of what might be seen. Our tactics paid off and we had some of the most exciting and fascinating sightings in 18 years of safari holidays. Tree climbing cheetah, 6 bull elephants playing like toddlers in a pond with hippo, wild dog etc etc etc. Truly wonderful photo opportunities in a fabulous landscape.

The accommodation is advertised as perhaps more rustic than is available elsewhere but we found it excellent with the bonus of a ceiling fan inside the mosquito net. Food was terrific and we enjoyed our time at Camp Hwange more than any we have stayed at in many years. We felt that the morning drive from 0630 to almost 1300 was stretching the schedule because from 1100 on it is becoming too hot for most animals and birds while the light is unhelpful for photography.

Overall Camp Hwange is a hard act to follow and we enjoyed the experience 110%." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Memorable encounters"

6 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2019
"The camp is quite isolated and the only other vehicles we saw were a handful of self drivers using the campsites in the area.

There had been some rain not long before our visit so wildlife was dispersed and a little harder to find. For most of the time we had ZimPro guide Moses, almost qualified Jean and tracker Changa so not much escaped their notice and there was a constant flow of knowledge and bush facts.

We enjoyed three walks and the biggest surprise was an aardwolf jumping out of long grass right beside us one early morning! We had memorable encounters on foot and in the jeep with lots of elephants.

Night drives were among the best we have ever had in Africa including sightings of African wildcats, genets and a wolf spider seen and located from an amazing distance, also the six lions known as the "SuperModels", which resulted in one of the best photos of the trip.

For vegetarians the food was hit and miss with lunch always better than dinner. Overall the staff were enthusiastic and knowledgeable but there was a hard to define lack of atmosphere at some meal times." See all these reviews: 17n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J
Milton Keynes

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2019
"An authentic camp with great walking safaris" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F.
London

"Camp Hwange"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2019
"The long drive to and from the camp were safaris rather than journeys and I came in from the west and left to the east. The guide Adam was excellent and very knowledgeable and thorough with his safety. We did several walking safaris and were very close to the animals.

Again we seemed to be forever eating but it was all good. My chalet was comfortable with everything provided and a great view of the pan. Although it was the rainy season the rains had not really arrived so most of the pans were quite low. We saw an extraordinary number of raptors because of the termite swarms which was a special sight. Everyone was attentive and friendly nothing was too much trouble.

Again I was lucky to have quite a few safaris on my own and we saw serval and caracal which Adam had only seen once before so we were very lucky. There seemed to be a huge variety of antelope too. I wanted to go to Hwange because of the painted dogs but saw none so it was lucky I saw them in Zambia." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Gwent

"Good trip to this camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"We had a truly exceptional guide, by the name of Andy, who was not part of the staff, but a freelance as far as we could tell.

He was thorough, very informative, and able to pass on detailed information on a wide range of subjects. Possibly the best guide we have had on any safari. Otherwise the camp was comfortable, the staff were excellent, and the game was profuse. We liked the location, the rooms and the food was good, though not exceptional.

As we go to these places primarily for the guiding, Andy made the trip for us." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Excellent Camp Hwange"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"Very good accommodation - plenty of space and well ventilated. Only criticism was that shower rose could do with descaling. Very friendly and attentive staff. Our guide, Adam, was the best and most knowledgeable guide we have come across and was a pleasure to be with - which is saying a lot as it was up to 39 degrees and one of our "walks" was 20km!
Good comfortable vehicles.
In addition to the animals on the list, we saw Klipspringer, Ostrich with chicks, Serval, Honey Badger, Martial Eagle, Verraux's Eagle Owl and African Wild Cat. Although we failed to see a black rhino (on our 20km walk) we heard one....
A pangolin was seen the day before we arrived!" See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S.
Clontarf

"Well run camp with a lot of widlife"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Professionally well run owner-managed camp. Dave was very much in evidence and ensured everyone got a great experience.

We saw a host of animals here especially cats with an incredible first day - lion, cheetah, caracal, serval, wild cat There was a good team of experienced guides who were talking regularly to each other to track down the game. The camp is run very flexibly with schedules varied to match the animal sightings rather than sticking to fixed times.

The rooms are excellent and very comfortable. We had the same guide Kevin for most of our time and he was very keen to ensure we saw as much as possible

Recommended." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

6 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Cold Ash

"Wonderful Camp with great atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed Camp Hwange.

It was excellent in all aspects, particularly. the game drives." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Miss J.
Suffolk

"Fantastic Safari at Camp Hwange "

8 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"This was our second stay at Camp Hwange. This time we stayed 8 nights. Well where to start. The transfers where seamless as usual, drinks where offered on the way to the camp. It is a 31/2 to 4 hour transfer fro Vic falls, yes you go thought an open mine, but they have put in a road that takes you round the outside not through anymore. Once at the gate into the park you are met by one the the learner guides from the camp. Once you go through the gate your safari starts.

The welcome at camp was lovely as always, staff to meet you and a drink. Once shown to your room where your bags are all ready you are shown everything in the room. We then went back to the main bit of camp for lunch. The great thing about this camp is that you all eat together round a big table with the guides and other guests.

In the morning you are woken at 5.30 with hot water in a flask for a cup of tea or coffee you then make your way to the main area of camp when it light enough to leave your room which is about 6.00, you have breakfast and then go out on your morning game drive. You get back from the morning game drive in time for lunch. After lunch you have a couple of hours to yourself before afternoon tea and afternoon game drive. Your evening game drive involves sun downers of course, then a night drive back to the camp for dinner. You can go on walking safari's but we chose not to.

The food was brilliant as always and nothing is to much trouble. The staff are all very friendly and look after you. Our guide Washington was fantastic and his knowledge of the bush is second to none. Adam was great as well. Kim looked after any of our needs very well. Zimbabwean guides are the best I known.

This camp is one of the best we have stayed at, the think that we liked about it is that you are away from most of the main camps in Hwange so don't see many other vehicles do must of the time you have the animals to yourselves. This was our second time here and we will go back again." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 87
97%
87 reviews of Camp Hwange by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (36 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


95% (34 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


97% (31 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


98% (22 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


98% (8 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


88% (5 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp features a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants and offers excellent value for money.


95% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Daka Plains Camp

Daka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 12km Dete Vlei, the recently upgraded and family-friendly Sable Valley sits in a private reserve within easy reach of Hwange National Park.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa